We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South African safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Shishangeni Private Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
edmonton
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“South African safari”
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This was our first of 3 lodges. Very friendly staff and the game viewing 2nd to none!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brookdj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    81
    22
    14
    7
See reviews for
62
127
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in early June, full board, 2 adults and 2 children 5 and 10.
Rooms were very spacious and luxurious with arm chairs, rugs, foot stools, lovely and very comfortable beds with mosquite nets. The rooms were a few steps along a board walk from the main building. The bathrooms had free standing baths that over looked the bush there was also an outdoor shower and all very private. There is a fridge, tea and coffee facilties and separate dressing area in the room. Food was good, some meals were buffet service, some table service and good outdoor boma one night and the bar prices were very reasonable. All in a nice open dining area overlooking the bush with comfortable sofas and an open fire was lit on cooler evenings. The children were made to feel very welcome and frequently disappeared with staff to the kitchens etc. Ursula and her team are superb, nothing was too much trouble, we were made to feel special. Victor our guide took us out in the open top Toyota vehicle, he is extremely knowledgeable about the game with a great sense of humour and agan brilliant with the kids, they were also very flexible with game drive times and the game drive picnics were great, and they have not had malaria in the area for some 8 years. They do some good deals 4 nights for 3 etc. I rate this place most highly and would recommend it and certainly go back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FerretUnitedKingdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
286 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

We drove over to Kruger NP from Jo-berg for a weekend and couldn't have picked a better spot than Shishangeni Lodge. The lodge is beautiful and the staff is excellent. The food is also very good and exceeded my expectations. The menu was interesting and diverse (oxtail, ostrich). The game drives were very well done. The drivers are courteous and professional. We were able to see many different animals (4 of the Big Five) and the scenery is tremendous.

The only downside is that the gym facilities are very limited and you can't just go out and about for a run (unless you want to end up as dinner). But, those are minor in the context of an excellent weekend. I strongly recommend Shishangeni as a great place to stay in Kruger NP.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HenHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

This place was truely magnificant. The guided tours with Simon were not only beautiful, but also educational - he really went out of his way to make sure we didn't leave without having seen the big 5! Hotel service was really first class and comfortable. Beautiful outdoor private patio from where we were lucky enough to spot 2 elephant! My husband is usually not a morning person - but with those awesome game drives, he was more than willing to wake up at 5:30 every morning. Thank you to Shishangeni for a truely amazing african experience - as a local, this trip made me appreciate the beauty + splender of our country. :-)

Room Tip: Room no. 16 has a great private patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nix1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2011

I stayed in Shishangeni Private Lodge for a week-end in January 2011. Overall a very good stay: the safari tours were with a very good guide, small groups and great views. The lodge in itself is comfortable, even though not the 5 stars we were promised by the travel agency. Great pool, very good food too. Definitelly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lex7500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We spent 2 unforgettable days there. The treatment we received from the very capable staff was excellent. The food is great, and really plentiful - not suitable to loose weight. We had a very experienced Ranger taking us for game drives, I have never seen so much anywhere else before. I will recommend this Lodge anytime.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yetisouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2010

My family and I stayed at Shishangeni Lodge during December and had the most wonderful experience. From the minute we arrived until we left, we were treated like royalty. The rooms were large and well appointed with outside shower and even a door that opens straight from the bath - over looking the bush. Our two children (9 yrs and 12 yrs) were well received and enjoyed the swimming pool and tv room.
The food was outstanding and well prepared. The staff were always ready with a smile. Our guide on our afternoon drive, Simon, went out of his way to ensure we had the best game viewing and we managed to see two male lion.
The lodge is easy to located from the Crocodile Bridge entrance into the Kruger Park.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelady098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
58.7 mi away
Imbali Safari Lodge
Imbali Safari Lodge
#61 of 174 in Kruger National Park
395 reviews
59.5 mi away
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
Hoyo-Hoyo Safari Lodge
#56 of 174 in Kruger National Park
299 reviews
5.8 mi away
Buckler's Africa
Buckler's Africa
#1 of 13 in Komatipoort
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
58.7 mi away
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
Hamiltons Tented Safari Camp
#46 of 174 in Kruger National Park
313 reviews
21.8 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
327 reviews
5.3 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#73 of 174 in Kruger National Park
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shishangeni Private Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shishangeni Private Lodge

Property: Shishangeni Private Lodge
Address: Southern Kruger Park | south-eastern section, bordering Crocodile River to the south and Mozambique in the east, Kruger National Park 1340, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shishangeni Private Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place in Africa where legends are bornShishangeni comprises of three camps to choose from Shishangeni Private Lodge, Camp Shonga and Camp Shawu. Each of the three adding a different experience to the visitor. The Lodge offers big five game viewing, superior service, excellent cuisine, and the best accommodation in Southern Africa. The emphasis of all three of our camps is on nature without losing the luxury and superior service our guests are accustomed to. We are striving to create the optimum balance between people and their environments, while having an absolute minimal impact on the neighbouring habitat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Shishangeni Private Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing