We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Letaba Rest Camp, Kruger National Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Letaba Rest Camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Letaba Rest Camp
Save
You added Letaba Rest Camp to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Letaba Rest Camp, Kruger National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in a guest house, right at the end of the camp. The accommodation was great. The balcony overlooked the river and it was very relaxing watching the sun set with Squirrels racing up and down the trees right beside you. Rooms were clean and although it was 3 single beds in each room, they were very comfortable.

Would certainly book longer at this camp next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickeeVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    162
    72
    16
    4
See reviews for
101
144
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We booked late this year so we were happy to take whatever rooms we were given. There were three of us and we had a building on the perimeter. The accommodation was small with three beds and the kitchen area was enclosed within the rondeval shape, which meant we had to sit outside the building of an evening. We only had two chairs and I asked at reception for a third one but it never arrived until I reminded them again the next morning. An early morning walk around the camp will allow you to take in the sunrise over the river and and see the resident bushbuck foraging along with many different sunbirds. We ate at many of the restaurants throughout the park over a week long period. They all have the same menu but the meals served differ slightly. All are fine if unspectacular. You are in elephant country here and the game drives are good allowing you to cover the north and central areas.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bluesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The tent had 2 single beds, a fan and fridge. There are several building with the shared ablutions and although the camp is huge, there is always one close by. I stayed 2 nights during an overland tour and the waste in one toilet was not cleaned during the whole stay. Furthermore I had stains on the linen. In conclusion it could be more clean, but was ok enough for a short stay. It was already very hot during and I fear hot summer days are a pain in the tents.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KaPach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naracoorte
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We will always manage a few days at Letaba when visiting Kruger. The game viewing in the area may not be quite as good as Satara or further south but the camp has so much else going for it.
It is quieter than the other large camps and has a great ambience and still has all the facilities you might want. The restaurant is consistently good and there is nothing like lunch on the terrace overlooking the game down at the river. The camp has lovely shady trees and garden areas and a walk around the camp itself is a pleasure. The shop is reasonably well stocked and the staff pleasant. Have always found the ablutions very clean in the camp.
This visit we utilised the 2 bed safari tents and found them a lot of fun and a good budget option.
Take a walk with a good torch at night around the camp and you will be pleasantly surprised by the amount of wildlife you see in the camp and outside the fence.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tryhard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Due to location, facilities, amenities--I would have to say that Letaba on balance was my favorite rest camp in Kruger. We had a nice, well-outfitted bungalow with screened in cooking facilities, and reasonably appointed dishware/cookware and supplies. Hot plate worked, sort of. Braai/barbecue was put to good use, and had nice little patio table. We had outstanding perimeter location with a view (but had asked for that when booking 6 months before). I used the pool, which was smallish, coldish, but nonetheless refreshing after safari drive. Supplies at the store were adequate for extra food needs. The grounds were large enough and had decent paths of walking around and getting exercise--actually hard to do in fenced-in safari holidays. Had a nice night tour with a guide who needed some speaking tips, but nonetheless was knowledgeable and friendly. Two nights in August saw no mosquitos, comfortable if somewhat basic rooms. Elephant museum is very enlightening, but watch out when several hundred school children descend at the time of your visit. Not quite sure why reception staff seems so aloof. They should get just a little customer service training, a shot of enthusiasm, sell their day/night tours a little more vigorously, keep their wildlife sightings board up-to-date. We come a long long way, and it is very costly to get here and to be here--we endure a variety of misadventures along the way--so would rather get a bit more impressive of a welcome.

Room Tip: Perimeter room has good view. May want to avoid rooms near reception or elephant museum due to idli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gust02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
111 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Comfortable and functional but dated feel and communal kitchen very basic. Good views from campsite but Lower Sabie was far better for this. Interesting elephant museum. No wifi and my husband was upset that the shop didn't sell beer.

Room Tip: Tip – try to get one of the refurbished units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenLUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Facing Letaba reception feels like heading at a huge cheap-mass hotel. Unluckily if you come from abroad, very often Letaba represents your first "step" into the beauty and the wilderness of incredible Kruger NP. Unfortunately most of the times the "front" is made of very square minded or with some more luck... of beginners. Sometimes also happens that due to the typhon of people checking--in one night ad checking-out the day after, also the safari guides loose their temper and their patience. Sometimes might be also the love for the precious work they are doing.
After a deep breath...going streigh to middle management, you reach the nice and quiet talk that everyone would expect. After this Letaba becomes a beatiful KNP rest camp, better if with a rondavale facing the river. A special thanks to Peter ( a very special caring guide) and Erick (following the right steps to become as special) and to Mrs M. (so sorry I did not catch the name propelly!) for giving us a very relaxed staying. Your children would love the presence of animals inside the camp. Best regards

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marika r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
76.2 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 14 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
102.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#83 of 163 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
105.7 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#55 of 163 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#17 of 163 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 463 reviews
49.0 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#56 of 163 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Letaba Rest Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Letaba Rest Camp

Property: Letaba Rest Camp
Address: Lethaba-Shingwedzi Road, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The idyllic Letaba Rest Camp is situated on a sweeping bend of the Letaba River, midway between the southern and northern boundaries of the Kruger National Park. The name means "river of sand", and the sandy riverbed is an excellent location for game viewing, particularly elephant, which thrive in the area. Letaba is a green oasis in the surrounding mopane veld, and remains a firm favourite with visitors. At night the stars overlook a symphony of sounds. Owls, nightjars, frogs, fruit bats, crickets and cicadas all vie to be heard, until the lion roars, then all are silent. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing