We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tamboti - One of our new favourite camps in the KNP” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tamboti Satellite Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tamboti Satellite Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tamboti - One of our new favourite camps in the KNP”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The camp is very peaceful and the fixed tents allow you to hear the most amazing animal and bird sounds! The ablution and kitchen facilities are very clean and it was a pleasure using them. The tents are in a very good condition and the camp is well maintained. The staff in the camp were a very friendly and helpful.

We would surely recommend this for anyone that would like to experience camping in the KNP without the hassle of taking all your camping gear along.

Tamboti is also situated perfectly for spotting the big five and we had the pleasure of accomplishing this twice during our 4-day stay.

We would surely return to Tamboti and hopefully it will be in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tiaandewit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    38
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
22
56
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
102 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Just back from Tamboti tented camp.It was an amazing experience.At night you hear the roaring lions,hyenas,...around the camp.
Every night we've been visited by a couple of honey badgers.
Did a sunset drive from 16h30 until 19h30...had the whole safari vehicle only for the 2 of us.
Bought our "braai" meat before entering the park.In the luxury tents all utensils where available for doing a bbq.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterenDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

The most rugged and spartan of the 3 tented camps reviewed this month by Character Stays, Tamboti Tented Camp is the real deal in terms of an African safari experience. The authentic canvas tents have 8 lovely large windows and a wooden door onto a private deck overlooking a riverbed. There are no bathrooms at the tent, but the forested walk to spotless and spacious communal bathrooms make up for this lack. Twin beds, electricity, a fan, a fridge and glossy wooden floors elevate this stay well above grovelling in the ground. There is an outdoor table and chairs and each tent has its own braai area.

Tamboti Tented Camp is situated near the Orpen Gate of the Kruger National Park. It is a productive game area, with the highly recommended Big 5 tarred road to Satara Camp.

Accommodation experience:
This is as authentic as one gets in terms of a tented safari experience and I play my part well. I arrive wearing an oversized sun hat and three-quarter length shorts, carrying an old leather duffle bag and my camera as rifle. We drink gin and tonics on the deck in the evening, watching elephants pull down trees on the opposite bank of the river. A Genet cat jumps onto our deck with eerie stillness.

By now we have been in the Kruger National Park for almost two weeks, and we consider ourselves specialists. No longer content with the Big 5 or calm sits in hides overlooking water holes, we are on the hunt for the most elusive finds. We have chosen the Orpen area specifically to seek out the rare wild dog, as this region has the highest concentration of the mere 200 wild dog in the Park.

We set out as the gate opens each morning, where open plains shrouded in morning mist set the scene for our hunt. We soon become distracted by four Ground Hornbills perched in a dead tree, performing a haunting dawn lament. This display is followed by a deep red African sunrise and a hovering Kingfisher perfectly catches the morning sun before diving down to a splashy breakfast.

Finally on the last day, as we have almost forgotten our mission, we chance upon them – a pack of 14 wild dog, running synchronised along the road in the golden light. We follow them for several kilometres, watching their antics and interactions. It is a beautiful privilege and a treasured memory. Once again the Park has not failed to deliver on its gentle surprises, calming and inspiring the mind and feeding the soul.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Berenice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We have visited many camps in Kruger Park but Tamboti is special …
The two of us stayed in a safari tent LST3 right at the end of the camp. Our tent was facing the river and no other tents/people in sight as if we were alone on earth, very quiet, very exclusive. The tent’s construction is very clever, with the support structure on the outside, the actual tent is completely closed and insect-save. It has a wide terrace on the river, good double bed, plenty of cupboards and pleasant bathroom. We booked Tamboti again for September. Game viewing in this area is a bit limited, we didn’t really see much but still … amazing place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank waterbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

My fourth stay - have stayed in the tents without facilities, as well as the ones with. Have always enjoyed the stay. Stayed this time in a very secluded tent with facilities. It was perfect. The tents are simply furnished, but clean. Animal proof waste bins and "caged" storage areas have been installed to assist with the monkey problem. Our tent was well maintained and clean. We had a beautiful view over the dry river bed. It was hard to believe that it had been a raging flood in January this year. Spent hours sitting on the deck, soaking up the tranquility and enjoying the bush sounds. At night, the starry sky was breathtaking. The game driving routes were a bit limited, as the main road to Satara is still closed, owing to flood damage. This has turned the normally peaceful, gravel Rabelais loop road into the major thoroughfare, making it less than ideal for tranquil game viewing and making it difficult to access game viewing areas nearer to Satara. Hopefully that will be resolved soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elejames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights in the more upmarket (meaning you have your own bathroom and cooking facilities) tents. Stunning location. Very peaceful. Have previously stayed in the tents which share ablutions - and enjoyed that too! Was rather cold - to be expected in June! Will definitely be returning... Pay careful heed to the warning about monkeys - they stole my tea bags, in a flash.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

A lovely quiet, tented camp on the banks of a dry riverbed. Surprisingly spacious accommodation, and so quiet and peaceful. All your cooking and seating is on the wooden deck overlooking the river. We loved it and would definitely go back there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sable37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
4.6 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#124 of 169 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
10.3 mi away
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
Honeyguide Tented Safari Camps
#2 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
11.0 mi away
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
Shindzela Tented Safari Camp
#7 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
Tintswalo Safari Lodge
#1 of 6 in Manyeleti Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
65.9 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
13.0 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#54 of 169 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamboti Satellite Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamboti Satellite Camp

Property: Tamboti Satellite Camp
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 169 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tamboti tented camp is a small camp situated on the banks of the Timbavati River, on the western boundary of the Kruger National Park, approximately 2km east of Orpen Rest Camp. Due to the size and location of this camp, Tamboti is one of the most popular camps in the Park. A great feature is a boma, which makes it ideal for small groups of people to gather around the campfire and relive the animal sightings of the day. For the birding enthusiasts, Tamboti offers a bird hide in which to spend hours looking for that exclusive raptor that has up to now eluded you. The natural bush feeling is kept inside the camp, which has the result of emphasizing guest privacy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing