We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“July 2013” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hans Merensky Hotel & Estate

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hans Merensky Hotel & Estate
Robertson, South Africa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“July 2013”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

The best place where we stayed 2 nights in 2012 - coming back there in 2013 with 3 nights booked, there were very unprofessional people at reception and there were no electricity in the foyer or restaurant area. We ordered beer and it was not cold. There were no food served at the pool and nobody were even apologetic for the lack of it all. No need to say we only stayed 1 night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank louw555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
8
6
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

This was by far the most shocking hotel service and hotel experience we have ever experienced. We were scheduled to stay for 4 nights and left after the first night. The food was awful and the hotel service was unacceptable. We subsequently tried to lodge a complaint after our stay but none of our numerous emails or calls have been responded to. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Don't book at the chalets - even though they are more expensive and apparently "better"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank N M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kruger National Park hotels

Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had stayed in this private house on the estate about two years ago. We liked the house very much and booked again. Unfortunately, we had been double booked and we were given an alternative house which was very similar in standard and wasn't an issue. We were only staying for one night's rest after touring Kruger and before going to a private reserve in the same area. When we arrived at the property the alarm went off and we didn't have the code to cancel it. We had the phone number of the maid but didn't have a phone. I went to the main hotel and asked at reception if she had a phone we could use to call the maid to obtain the code or even if she would make a quick call for me. She declined. With that kind of customer service I would never stay at the hotel here!!!!...eventually we asked at the petrol station at the big crossroads and they let us use their phone. Didn't see much wildlife except impala and warthogs and you are actively discouraged from exploring the place unless you pay for one of their golf buggy tours...... the four star rating refers only to the lodge we stayed in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

Definitely not 4 star at all, lacking: service; provisions; facilities ( especially the hotel rooms) and staff!!

Room Tip: Only go for the self catering units
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlexanderG844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray on Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

What a stunning place (when you find it as it's a bit out of the way although that's a bonus really). A golf course where the "Beware of crocs and hippos" signs on the golf course were actually serious. Loads of hippos in the lakes, several crocs, giraffes, warthogs and monkeys etc seen on he course.

The hotel was quiet when we were there but the staff were just so lovely. Nothing was too much trouble and they even sang "Happy Birthday" to me at my table. Food superb and decor stunning in all the public areas. A real genius designed this place.

A new General Manager went out of his way to be helpful at every stage and the ranger on site was always happy to discuss the wildlife and arrange some great trips for us (Kruger safari and Olifants river boat safari)

The course was not in manicured condition but that didn't worry us as the greens were good and the wildlife on view just added to the great experience.

My wife adored the spa too.

Definitely recommended and will go back later this year. I did see the comment about the almost empty pro shop which was correct when we were there and was surprising as the sales potential of logo shirts etc is huge.

Room Tip: Try for an updated one with flat screen TV etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank fotowizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2012

We are two of the lucky few to have experienced the lifestyle getaway of Phalaborwa, the gateway to the Kruger National Park, which is just a short drive from this wonderful hotel...We enjoyed a truly wonderful south african welcome,upon our arrival, and our stay was that of pure enjoyment and relaxation, just to lie by the pool and the staff always willing to offer you service from the bar etc, all the staff were friendly and management could not do enough to be of assistance when we needed anything either...This is the ideal place to stay when in Phalaborwa and i would stay there again and not think to look elswhere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

Hans Merensky estate has been built on grand scale, and the number of hotel rooms continues to expand. However, having been there several times, I note that many areas of the construction have not progressed much in several years - for example there is supposed to be a gym and a big outdoor swimming pool but both have been in disrepair for many years.
The golf course is excellent, and the estate is a spectacular experience (one can go looking at game including giraffes, impala, hippo and crocodile from your golf buggy around the golf course).
However, it appears that they are not getting enough business, and therefore quality of various facilities varies a lot, and maintenance is not always prompt. Service can also be quite mixed.
Go, but with low-ish expectations, and enjoy it as a rustic bush experience with touches of grandeur.

Room Tip: Take the lodges, not the hotel rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duncantrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,439 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#7 of 14 in Kruger National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hans Merensky Hotel & Estate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hans Merensky Hotel & Estate

Property: Hans Merensky Hotel & Estate
Address: Club road | Phalaborwa, Kruger National Park 1390, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 89

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing