We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine Heath Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jagersrust
Reviewed November 29, 2008

Fantastic destination if you have pre-teen children, the very friendly staff will keep them busy all day long, from baking to egg and spoon races. The facilities are brilliant from mountain bikes and horse riding to a kids only room decked out with sony play stations. Plus you can still do all the traditional drakensburg stuff like beautiful walks ect.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank redbob7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for Alpine Heath Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 485 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2008

Getting to Alpine Heath is kind of crazy. Big note: Watch out for potholes. Some of the most scenic views I've ever seen were on the way though.
Driving in, it didn't look like much, until we turned a corner, and it looked exactly like the website.
The staff behind the counter checked us in promptly and couteously. With great patience, they directed us to our chalet.
The chalet was pretty great for the price. Two of us shared a 6 bedroom, however 6 or even 7 could sleep very comfortably. We had chalet 16, which was on the edge of the property, and had probably the best view of the mountain vista. Note - there was no heat in the chalet. They provided a radiant heater, which didn't kick out a massive amount of heat, and also, there was a fireplace, which warmed the place up ok...but all of the windows and the high ceilings made it a bit hard to warm up. The chalet was stocked with lots of high ceilings, and every single thing we would have wanted for self-catering. The fridge didn't seem very cold, so I'd be a bit worried about any meats, etc.
The staff was REALLY on the ball to clean our chalet. I think that if we had kept the curtains closed, they wouldn't have interrupted our saturday morning seista... by 9:00am both days, they were knocking to come in.
The food in the main buildings was great. We only ate in the dining room, but found the selection awesome.
The resort had lots of fun things to do during the day, and activities all day for kids of all ages - it seemed. We spent our day enjoying the quiet by reading, and doing a hike.
All in all, the resort was great, and I would definently recommend it. Would only suggest that a: you pick a weekend with nice warm weather, or b: take your own firewood!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bonbon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2006

I have just returned from a (long) weekend spent with my family (hubby, teenager son, aged parents) at this resort. What a gorgeous setting! And the chalets are simply charming! We had a 6-sleeper ( 3 bedrooms, main en-suite) and found the loft where the main bedroom was situated very romantic! Only problem: Not much for the old folks to do except sit around and relax and enjoy the clean mountain air. For youngr people, there are daily activities organised by the resort, swimming pool, tennis and squash courts, putt-putt, trampoline, and really great hiking trails. The evening entertianment in the pub is great. Just a reminder: Carry along some dish washing items as none is provided. We also found it useful to carry along a DVD player for the grandparents who spent most of thier time in the chalet, being unable to do anything too strenuous. But a superb getaway for a weekend!

Stayed: September 2006
Thank SA_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2006

Alpine Heath feels like a little swiss village nestled in a valley surrounded by spectacular peaks. We visited there July 14th through the 16th 2006. We had two cabins, each had 3 bedrooms. Two rooms had twin beds, and the last a queen with a private bath. there is also a kitchen and a living room with fireplace. Alpine heath seems to charge per person, not per cabin, so a family of 3 got one cabin to themselves at a lover cost than 2 couples splitting the other cabin. Lots of activities especially for kids: 18 hole putt putt, squash, tennis, pools, and lots of adventure activities at nearby centers. Alpine heath has several hikes on thier grounds, all with undescribable views of the mountains and rivers. The village has a general store, pub, and restaurant for which you need to book dinners ( you can however happily cook in your cabin). Be careful of the small ants, they will quickly show up if you leave any snacks out. Would love to visit this place again!

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank CaptainCoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 05Marianne1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willemdubbeldam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marco v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jagersrust
4.4 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
250 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
17.8 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.0 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
629 reviews
4.2 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
146 reviews
2.7 mi away
Drakensberg Mountain Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Heath Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Heath Resort

Address: D119, Old Cavernberg Road | Northern Drakensberg, Jagersrust 3354, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort)
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Jagersrust
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jagersrust
Price Range: $110 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Heath Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALPINE HEATH RESORT – A PLACE OF WONDER. The magnificent mountains of the Drakensberg provide the spectacular backdrop for Alpine Heath Resort. The resort is located midway between Durban and Johannesburg, and offers superb accommodation, fine cuisine, All-Out-Adventure pursuits and superb conference and wedding facilities. This resort is a sports enthusiast’s dream with a host of activities available to keep the entire family entertained. Guests can choose from indoors activities like:•Board Games •Squash •Table-tennis •Gym •Spa treatments. There is also an extensive range of outdoor activities, which includes: •Horse-riding •Tennis •Volleyball •Fishing •Mountain biking •Tennis •Putt-putt course •Swimming and even friendly sport matches. The kids will be fully entertained with FUNtastic options that are sure to exceed any child’s expectations and energy levels. A daily variety of things to do, from arts & crafts to nature related activities are on offer. Children will never have a dull moment with the exclusive Kid’s Entertainment Program at the Kid’s WOW Zone! Just five minutes drive away is the All Out Adventures, which caters for extreme adrenaline junkies. Their activities vary from their well-reputed Canopy Tours to the Zipline and Kingswing. Alpine Heath Resort has many hiking trails, varying in difficulty, on offer. Situated in a World Heritage Site, the resort is the perfect base from which to explore some of the country’s finest trail attractions including the Amphitheatre, Tugela Falls (the World’s second highest waterfall) and Mont aux Sources. The Royal National Park is located 15km from the resort and boasts fantastic hiking opportunities at the world-famous Amphitheatre. Some of the trails available are: •Chain Ladder Hike •Tugela Gorge •Surprise Ridge •Cannibal Cave •Cascades, Look Out Rock •Tiger Falls. A trip to the Drakensberg would be incomplete without visiting the Spioenkop Battlefields and all the history associated with the South Africa Anglo-Boer War. Relive the memories of past heroes and walk in the footsteps of three great leaders, Winston Churchill, Mahatma Gandhi and General Louis Botha. Alpine Heath Resort offers guests a number of dining options. Hungry patrons can choose between self-catering or enjoy the culinary delights of the resort’s La Gruyeres Restaurant, savor some scrumptious offerings at the resort’s onsite eateries - The Tavern or the Pizzeria Inferno Pizzeria, enjoy light snacks at The Coffee Shop or shop for some fresh produce at the Village Market & Deli so that guests can prepare cuisine in the comfort of their own chalets. The resort has 100 luxuriously appointed, fully-equipped chalets offering panoramic mountain views from comfortable lounges, a fireplace for those romantic wintery evenings, kitchen, patio, satellite TV and three cozy bedrooms. Alpine Heath Resort is truly a highlight of the Drakensberg and it’s what makes this unique berg village so popular all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpine Heath Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Heath Hotel Drakensberg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing