We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big 5 Safari 2011”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marc's Treehouse Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Big 5 Safari 2011”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed for two nights in Marc's tree house Lodge. It was fantastic. the tree houses were lovely, you felt so close to nature. Our tree house was so comfortable and with the mosquito net over the bed I slept peacefully. The highlight of the trip was the full day safari in Kruger, we left the lodge at 8am and didn't leave Kruger until 6pm. We got to see all the big 5 plus loads of other animals and birds. The highlight of our safari was to see the Leopard, on our way back to the gate a leopard cub ran across the road in front of our jeep, our guide pulled up and we were amazed to see the mother was sitting there waiting for her cubs, we got the most amazing photos and video footage. Well done to our Guide. We will never forget this trip. I would highly recommend this location and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    98
    30
    8
    4
See reviews for
47
103
93
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseburg, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights and I absolutely thought it was an excellent experience and a wonderful memory would do it again in a second.

Room Tip: We went the first 2 weeks of august and not one mesquito, you might ask the people what size the tre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowgirl95787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We wanted something different for our last week in Africa and chose the 6-day Viva Safari Kruger safari with 1 night/2 days at Tremisana Lodge (refer review), and 4 nights at Marc's treehouse lodge.

After Tremisana Lodge, Marc's was very basic but located in the real African bush - you really felt like Tarzan and Jane in the treehouses and it was so totally relaxing and serene with the nyalas wondering the grounds.

There are various treehouses scattered throughout their immense grounds - some overlooking the waterhole near the eating areas - which we were lucky to get (some may think unlucky) but we were very happy with number 10 with ensuite - double bed and 2 single beds so quite spacious for our time there.

There are many treehouses located further away and with early morning safaris you certainly don't want to forget something in your treehouse as it's a long way to go back to get what you leave behind when people are waiting for you.

Bea is the hostess at Marc's Treehouse and she's lovely and very accommodating. Breakfast is served overlooking the waterhole and consists of cereal, coffee/tea, juice, and alternates - one day you'll get fruit salad and the next eggs, bacon and baked beans.

Dinners are served in the Boma area and you get a 3 course meal every night with delicious homemade soup for starters. You won't be disappointed. A limited variety of wine/beer etc. can be purchased at a reasonable price from the bar.

In our Treehouse package, we were offered, 2 full days at Kruger NP which was amazing, 1/2 a day at the Moholoholo Rehab Centre which is a must do experience (if offered), a one hour early morning walk and a couple of sunset, afternoon safari drives. If you think you're coming here for a rest - think again - it's anything but - you are up really early - the monkeys make sure of that, then you eat breakfast at 7.15am, board the open safari vehicles by 8am and off you go. You return after 6pm most nights - in time for a shower, a drink and dinner!!!

You'd have to forfeit the safari activities if you wanted to laze around the pool - but you're in Africa to experience the safaris so who needs a pool ..... right????

The treehouses have everything you need including nets over the beds - we didn't experience many mosquitoes in October but as the wet season approaches I'm sure there'd be many. We took one of those plug in mozzie zappers just to be safe, as there are many gaps in between the floors, walls, roof etc and no glass on windows!!!! It's primitive so if you like 3 stars or more - go elsewhere. If you're adventurous and want something totally different this is the place for you.

Bewarn, you'll have spiders, frogs and even monkeys ransacking your room if you leave food lying around but that's part of the fun of this place!!!

Buffaloes, leopards, hyenas, nyalas, monkeys are common throughout the grounds - this is a nature reserve and these animals may keep you awake at night with their sounds!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenfrogBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

The treehouses were exactly what we wanted from our safari experience---it would not be for those seeking luxury---get that at home. We wanted Africa and loved it. Bee, the hostess, probably was the most outstanding component---she accommodated everyone to the VERY best of her ability! Grouchy, grumpy women who thought it was too chilly, a honeymoon couple expecting luxury---she made them all happy and feeling good. This is no small chore considering many don't know what to expect. She makes Marc's Treehouses!!!!! We would have loved it anyway as it was what we wanted, but many different expectations arrive! Wouldn't trade the experience for anything. Florence at Tresmania lodge was great, too. We also like the MoAfrica Lodge and were so grateful we weren't staying at something like the InterContinental--you can do that anywhere in the world. We wanted Africa and were delighted!!!!

Room Tip: I am 70 and wanted ensuite facilities. We were close to nature and enjoyed every minute.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nahenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Region de Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at Marc's tree house for 6 days and had a lovely time there. The place offers a different type of experience, close to nature which is indeed very relaxing. Shower and bed are warm and comfortable, food is good and Bee is a wonderfully gentle and welcoming host. Wimpie's guiding is a good reason enough to book your safari with VivaSafari, the company that runs the tree houses. His passion and knowledge is really out of the ordinary. There are three most important things when going safari: a good vehicle, a good guide and some luck. Fortunately, we had three of the above. Why remember our stay at the tree houses? the package we bought was great value for money and we simply could not afford the more expensive lodges around, safaris were great, people were super kind, and the place is just really unique.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenBarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed at Marc's treehouse for 3 nights and enjoyed the safari at Kruger game reserve. Hospitality of Viva Safaris was amazing and the treehouse experience is something worth it. Living in the wild, close to nature is highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Marc's Treehouse lodge is a fantastic place to stay while on safari. The days are long and busy so in the evenings the calm of the treehouse camp is perfect. The evening entertainment is what you make it, with dinner, and then drinks and a chat around the campfire. It would have been nice to spend a whole day just hanging around the camp, watching for animals, wandering around, sitting on the viewing decks that each cabin or treehouse has and generally absorbing the relaxing atmosphere. The welcome is warm and personal, great for solo travellers. The main area is effectively outside - some of the communal areas are covered, but you are 100% in the fresh air. The cabins and treehouses are scattered around the place with rough tracks connecting them to the rest of the camp (lit at night). The accommodation exceeded my expectations - don't think luxury or lots of gadgets, think space, calm, comfort and privacy. Go to Marc's camp if you genuinely like the outdoors, want to feel you've got away from it all and like peace and quiet. It's far from camping but you need to be prepared to be in the fresh air.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
3.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
24.9 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
3.0 mi away
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
#27 of 100 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Thornhill Safari Lodge
#6 of 100 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
22.9 mi away
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
Sausage Tree Safari Camp
#1 of 19 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lion Tree Top Lodge
Lion Tree Top Lodge
#19 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marc's Treehouse Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marc's Treehouse Lodge

Property: Marc's Treehouse Lodge
Address: Motlala Game Reserve, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 171 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Marc`s Treehouse Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing