We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem of the Kruger”
Review of Letaba Rest Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Letaba Rest Camp
mooi River
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A true gem of the Kruger”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

What a wonderful surprise Letaba turned out to be. A pity that we only had one night there. We stayed at their guest cottage which was comfortable, clean and well equipped. The view from the restaurant is amazing. It was unforgettable sitting there and watching the elephants. At sunset herds of animals make their way down to the river. You do not even have to leave camp to experience awesome game viewing. The camp itself has a wonderfully stocked shop, restaurant and basically everything you need for a great stay. The elephant hall display is simply amazing.
Great camp. Will definitely visit again - for longer this time!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fathimasarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    198
    85
    19
    6
See reviews for
114
182
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Not as modern as the Skukuza rest camp,but you really dont mind when you have such an amazing view from the restaurant veranda. You can sit there for hours watching the animals come and go and the food is quite reasonable. Make sure you leave time just to sit and take it all in

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bex3165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauvais, France
Level Contributor
182 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our second overnight stay in Letaba in nine years, and it remains one of our favourite camps, overlooking the river. Plus, it is in the part of the Park where one usually sees a lot of game - including big cats. The chalets are well equipped and the fittings etc. gave the impression of being in a better state of repair than those of Satara where we had stayed the night before. The semi-tame bushbuck that wander freely around the camp are lovely to watch. Less pleasant are the numerous vervet monkeys that are everywhere. They can be quite agressive and get into everything. There are signs warning you not to leave food (or anything else that might attract their attention) unattended. One of them tried to make off with a box of matches, but dropped it when I yelled at it. The monkeys forage in the wastebins in the chalets' open-air kitchens (so best to use the monkey-proof bins close to the chalets) and have even learned to open the refrigerators on the chalets' verandahs. So one is advised to turn the fridge around so that the doors face the walls and thus cannot be opened by the primates. Hope they find a solution to the monkey problem...
Regardless, Letaba is a very pleasant camp.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Letaba has a great atmosphere and all the amenities you need, from a pool to a shop to a piece of ground to pitch a tent on. There are great views of the river from the restaurant and you can walk along the fence next to the river to look for game. There are also a few local bush buck who live in the camp and make it quite special.

There are a lot of elephants in the area!

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room close to the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nomadicmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in a guest house, right at the end of the camp. The accommodation was great. The balcony overlooked the river and it was very relaxing watching the sun set with Squirrels racing up and down the trees right beside you. Rooms were clean and although it was 3 single beds in each room, they were very comfortable.

Would certainly book longer at this camp next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeeVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked late this year so we were happy to take whatever rooms we were given. There were three of us and we had a building on the perimeter. The accommodation was small with three beds and the kitchen area was enclosed within the rondeval shape, which meant we had to sit outside the building of an evening. We only had two chairs and I asked at reception for a third one but it never arrived until I reminded them again the next morning. An early morning walk around the camp will allow you to take in the sunrise over the river and and see the resident bushbuck foraging along with many different sunbirds. We ate at many of the restaurants throughout the park over a week long period. They all have the same menu but the meals served differ slightly. All are fine if unspectacular. You are in elephant country here and the game drives are good allowing you to cover the north and central areas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The tent had 2 single beds, a fan and fridge. There are several building with the shared ablutions and although the camp is huge, there is always one close by. I stayed 2 nights during an overland tour and the waste in one toilet was not cleaned during the whole stay. Furthermore I had stains on the linen. In conclusion it could be more clean, but was ok enough for a short stay. It was already very hot during and I fear hot summer days are a pain in the tents.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaPach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
74.8 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
372 reviews
102.7 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 171 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
105.8 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#56 of 171 in Kruger National Park
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Berg-en-Dal
Berg-en-Dal
#105 of 171 in Kruger National Park
433 reviews
49.0 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#51 of 171 in Kruger National Park
301 reviews
49.1 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#46 of 171 in Kruger National Park
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letaba Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letaba Rest Camp

Property: Letaba Rest Camp
Address: Lethaba-Shingwedzi Road, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic Letaba Rest Camp is situated on a sweeping bend of the Letaba River, midway between the southern and northern boundaries of the Kruger National Park. The name means "river of sand", and the sandy riverbed is an excellent location for game viewing, particularly elephant, which thrive in the area. Letaba is a green oasis in the surrounding mopane veld, and remains a firm favourite with visitors. At night the stars overlook a symphony of sounds. Owls, nightjars, frogs, fruit bats, crickets and cicadas all vie to be heard, until the lion roars, then all are silent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your Letaba Rest Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing