We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant: Cold breakfast! Good service”
Review of Mopani Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mopani Rest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Restaurant: Cold breakfast! Good service”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Coffee was really good, food was cold. Management told me they knew that; because the kitchen equipment was faulty. Then don't offer it for sale; I didn't pay you half did I! You make South Africa appear backward. Friendly service all round from waitering staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    110
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
64
103
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is the second time we have visited this camp once in 2007 for our honeymoon and in December 2012 with family. The bungalows are nice and clean and have all the equipment for a self catering stay, although the pound goes a very long way in SA, we would recommend that you bring as much food and alcohol as possible because the camp shop prices are very expensive, like the rest of the park. There is a nice bar / restaurant area with great views of the water with lots of animal activity, service is a bit slow, but you come accustomed to that being in SA. There is a nice pool area, only problem no sun loungers or pool towels which is bit of a pain, as it's not nice lying on the grass where there are lots of insects, but again this is typical of not staying in a private lodge. 
Not much to do but a nice place to chill out and eat and drink, good braai area and fire pit which are cleaned daily. Be careful of the olive grass snakes that like to frequent the long grasses by the bungalows!!! A tip to Mopani, keep the gardens by the bungalows trimmed as it's not nice coming face to face with a snake which looks like a mamba / boomslang!!

Room Tip: Try and stay in bungalow 101, great views and there is a lovely boabab tree, or the 8 birth bungalow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaStefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Mopani has a rustic feel to it. Very quiet and not very busy when we visited in March of 2013. The food was better than anywhere else we stayed in the park!! The area was terrific for animals and you have the bush to yourself while self driving. You'll love this place if you're planning on traveling on your own to the Kruger. The rooms are a little more expensive than other areas but you have a two room cabin with two bathrooms and four beds - so perfect for a family of 4 - it will cost you about US$100 per night. Meals are US$10-US$15 for a large delicious meal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the second time we have visited this camp once in 2007 for our honeymoon and in December 2012 with family. The bungalows are nice and clean and have all the equipment for a self catering stay, although the pound goes a very long way in SA, we would reommend that you bring as much food and alcohol as possible because the camp shop prices are very expensive, like the rest of the park. There is a nice bar / restaraunt area with great views of the water with lots of animal activity, service is a bit slow, but you come accustomed to that being in SA. There is a nice pool area, only problem no sun loungers or pool towels which is bit of a pain, as it's not nice lying on the grass where there are lots of insects, but again this is typical of not staying in a private lodge.
Not much to do but a nice place to chill out and eat and drink, good braai area and fire pit which are cleaned daily. Be careful of the olive grass snakes which like to frequent the long grasses by the bungalows!!! A tip to Mopani, keep the gardens by the bungalows trimmed as it's not nice coming face to face with this snake which looks like a mamba / boomslang!!

Room Tip: Try and stay in bungalow 101, great views and boabob tree, or the 8 birth bungalow this has a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaStefanDannhauser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mooi River
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Mopani is the Kruger camp that we least enjoyed. We stayed in a 4 sleeper rondavel which was equipped with a outdoor kitchenette. Not a good idea, with the heat and insects that abound. Although the rondavel was clean, it had a very unpleasant smell. The camp itself has all the amenities needed for a pleasant stay. A well stocked shop, pleasant restaurant, pool(which was very green) and great views overlooking Pioneer dam. The camp is also close to the Moolplaas waterhole. We enjoyed our stay but perhaps next time in the Kruger we will give Mopani a miss!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fathimasarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

While I know the Kruger restcamps well, I felt that the maintenance at Mopanie leaves much to be desired. We were there for a conference group and Christa made all the difference keeping us happy, a BIG thumbs up for this lady... The conference facility is world class with all the Audio & Video equipment you may need in very good working order.

However, the accomodation is in dire need of maintenance (Bungalow 22). It was raining heavily throughout our stay and the thatch roofs are tired. It was leaking like a sieve. My door lock didn't work properly and I struggled to open the door. Some door handles was missing and the general state of the room not that good, another person in out party's toilet seat was missing.. Aircon extremely noisy.

Although there was maintenance problems the linen was clean and the beds comfortable. The food was good although the service not entirely up to scratch.

Overall not a bad experience and I still managed to enjoy my stay.

Room Tip: Have a look at general maintenace and the state of the accomodation before settling in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoEs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We have enjoyed this park a lot, as the accomodation is good, friendly staff and a nice sitting area outside. The rooms of the lodges were clean and comfortable. All what was needed was available. the area outside to enjoy the view on the wilderness outide the lodge area was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
76.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#54 of 174 in Kruger National Park
146 reviews
131.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#74 of 174 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#106 of 174 in Kruger National Park
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#17 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
13 reviews
66.4 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#123 of 174 in Kruger National Park
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mopani Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mopani Rest Camp

Property: Mopani Rest Camp
Address: Pioneer Dam, Kruger National Park 1390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Mopani Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Pioneer Dam in the Kruger National Park, lies it's best kept secret. Named after the mopane veld that surrounds the camp, Mopani Rest Camp nestles amongst the Mopani tree covered koppies. A signature feature is the huge gnarled old baobab tree in the heart of the camp. The vegetation inside the camp is left as found in the wild, adding to the unique atmosphere of the camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mopani Rest Camp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing