We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tamboti Satellite Camp
Nearby Hotels
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge(Kruger National Park)
$639
$391
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elephant Plains Game Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
$523
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Muweti Bush Lodge(Grietjie Nature Reserve)
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp(Kruger National Park)
$792
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Londolozi Private Game Reserve(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
$1,567
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
$622
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
$1,551
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ulusaba Safari Lodge(Ulusaba Private Game Reserve)
$1,003
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thornybush Game Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
$1,138
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dulini Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
$1,971
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (160)
Filter reviews
160 results
Traveler rating
86
54
14
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
86
54
14
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdry river bedhoney badgercommunal ablutionshardwood floorsself cateringthe riverluxury tentselevated decka lot of noisebraai standcooking areawell maintained and cleancrockery and cutlerylions roaringwinter monthsextra blanketsenjoyable stay
Filter
Updating list...
115 - 120 of 160 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We have stayed at Tamboti several times over the last 15 years and it continues each time to be a wonderful experience.

This time we stayed for one night in 2 x 4 sleeper tents. Tamboti is a few kilometres from the main Orpen camp which is where you just check in, the staff in Orpne are very helpful and night drives will pick you up inside Tamboti if you wnat to go. This tented camp has no facilities such as a restaurant , petrol or shop so you stock up at Orpen before driving on to the camp. Each tent has 2 -4 beds ( bedding and towels supplied), a fridge, fan , braai, outside table and chairs. Pots cutlery etc you need to bring with or hire from Orpen. Kitchen and bathroom facilities are communal and reasonably close to all the ternts. Most of the tents face the premiter fence which is along a dry riverbed.

Well kept and clean camp where you can sit out on your deck and listen to the animals throughout the night. We saw a black backed jackal, a civet and an african wild cat from our deck. Be careful to keep things closed as the baboons raid the camp on a regular basis overturning dustbins and being a regular nuisance.

Plenty of cats lion and cheetah in this area along with elephant and buffalo. Well worth a stay!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I are regular visitors to the Kruger National Park, normally camping and spending a minimum of 2 weeks at a time.
We decided to breakaway from Johannesburg for a long weekend so decided to rather book serviced accommodation for 4 nights than pack all the camping gear and pitch a tent– it was also mid winter.
We decided on the Tambotie tented camp as it is small and situated near the Orpen gate and rest camp.

On arrival at the Orpen Rest Camp – where one has to book in – we were greeted by very professional and friendly staff, who were willing to answer all our questions and explain the various activities offered.
There is also a lot of information of the notice board outside the reception area as well as lists of what animals / birds had been seen on the various bush drives / walks.
Once booked in, we proceeded to the camp which is a short distance away.

The tent we were allocated – after having booked on the South African National Parks website – consisted of a safari style tent put up on a wooden platform which was raised. There was a balcony in the front with a table and two chairs and also a braai (barbeque) facility for use. The tent looked out over the river. Inside the tent there were two singe beds, a large fridge / freezer combined, fan, cupboard with extra blankets and pillows, and an electrical light and power plug.
Both bedding and towels are provided and both were clean and the bed nicely made up. It was a good thing there were extra blankets and we definitely needed them.

There are communal bathroom facilities including a full disabled bathroom – the bathrooms were always spotlessly clean and tidy. There are power points in the bathrooms for hairdryers.
The communal kitchen facilities consist of washing up basins (with hot water), stove plates and a urn with hot water available 24 hours. The kitchen area was also very clean and tidy.

We booked a sunset bush drive priced at R 190 per person for 3 hours. We were picked up at our camp and we were very fortunate as we were the only two persons on the drive with the guide. Our guide was excellent and was very knowledgeable, and had a special interest in birds – overall a great guy. We had fantastic sightings, including a pride of Lion, a pack of Afican Wild Dogs on a hunt to name a few.

Tambotie tented camp is definitely a camp that I would return to in the future for its beautiful setting and peacefulness – I would however prefer to visit in a warmer time of the year as it was very cold at night.

Just one thing – there is a resident African Honey Badger in the camp who patrols at night to see what’s in the dustbins, so don’t get alarmed if you hear strange noises in the middle of the night. There are also Vervet Monkeys in the camp and they will grab items of food if left unattended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank M_Bloemhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We are seasoned Kruger visitors and this is another wonderful camp. Basic by design but clean and neat, nice clean tents separated from neighbors, good wildlife area. A well kept secret ! Can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bushbuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

My hubby and I are no strangers to safaris and having started on safari in kenya we're used to paying big bucks for our accommodation. The decision to stay in SANPARKs accommodation in South Africa was mainly to save some money - but it is one of the best decisions we have ever made. Our stay in Tamboti tented camp was the highlight of our recent trip. It stood up to accommodation that we've paid 3-4 times more for p.p per night! We opted for a luxury tent and did not regret the decision at all. The tent itself is perfect - a raised veranda with kitchen, perfect for daytime and nocturnal wildlife spotting. The tent was much larger and more comfortable than expected too - with it's own ample sized bathroom with shower, and a full size fridge freezer. What's more - the tent we were in had a Honeybadger set undearneath and so they came to visit us (and ransack our bins) every night we were there. I loved it so much that I have been compelled to write a full and comprehensive review about it on my own website at http://www.tarajiblue.com/2012/03/a-review-of-tamboti-tented-camp-kruger-national-park-south-africa/

You simply MUST stay here if your itinerary permits it.

Room Tip: Number 39 has the honeybadger set underneath it :)
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ECCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed two nights at Tamboti, and really enjoyed the experience. Check in at Orpen Camp was very professional. It's a smaller camp than normal, so there more privacy. I think there were about 40 safari tents in the camp. You are certainly in the middle of the wilderness here, but there is an electric fence outside each tent that keeps out most animals. The shared bathrooms aren't too far away, and were clean and well maintained. The shared kitchens had three 2 burner hot plates that worked fine for cooking (most people use the braais). It's a rustic camp and you really feel close to nature here. Saw some interesting sightings near the camp, and the surrounding area is great for wildlife viewing too. Not as many people here as in the south part of Kruger.

The tent itself is fairly small, but there is a good size dresser and also a full sized fridge in there, and a small fan (the tents would be quite hot in the summer, but we were fine in the Fall). The two single beds in the tent were comfortable, and had good quality linens. They have 10 tents with en suites, which would be nice, but they weren't available when we booked. The tent is on an elevated deck, with a nice wooden patio where you can eat your meals, have a sundowner and look for wildlife outside the fence. The tented camp experience is different than staying in bungalows in other camps, and well worth a try for the mildly adventurous!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ajb6335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews