We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LIFE CHANGING-VALUE FOR MONEY-OUTSTANDING-WILL RETURN”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rhino Post Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LIFE CHANGING-VALUE FOR MONEY-OUTSTANDING-WILL RETURN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

My partner and I stayed at Rhino Post for 4 nights and had the opportunity to experience the most amazing wildlife and share the company of warm and captivating hosts - with a wealth of knowledge - and a lifelong passion for conservation. The safari experience in particular with our ranger 'TIM' who was not only knowledgeable and willing to provide the ultimate safari experience..(was rather cute as well) and it seemed the more we were able to tease him the luckier we were with our game (he will do anything for a strawberry!). The food well exceeded expectations - and was nothing more than a culinary delight. You could linger on the deck which overlooked the waterhole for hours just waiting for a myriad of wild animals to make their presence - whilst your hosts Gerrit and Nikki were able to give you great insights into every species. Somehow RHINO just attract the most interesting and delightful guests that I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. As a lifelong airline employee of 33 years I have seen most regions of the world and feel comfortable in giving Rhino Post the highest rating. LINDA AND PETER

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emirates1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    29
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
66
156
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Rhino Post Safari Lodge for 4 nights in late August-Early September 2010. It was the best trip we have ever taken, and saying it tops Italy in our minds is saying a lot.

First, the accommodations and facilities are absolutely BEAUTIFUL. We weren't sure what to expect given that the rooms are technically "tents". But we weren't expecting the level of elegance that we found in our rooms... Beautiful linens, gorgeous claw-foot tub, outdoor shower, lovely furniture. The hot water bottles in the bed to keep your feet warm and turn-down service were delightful icing on the cake.

Second, and most importantly, the staff at Rhino Post were OUTSTANDING. The managers Garrit and Nikki were hospitable, knowledgeable, and deeply passionate and invested conservationists. Our guide, Tim, was intelligent, mature beyond his years, and had a unique and rare gift of balancing his passion for Nature with a spirit of good humor and fun. In addition to all the iconic symbols of Africa, he introduced us to rarer ones, including one particularly elusive member of the Big 6.

We will be thinking about our experiences here for a lifetime, and we can only express our gratitude to the staff at Rhino Post for this amazing experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JBL_from_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2010

The lodge is on a concession within the Kruger National Park. The Safari drives in the surrounding Park were something to look forward to and our guide was knowledgeable and made sure that our drives were interesting and informative. We would recommend planning a visit during the winter to avoid the summer heat. Winter is also the best time for game spotting. Guests can be assured of a great experience in a peaceful luxurious safe environment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimLCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

This place is in a great location and it is a true experience with the animals as it is part of the Kruger National Park and not a private game reserve where the animals are stocked and staged for viewing. That said, we saw all of the big 5 on the first of our 3 night stay.

The rooms are great and the staff are fantastic. Our guide for our stay was Tim -- I would recommend requesting him.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funnylaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2010

We stayed three nights and enjoyed the hotel and safaris imensely. Room was excellent, staff were excellent and we saw the 'big 5. I woukld thoroughly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NickandSuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

Rhino Walking Safaris was the absolute bomb! Fantastic. Mark the ranger was a super guy to be around, the rooms / tents were brilliant, the boerewors on the braai at the sleep out was admirable and we were lucky to see a Rhino on the last day.

We were a bit unlucky with the rain in the days before, so the grass was high. In general Kruger itself was very much to our liking. Where in EP the leopards were lying in the grass and were circled by three cars in Kruger we actually saw all animals in their own habitat and moving around. We saw two pythons, wild dogs, porcupine and a lot of lions. On the third day we were the only staying at RWS and Mark took us to a place with the best view of Kruger and maybe the most lovely view we have ever seen. Rhino Post Lodge was great as well, nice too have that waterhole in front of the camp. Very nice ranger who actually grew up in teh region so could tell a lot about the plants and roots, etc.. Food was very nice and the rooms again with an outside shower fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joostmees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2010

I was not sure how this place would turn out, considering that it is inside kruger park. But I was pleasantly surprised! The staff and management were terrific! They gave us a real safari experience and we saw tons of game and it was reasonably affordable.
We enjoyed the room very much. It was very comfortable with a terrific outdoor shower. We saw lions at the water hole in front of the common area and giraffe from the room. The staff around the lodge were very pleasant. The food was good, and we had a lovely bush dinner one night, visited by lions!
You do some time on paved roads when on game drives and a bit of a ferrari safari. But this can go to your advantage, considering you can go further and see different landscapes and game. We saw a larger variety of game than in Sabi Sands.
I've been on many safaris and we enjoyed this one more than some of the really high end ones. Simply because they are not trying to dazzle you. It's just a straight forward safari, in Kruger Park, worth every penny!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danasbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
5.8 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
11.7 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
6.4 mi away
Rhino Walking Safaris at Plains Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Nkorho Bush Lodge
Nkorho Bush Lodge
#13 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
22.8 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#42 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
22.4 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#61 of 171 in Kruger National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhino Post Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhino Post Safari Lodge

Property: Rhino Post Safari Lodge
Address: Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 171 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhino Post Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Rhino Post Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing