We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nkambeni Safari Camp
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed for three nights as a weekend getaway, the camp is situated just inside the Kruger fence line at the Numbi gate entrance but a word of warning you still have to pay the conservation fees to enter the Park as a day visitor. I would suggest they negotiate with the park to be able to of for this service to be offered from the reception in order to avoid the lines at the nearest gate (Numbi)

The tents and fairly comfortable and were clean, the staff were well presented on arrival and on hand to help us with our luggage. Second point to note is room location, the best tents are away from the restaurant, as this gets quite festive in the evenings, but close enough to the car park so that the walk to the tent is reasonable. There is only a central car park but this is quite nice as the tents are very quiet and peaceful. Good place to come for some R&R.

The food, both breakfasts and dinners is really good. Both offered in a Buffet style service with lots of variety to choose from.

All and all a good bush experience and would recommend this place to those who are willing to give up 5 star service for a reasonable and comfortable place to stay.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jelley86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkambeni Safari C, General Manager at Nkambeni Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Jelley86,

good morning and thank you very much for the great review on our camp. It is great for our team morale. We are currently working on ideas on how to make it easier for our guests entering the Kruger through Numbi Gate and ensure they don't wait in line.

We pride ourselves in making this an affordable experience yet do not overlook the small details that make a stay with us pleasant and worthwhile.

I will share your comments and feedback with my team this morning and I can assure you this will make their day.

Thank you and kind regards,

Wynand du Toit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 405 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

they offer what they show in their webpage, the camp is ok, nice restaurant and bar, big pool, very nice people attending, but, always is a but, the camp is inside the park, but outside the ticket gate, so every time you go inside the park, you have to pay,

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SipoYerbabuena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkambeni Safari C, General Manager at Nkambeni Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear SipoYerbabuena,

good morning and thank you very much for the kind review. Our camp is indeed a easy alternative to traditional Kruger accommodation and we are currently working on making the entrance through Numbi Gate a bit easier for our guests.

Have a great day,

Wynand du Toit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights as part of a Safari by Nhongo safaris, and were pleasantly surprised.

Some of the other reviews claim it is not inside Kruger. Wrong. It absolutely is.

The food was very good. Lots of choices of starters, mains and deserts, and it was all delicious. One day they held it outside in the braai area - and cooked steaks fresh on the bbq.

The restaurant manager (Monica?) was fantastic. She asked frequently if anything could be better, and arranged a delicious cake and a night drive for my gf's birthday.

The only area for improvement would be in tidying up the landscaping a bit - but we arrived soon after the floods so I am sure that will be fixed.

Recommended!

Room Tip: Room away from the restaurant area are quieter as less people walk past your tent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TootingMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkambeni Safari C, General Manager at Nkambeni Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Dear TootingMike,

thank you kindly for the great review posted. We appreciate the honest feedback and we are really glad you enjoyed the experience.

I met with Monica this morning and shared your feedback and she would like to thank you for this.

With regards to the landscaping, we are hard at work getting this sorted, we would like all our guests to experience a neat and maintained property.

Thank you once again. Wynand du Toit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Nkambeni in early February as part of a tour of South Africa. Prior to our arrival there had been heavy rains and because of this there parts of the camp and roadways that were still very wet and in need of repair. This couldnt be helped.

We arrived just before reception closed, which did cause a problem when we discovered later that evening that our air conditioning didnt work and couldnt contact anyone about this. We reported it the following lunch time after our game drive and it couldn't be repaired so we had to change tent, which was a nuisance.

The tents are quite basic and as others have said, not well lit. I do think that a extra touches like short hair rugs on the floors, rather than walking on dusty floor boards, would make them feel more comfortable. Having said that the beds were very comfortable.

We had another problem on our last night when, just before retiring, a bat started flying around our tent and wouldn't leave. Again we tried to contact reception on the telephone number given but they obviously weren't interested in our problem. I appreciate that this is Africa but sleeping with a bat flying around the room or scratching and running up and down the apex beam of the tent is not my idea of a relaxing night but we had no option and had to get completely under the sheets and try to sleep.

Because the camp is very spread out, contacting reception or anyone in the event of an emergency, particularly during the night is a problem. There are obviously no phones in the tents and most people's mobile phone signal was not good. It did strike me that if someone was taken ill during the night, this would pose a real problem.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbara2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkambeni Safari C, General Manager at Nkambeni Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Barbara2,

good afternoon and thank you for your honest review and valid comments and observations.

With regards to your experience with reception, we are in the process of moving our reception to the restaurant and all guests will complete their check in and out from the restaurant. This desk will be manned from 05h30 in the morning until 23h00 in the evening and our receptionist will be able to assist guests in all matters including the maintenance issues. We will also place a staff member on duty from 23h00 to 05h30 to answer the phone should guests need us in case of an emergency, this is high on my priority list - guest communication.

From earlier reviews we recognised the need for better lighting in the tents and restaurant and we are in the process of improving this, again my priority is guest satisfaction.

I apologise for the inconvenience when you could not contact the reception or staff members on duty, again this is not acceptable.

Since your stay we managed to repair the entrance roads (images on our facebook page) and we should have the new reception area completed by the end of March 2013.

Thank you once again for your review and we wish you a pleasant day.

regards

Wynand du Toit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Spent 3 nights in Nkambeni as part of SA tour, never having tried such accomodation before & thus we arrived with little expectation- but the surprise was a good sized room , very comforable beds, a geat ourdoor twin shower , vertually silent A/C-, the only small negative was it was pretty dark in the room & as bad in the restuarant, did have a couple of storms during the nights which did cause a a wet area of floor in both our room & bathroom, but hey it was a great overall experience- food ( buffet), was pretty good, beer & wine really great value - our group really enjoyed the time there , would be even better when the roadways have been repoaired after the heavy rainfall

Room Tip: There are newer rooms on the left of the site , we had room 67 which was fairly near the restuarant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rogandrose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkambeni Safari C, General Manager at Nkambeni Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear Rogandrose,

good morning and thank you very much for your kind and honest review. We are so very glad you enjoyed your stay and the cold beers. I shared your review with our team members this morning and they were very happy. I am going to address the rooms being dark situation with our maintenance team and find alternatives to ensure the rooms and restaurant and well lit, thank you for this observation and comment. With regards to the roads, I can happily report to you that we completed the repairs to the roads late last week and they are now easy to traverse and without bumps and gullies.

I wish you a great day and greetings from a still wet Kruger Park.

Kind regards, Wynand du Toit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nkambeni tented Lodge is NOT inside the Kruger National Park, you still have to enter the Park at the Numbi gate as a day visitor. Very, very inconvenient. There are no parking close to the tents and muddy and eroded pathways to the tents, not easy to navigate with all your luggage in tow. We had 2 tents over xmas and both leaked like a sieve during a rainstorm. Needless to say, with 5 wet beds, no power and nobody available to provide dry bedding, it was NOT a pleasant night. Nkambeni will never see me again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkambeni Safari C, General Manager at Nkambeni Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Sam E, good morning and thank you for the review posted. I am very sorry you are of the opinion that our property is not within the Kruger National Park. We currently use the Numbi Gate as an access route and on arrival we ask our guests if they would like us to prepay the conservation fees for the following day to ensure they are not inconvenienced by standing in long queues at the gate. Our reason for not having parking at the tents are again purely to enhance the guest experience and allowing for the guests wanting to sleep late not being disturbed by car alarms and movement close to the tents. Our porters are on site to assist all guests with their luggage. With regards to the rain issue and the leaks, there I have no excuse, yes, it did rain, we had 92 mm that night, but for us not being able to provide you with dry tents and or dry linen is just not acceptable. We also had a massive power outage during this period and again this was an inconvenience to our guests. I truly apologise for this and we are addressing the generator issue at this moment. I am truly sorry for the poor experience you had Nkambeni and can assure you this is not the norm. My sincerest apologies. Regards, Wynand du Toit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked 3 nights at Nkambeni - the price was very reasonable so we were expecting it to be fairly basic but we were really pleased at just how good everything was. The 'tents' were large and spotlessly clean and we were lucky enough to have an uninterrupted view straight into Kruger. The staff were all really friendly and helpful. We booked our game drives with the hotel and Susie our guide was great. There was a lovely bar/lounge area and the food was very good quality with plenty to choose from. Have already recommended Nkambeni to friends and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Ask for a tent near to the restaurant and on the boundary fence side for the views - it could be qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nkambeni Safari C, General Manager at Nkambeni Safari Camp, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2013

Dear Karen B, good morning, thank you very much for the kind comments on our property. Your comments reflect the experience we want our guests to have. Thank you for recommending us to your friends, I also thank you for the comments on Suzie, she really is our safari star. Have a great 2013. Regards, Wynand du Toit, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
21.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
65.1 mi away
Rukiya Safari Camp
Rukiya Safari Camp
#80 of 175 in Kruger National Park
58 reviews
46.9 mi away
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
The Wild Olive Tree Camp
#130 of 175 in Kruger National Park
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Sabie River Bush Lodge
Sabie River Bush Lodge
#4 of 41 in Hazyview
557 reviews
23.7 mi away
Jock Safari Lodge
Jock Safari Lodge
#32 of 175 in Kruger National Park
581 reviews
46.4 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 175 in Kruger National Park
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nkambeni Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nkambeni Safari Camp

Address: Numbi Gate, Kruger National Park 1350, South Africa (Formerly Faircity )
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range: $110 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nkambeni Safari Camp 3*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An authentic Kruger National Park experience with friendly staff, clean serviced en-suite canvas chalets with bush views, a restaurant and bar with real South African food and drink overlooking a waterhole with resident hippos and a range of optional safari activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Nkambeni Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faircity Nkambeni Tented Camp Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing