We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Letaba Rest Camp
Nearby Hotels
Motswari Private Game Reserve(Timbavati Private Nature Reserve)(Great Value!)
$431
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Muweti Bush Lodge(Grietjie Nature Reserve)
$105
$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sabi Sabi Bush Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
$1,542
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ulusaba Safari Lodge(Ulusaba Private Game Reserve)
$997
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dulini Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
$1,960
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thornybush Game Lodge(Thornybush Private Game Reserve)
$1,131
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
$857
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Londolozi Private Game Reserve(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sausage Tree Safari Camp(Balule Nature Reserve)
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elephant Plains Game Lodge(Sabi Sand Game Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (458)
Filter reviews
458 results
Traveler rating
99
229
97
25
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
99
229
97
25
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselephant museumrest campthe riverphalaborwa gategame viewingbush buckmature treesguest housebush kitchenspotted hyenabit datedstaff at receptionparks boardcrockery and cutlerystayed here for one nightcommunal kitchensbird hide
Filter
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 458 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Not as modern as the Skukuza rest camp,but you really dont mind when you have such an amazing view from the restaurant veranda. You can sit there for hours watching the animals come and go and the food is quite reasonable. Make sure you leave time just to sit and take it all in

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bex3165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our second overnight stay in Letaba in nine years, and it remains one of our favourite camps, overlooking the river. Plus, it is in the part of the Park where one usually sees a lot of game - including big cats. The chalets are well equipped and the fittings etc. gave the impression of being in a better state of repair than those of Satara where we had stayed the night before. The semi-tame bushbuck that wander freely around the camp are lovely to watch. Less pleasant are the numerous vervet monkeys that are everywhere. They can be quite agressive and get into everything. There are signs warning you not to leave food (or anything else that might attract their attention) unattended. One of them tried to make off with a box of matches, but dropped it when I yelled at it. The monkeys forage in the wastebins in the chalets' open-air kitchens (so best to use the monkey-proof bins close to the chalets) and have even learned to open the refrigerators on the chalets' verandahs. So one is advised to turn the fridge around so that the doors face the walls and thus cannot be opened by the primates. Hope they find a solution to the monkey problem...
Regardless, Letaba is a very pleasant camp.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WorldwideAtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Letaba has a great atmosphere and all the amenities you need, from a pool to a shop to a piece of ground to pitch a tent on. There are great views of the river from the restaurant and you can walk along the fence next to the river to look for game. There are also a few local bush buck who live in the camp and make it quite special.

There are a lot of elephants in the area!

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a room close to the river
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nomadicmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in a guest house, right at the end of the camp. The accommodation was great. The balcony overlooked the river and it was very relaxing watching the sun set with Squirrels racing up and down the trees right beside you. Rooms were clean and although it was 3 single beds in each room, they were very comfortable.

Would certainly book longer at this camp next time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickeeVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked late this year so we were happy to take whatever rooms we were given. There were three of us and we had a building on the perimeter. The accommodation was small with three beds and the kitchen area was enclosed within the rondeval shape, which meant we had to sit outside the building of an evening. We only had two chairs and I asked at reception for a third one but it never arrived until I reminded them again the next morning. An early morning walk around the camp will allow you to take in the sunrise over the river and and see the resident bushbuck foraging along with many different sunbirds. We ate at many of the restaurants throughout the park over a week long period. They all have the same menu but the meals served differ slightly. All are fine if unspectacular. You are in elephant country here and the game drives are good allowing you to cover the north and central areas.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bluesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews