We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Accommodation and Really Close to the Gate”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kruger National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burchell's Bush Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 19, 2014

A quick weekend away with my family, stayed in a 6 sleeper chalet in the Starling camp. It was good accommodation with everything you would expect in self-catering. The best thing about Burchells is it's proximity to the Kruger Gate, it's literally 2mins away and then you are on one of the best game viewing roads in the entire park. Skukuza to Lower Sabie and then on to Crocodile Bridge, a long drive but well worth a day I'm the park!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
9  Thank MattJohn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Burchell's Bush Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 56 reviews

Reviewed October 15, 2013

It was our first time staying at this self catering accomodation, as we recently bought timeshare here. It was truly wonderful. The units are very clean, all equipment working. The BBQ (Braai) area is a nice social space. We had 6 adults staying there and it was very roomy.
There is nothing better sitting on your porch and watching the local game (bushbok, kudu, impala) and also monkeys and mongoose playing and causing mischief.

I can't wait to go back next year.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend at Burchell's. Each lodge is set in its own private area and fits into the natural surroundings. The kitchen is well appointed for self-catering and there are two en suite bedrooms plus a loft area that sleeps two. The décor is tastefully ethnic. Bathrooms are a little dated but function well. We just loved the outside patio/braai area. Even though it's winter one could sit outside comfortably in the evening and enjoy the sounds and sightings of bush babies! Kruger Park Gate is a stone's throw from Burchell's (suggestion, buy a Wild Card to avoid daily entrance fees into the park). We enjoyed it so much that we are considering buying a week's timeshare there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank RosB__11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Ample and well located for early game drive Don't expect a gold crown, dry, dull grounds, compared to lush neighbouring kruger. Noisy from road with neighbours right on top of us. No privacy hear every word. Limited facilies although avaliable next door hotel. Close to Kruger. Many units empty in school holidays says something ?

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nnnnbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Brilliant all around experience.Excellent location from which to go into KNP. Staff were super friendly, chalets were immaculate and nothing was too much trouble for them.
Excellent all around experience.

Only point i would make is that they try and get internet access. Other than that, had an awesome time. Will definitely be back. By the way , KNP was so lush and green,saw amazing wildlife.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jondavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Chalets set in bush enviroment next to the Protea Kruger Hotel. Easy access to KNP Temp during our stay was +_m 22C Wood for Braais available at reception. Take own drinking water Chalets can accomodate six adults with ease

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Janmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We visited Burchell's Lodge 3 years ago and had a wonderful experience. We cant wait for the beginning of June to return there. Absolutely wonderful! On visiting there you must make provision for the necessary food and drinks if you want to save money and time, but it is definately worth it. Come June!!!!!






w

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eksieperfeksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kruger National Park
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Kruger Gate
0.0 mi away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#70 of 175 in Kruger National Park
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#52 of 175 in Kruger National Park
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Baluleni Safari Lodge
Baluleni Safari Lodge
#6 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
108 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jackalberry Ridge
Jackalberry Ridge
#11 of 33 in Marloth Park
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muweti Bush Lodge
Muweti Bush Lodge
#1 of 5 in Grietjie Nature Reserve
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burchell's Bush Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burchell's Bush Lodge

Address: Skukuza | Paul Kruger Gate, Kruger National Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Kruger National Park
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Burchell`s Bush Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing