We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amphitheatre Backpackers Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$142
$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cathedral Peak Hotel(Giants Castle Game Reserve)
$217
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$251
$230
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Nest Hotel(Cathkin Park)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Inkungu Lodge(Drakensberg Region)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
116
111
65
55
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
111
65
55
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstugela fallsbackpackers lodgepool tableday tripthree course mealswimming poolset menunorthern drakensbergspent nightstour guidecathedral peakremote locationbouldering wallbus stopbring foodguided hikebeautiful location
Filter
Updating list...
245 - 250 of 383 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great back packers and venue but rude staff. I would definitely not go back unless the management are more helpful. Maybe it was just a very busy long weekend and they could not handle the volume of people. Love the setting of the back packers and it is very well looked after and clean!

Room Tip: Dont book hikes or adventures through them - very expensive
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Outdoorspta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

If first impressions was to go by this place is great! The decor and feel is great and much more than one would expect from a backpackers. In backpacker standards is most definitely 5 star, or at least the room we stayed in. Unfortunately that is where it ends! If you want to experience the worst level of rudeness that South Africa can offer, book in here.

With the exception of a few staff members, most of the staff members here is rude to a level of utter disgust!! We eventually felt that the less we dealt with the staff the better. Here I must single out one person. Eleanor. Rude and unhelpful does not begin to describe this lady. She is most definitely in the wrong industry!! One gets the distinct feeling that this lady is used to dealing with children. She is yet to discover that the backpacker culture also extend to adults and in many instances professional people who at the very least expect friendliness.

I would have liked to single out the individuals who were helpful and friendly but in fear of them being victimized, would refrain from doing so in a public forum. They know who they are!!

The backpackers is also a little out of the way of main attractions and unless you have your own car you would do well to rather look at other accommodation alternatives in the area.

The value for money as far as accommodation go is good and once this establishment get rid of the staff that are dragging them down and perhaps look at their other value propositions, they can really be the 5 star backpackers they aim to be.

My advice would be to steer clear and look for an alternative.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BobRoss_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed here with our 23 yr old adventurous son. I feel like I really accomplished something big staying in a backpackers place on our vaca to SA & I can now cross it off my bucket list. However, 2 nights was all I could do. Both mornings began with jackhammers banging away...guess it's good they are doing some updates but it was right next door & VERY loud. We brought in our own food & enjoyed doing our day hike to Tiger Falls in the park. Our son had stayed at Amphitheatres once before & he knew the drill on the hikes so we didn't bite on any of their offers. It is an easy drive to the park & the Information office had great maps, etc. The room & bath were very basic but I must say everything was clean & tidy. One recommendation is to eat at "Tower of Pizza" after your hike in the park...best pizza in SA...right off the main road.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank De C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very nice backpackers, just dont fal into buying their tours. We really enjoyed our stay and we did not pay much attention to what the owners suggested so it was all good. Has a very pretty view, nice and clean rooms and big communal kitchens. We cooked and had a ton of fun. Very good price!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rey05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Definitely it deserves all 5 stars... Amazing scenery, great atmosphere, free jakuzzi, sauna, pool, bar, rooms, huts, kitchens, bar... undescribable!!!! :)
Also the stuff was nice and good.

But the owners were very rude and insulting to us. The blond lady and the short haired lady. :/
When we didn't take their trips to waterfall, Lesotho.... They really want to sell you those - and por a very high price as well. 500r for a hike!
Maybe I'd even consider, because everyone says they are worth it. But after we were asking for alternatives - booking a shuttle to do our own hike - they wouldn't help us at all. And when they give us the shuttle number. And where we told them our shuttle was late, they told us, she said 4pm not 3pm and accually use the phrase " I have vitnesses"! Don't even try to disturb them, when they are trying to sell the trips to new customers! You will get rudely dismissed.
They were very childish and even asked my friend around - eyes physically!

They work on a tab sistem - so the bill on the check out is very high - because the drinks and the food is quite expencive.
There is nowhere to buy your own food - so I recomend you to shop in advance.
The food is not very good either.
But all and all- i strongly recomand the place for relaxation. :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nina_Ljubljana_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews