We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A serene camp with a killer view”
Review of Mopani Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mopani Rest Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The camp is well appointed with rooms that have all the amenities required for a comfortable stay for a few nights. As we were there in winter the game spotting was a bit more infrequent but the birding was great. The view onto the dam from the deck is arguably the one of the best in the whole park . Recommended for one night as part of a greater park visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antonio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
There are newer reviews for Mopani Rest Camp
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 237 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Mopani Rest Camp in August 2011. We were not expecting to see a great deal of game as the guide books do not recommend this part of the park in winter. While there was less game spotting than in the south, we saw lots of great game and enjoyed our stay at Mopani. It was particularly good for bird watching.

We stayed in a 3 bedroom guest cottage. It was huge and well equipped. For some strange reason, they do not provide dish soap at this camp although one is expected to wash the dishes. Each unit has a separate braai (barbeque). You have to purchase wood or charcoal at the shop. The shop was not as well equipped as the more accessible southern camps. It seemed quite rustic. I would recommend buying your food before you enter Kruger Park if you are staying at Mopani.

We went on a night game drive from this camp. We did not see any "big cats" but did spot an African wild cat and a genet. Unfortunately, we had 8 noisy and obnoxious Italians on our night drive whose loud talking and laughing likely scared away some shy night animals.

Room Tip: Guest cottages 12-15 have excellent views over the dam.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

The rooms at Mopani have everything you would expect in a lodge or motel room. Kitchen, barbecue, heating/cooling, comfortable beds, a large sitting room and outdoor eating area. The rooms are serviced and cleaned daily, including all the washing up done for you.

We went to the restaurant the night we arrrived, and we were surprised we were the only people there. After seeing the menu was the same as for every other restaurant in Kruger, and the "restaurant" and "cafeteria" both had identical menus, we made sure we had a braii the other nights of our stay. We expected the restaurant and bar overlooking the Pioneer Dam to be highlights buzzing with stories of today's sightings - but they really weren't. Just about everyone was self-catering, and getting ready for early morning starts.

The supermarket has quite a basic range, and is prone to run out of fresh food. Milk was delivered around 9am, and only available until about 11am each day we were there. Even the choice of meats and sausages was limited. We really should have stocked up at the supermarket at the gate.

We booked three tours through reception, the sunset drive, the bush braii, and the morning walk. In retrospect only the bush braii offered real value to us. The morning walk accompanied by two guides with guns, but the animals can hear and smell you coming, so it is rare to see anything at all, and we certainly didn't. The sunset drive we lucked out with our guide, and the only animals we saw were those spotted by the 11-year-old South Aftrican freaky spotting kid down the back of the truck. The guide didn't find anything. The bush braii was really enjoyable, and we saw far more on the way to the bush braii site than we did on the other two activities combined.

The reception staff knew about administration, but had no knowledge to impart about the park, wildlife, or anything else really.

Vodacom had coverage of the camp. We managed to get Edge reception, and reasonable Internet speeds.

The pool area looked nice, but far too cold to swim in July.

We spent 4 nights there, but the most wildlife we saw was on the drive between Crocodile Bridge Gate and around Lower Sabie and Olifants. By the end of the 3rd day we were retracing our steps around Mopani, and a bit sick of the Mopani tree landscape which offers better hiding for the animals than the landscape further south. Olifants seemed to have a better stocked supermarket, and a better viewing area too.

So even though we liked the Mopani Camp and the accommodation, we would probably recommend Olifants over this camp for first time visitors like us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank inas66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2011

We stayed there just before the school holidays. It was great. Very quiet and peaceful. The sites were great. The communal kitchen and bathrooms were very clean and a pleasure to make use of them. We saw so much game each day in close vicinity of the camp, with a resident pack of wild dog that we saw each evening at the end of each day. Many had said to us that the game viewing is far better south in the Park, but we saw so much in the middle region of the park. It was also a great location, as we were able to head North to the Tropic of Capricorn and see the "big" elephants located in the northerly region of the park, as well as head South another day to Skukuza for the day. We will definitely be staying at this camp when we return to Kruger.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carinbmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

Mopani is one of the better rest camps in the Kruger National Park. We had bungalow 54 which is quite near the shop/restaurant, but that makes no difference other than a shorter walking distance. People in the Kruger tend to understand the stated and unstated rules, and that is that people are there to enjoy the sounds of the african bush, not screaming children or loud music.

The restaurants in the Kruger are all on the decline and the best thing is to self cater. The bungalo that we had was equiped with a little kitchen on the patio that overlooked the Pioneer dam. There is also a little braai (barbeque) for each bungalow. You can buy ice and most basic foodstuffs from the shop. If you want something special like fancy cheese or yogurt then you need to bring it with.

We saw amazing wildlife in the 3 days that we stayed there. Plenty of elephant, giraffe, buffalo, rhino and numerous buck. We were also lucky enough to see black backed jackal, leopard and lion in such a short time span.

The Kruger National Park is a must if you are from overseas or from South Africa.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2009

We stayed in one of the thatched huts which are very clean and serviced every day. Each hut is equipped with a small kitchen, located on the veranda and a barbecue, just outside.
From the bar, there is a beautiful view across the pioneer dam, where spectacular sunsets can be viewed.
The guide books don't rate this camp much for game, but we saw plenty on a drive up to Shingwedsi, and on an organised night drive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dissapointedofessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
76.9 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#49 of 175 in Kruger National Park
164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#108 of 175 in Kruger National Park
464 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp
#16 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
131.4 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#72 of 175 in Kruger National Park
105 reviews
62.0 mi away
Rukiya Safari Camp
Rukiya Safari Camp
#83 of 175 in Kruger National Park
55 reviews
66.4 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#131 of 175 in Kruger National Park
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mopani Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mopani Rest Camp

Address: Pioneer Dam, Kruger National Park 1390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $93 - $1,432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mopani Rest Camp 2*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the Pioneer Dam in the Kruger National Park, lies it's best kept secret. Named after the mopane veld that surrounds the camp, Mopani Rest Camp nestles amongst the Mopani tree covered koppies. A signature feature is the huge gnarled old baobab tree in the heart of the camp. The vegetation inside the camp is left as found in the wild, adding to the unique atmosphere of the camp. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mopani Rest Camp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing