We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Epic Family tradition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alpine Heath Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jagersrust
Reviewed June 15, 2012

In truth a family is what you make it. It is made strong, not by number of heads counted at the dinner table, but by the rituals you help family members create, by the memories you share, by the commitment of time, caring, and love you show to one another, and by the hopes for the future you have as individuals and as a unit.

Ever since I can remember we've been revisiting Drakensberg Mountains. Alpine Heath, Cathedral Peak, Little Switzerland and Champagne Castle Resorts have been firm family favourite. It’s been repeat SINGH FAMILY TRADITION for past 15 years, every January my family (my parents, three brothers, grandparents and I) ring in New Year with hearty embrace of crisp, fresh mountain air and scenic beauty of Drakensberg Mountains. Its great time for us to escape hustle and bustle of daily routine and regroup as family unit. You can never say that you're tired of Drakensberg, there’s just so much to see and do as family unit! Whilst my dad enjoys his trout fishing, my three brothers and I usually escape onto one of many hiking trails at offer-with the paths winding up a very pretty river, plenty of waterfalls, lush green grass everywhere, clouds forming incredible patterns in the sky and on the mountain tops, who can forget bird watching – what a sight! Coming from large family, I even get to escape on my own on one of horse-riding trails. Its soul revving experience and I can't imagine starting the year without setting foot on lush green slopes of Berg. Despite fact that we lost our granddad three years ago, it feels as if he’s always with us whilst we continue our journey on these family trips. On our Drakensberg family vacations, I’ve watched my younger brothers grow up into fine gentlemen, my grandparents and parents age beautifully like fine wine-our family has grown nothing but stronger just like rivers deep, mountains high and we look forward to continuing these trips with new additions to our family in near future!

Alpine Heath particularly caters for all-ages groups. I must congratulate Alpine Heath Management for their excellent service delivery and willingness to go extra mile! Whilst other resorts have limited vegetarian menu, Alpine Heath staff were flexible enough to make meals outside their usual menu! They cater for all creeds, cultures/religion, they are open and flexible. There’s just ample supply of entertainment: Bungee bounce, flying trapeze, Zipline, Paintball, King swing, Quad Bike Riding, Excellent Hiking trails, Kids Zone and Mountain Bike trails amongst others. If you are tired of self-catering chalets, Alpine Heath Hotel and La Gruyere Restaurant provide an ample amount of treats. Alpine Heath is great destination for family and team building and we plan on revisiting this resort in future.

Kind regards,
Prehana Singh & Family

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
Thank PrehanaSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

441 - 447 of 501 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2012

We visited the resort in May 2012. We had a wonderful reception and check in was quick and efficient. Our chalet (20) was beautiful and well equipped. Only downside was the hot water was not enough if all 6 of us showered in the mornings. The resort has something for everyone; from beautiful hiking trails to horse riding. Unfortunately we missed the Ghost Tour but we will definitely be going on our next visit. Overall our stay was a truly memorable one. We would like to thank EJ and Steffi for the invitation and Chantal for showing us around. Other staff members that I would like to thank for always being helpful and friendly when we phone are Sharai, Genevieve, Jeremy, Irene and all the other staff members. We highly recommend Alpine Heath Resort!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edmund v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Alpine Heath is situated in an excellent location in the mountains. Views from the rooms are great and the resort grounds are big with spaces of open patches. There are 4 trails to walk from the resort which is wonderful. Nearby attractions are also great for a day out of the resort. Rooms are neat and good linen is used. The resort is great for relaxing and if u looking for entertainment there is always something on in the evenings at the tavern. Would definitely recommend it to other travelers.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJIR_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

My husband, daughter and I attended a friends wedding at Alpine Heath in May. Although a beautiful location, the general service and food was poor.
The braai on the first night was particularly poor, with the food running out halfway through and the staff bringing replacements in drips and drabs. I ended up having just one, boiled looking, boerewors (without a roll). Really awful considering how simple this is to get right.

That evening, the room behind us had their own party going with loud music being played well into the early hours of the morning. The staff did nothing but phone every room, and wake up a few innocent people, until they found the right one. The music eventually went off at 2am! However they started again at 9am the next morning and only turned the music down JUST before the ceremony started a hundred yards away at 3pm.

The food at the wedding was sadly too, not up to scratch. We did however have a fabulous evening and some of the staff did try hard.

The Breakfast buffet option was pretty much a couple of tinned fruit options, a couple of yoghurt options and a couple pastries options. The a-la-carte was better.
Coffee was good.

I feel that not enough respect was given to the wedding couple on their special day - which I am sure cost a small fortune - and its a fortune the hotel made doing an average job.
The following week I went to another hotel for a wedding and difference only highlighted this.

And that sums it up. Take the self catering option if you are going to visit. It is worth it just for the location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoDrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Was an excellent trip to Alpine Heath, beautiful scenery, excellent hiking trails (which you can do guided or unguided), units are well maintained, and quite spacious. Only downside, no open fires, but which was fine, due to the amazing scenery. The reception, bar, pool, etc was really very good. Would definitely recommend this resort to anyone, as it has something for everyone. We loved the resort so much, going back there again in August, cant wait!

Room Tip: try to get a unit on the top of the hill, overlooking the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrasheenJohannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at Alpine Heath two years ago, loved it, and couldn't wait to go back - but now I have to say that I'm largely in agreement with Jayn21 (minus the pigeon poo).
We arrived late Sunday afternoon, picked up our room key, unpacked our car and ... nothing. Key turned in the door, door stayed locked. We asked to be moved and were told we couldn't be (?) but that maintenance would be down shortly. Twenty minutes later they arrived, and couldn't open the door either. We asked to be moved again and were offered one of two chalets right in the centre of the resort. (We'd specifically booked on the perimeter for the views and to be away from the busyness of the central common.) We were told that no other chalets were available - even though every single other perimeter chalet was vacant and remained so for the next three days. Ninety minutes after arriving, we were finally able to get into our room and unpack. And once we did, the first thing we saw when we walked in to the room was a massive hole burnt into our couch - surely someone (housekeeping?) would have seen this and had it repaired or replaced before bringing guests to the room, especially at a four-star resort?
Starving after the to-ing and fro-ing of the afternoon, we went up for dinner which was being served in the coffee shop because the resort was so quiet, to hear that there'd be a ten minute wait for a table. Not in the mood for further waiting, we went back to our chalet and made our own dinner.
And so the week continued ... the entire faucet fitting lifted out of the sink when we turned the tap on. Maintenance came to fix that and somehow cracked the outlet pipe which poured water all over the kitchen cupboards - and our food. They came to replace the outlet pipe and the tap broke again. We decided to leave well enough alone and live with the broken tap.
The door lock jammed every time we went out, until finally - two nights later - someone came and replaced the entire lock fitting.
We tried ordering lunch at the pool deck and after waiting for thirty minutes went to ask how the order was going ... no-one seemed to know. Ten minutes later we asked again, to be told it had only just gone through to the kitchen and would take another ten to fifteen minutes. An hour for a toasted sandwich??
There were a myriad of other small annoyances: the metallic coating on the bathroom handshower was so badly chipped that we cut our hands on it daily; the bath had cigarette burns on it (why do smokers always think that their particular cigarette is exempt from needing an ashtray? Why do hotels visit smoking rooms upon non-smokers?); the decoders had blown so only two television channels were available at any one time; the impressive-looking array of children's activities offered on the board daily turned out (mostly) to be a grand way of saying "leave your kids here to watch tv"; the only mountain-bike available for hire was closer to a penny-farthing than a mountain bike and took us a similar time to get along on ... I could continue, but you get the picture.
The staff in the main seemed disinterested at a charitable best and plain obstructive at worst. There were some people we turned to for help who were fantastic: Kobus, in charge of maintenance, was a real gem who came out at all hours to attend to our dismayed snag-list; EJ, the general manager was tremendously kind and concerned; Irene at the front desk went out of her way to help us (even though she must have dreaded every phone call from Chalet 17). But in truth there was just too much going wrong, too often, for a handful of good staff to really be able to make a difference.
And the good things? The beauty, the silence, the changing light on the mountains - all magnificent; and all almost worth the attendant comedy of errors.
But the best part of our week - and here Jayn21 and I differ - was without question the horses, and Johan, Alpine Heath's gem of all things equine. Johan offers a morning activity at the stables for children called "Horseplay" and it was far and away the highlight of the week for our daughter. He walks the child around the stables on his morning rounds; and together they measure out the horses' feed, discussing what goes into the feed and why; grooming the horses together and then finally having a short but excellent riding-lesson. It might not sound like much as I've written it, but listening to Johan speak and watching his connection with each of the horses and his gentle encouragement of our little girl was a truly special experience. We liked it so much that we booked an outride with Johan ourselves, and that turned out to be our best experience, too - Johan knows each horse so well that they respond to just a word or a gesture from him; and they are strong and sure-footed as mountain goats. I'm an enthusiastic rider but an inexperienced one; so throughout the ride Johan would make small suggestions or comments as to how best to use my reins and change my posture on inclines - we trotted, we cantered and I loved it. Johan was attentive, humourous and helpful in every way - what an absolute asset he, his beautiful horses and his great assistants Moses and Sifiso are to Alpine Heath.
On balance, would we give Alpine Heath another try? Sadly, probably not.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms on the perimeter have beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mantike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Just been there again and I have to say this again that children are entertained all day long and they simply love the activities offered by the friendly staff at the kids lounge. A resort I will always want to return to because it's one of the few places where you really can put your feet up and relax while the children are entertained. Units need a bit of a revamp. Mountain views are breathtaking and enjoyed the hikes.

Room Tip: unit 15/16 17/18 are at the bottom end of resort with the mountains in front of you. great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fs30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jagersrust
4.4 mi away
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
Mont Aux Sources Hotel
#4 of 4 in Bergville
256 reviews
6.5 mi away
Cavern Drakensberg Resort & Spa
23.0 mi away
Cathedral Peak Hotel
Cathedral Peak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Giants Castle Game Reserve
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Sandford Park Country Hotel
4.2 mi away
Little Switzerland Hotel
Little Switzerland Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bergville
151 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ezulwini Berg Resort
Ezulwini Berg Resort
#3 of 4 in Jagersrust
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Heath Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Heath Resort

Address: D119, Old Cavernberg Road | Northern Drakensberg, Jagersrust 3354, South Africa (Formerly Three Cities Alpine Heath Resort)
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Jagersrust
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jagersrust
Price Range: $106 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine Heath Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ALPINE HEATH RESORT – A PLACE OF WONDER. The magnificent mountains of the Drakensberg provide the spectacular backdrop for Alpine Heath Resort. The resort is located midway between Durban and Johannesburg, and offers superb accommodation, fine cuisine, All-Out-Adventure pursuits and superb conference and wedding facilities. This resort is a sports enthusiast’s dream with a host of activities available to keep the entire family entertained. Guests can choose from indoors activities like:•Board Games •Squash •Table-tennis •Gym •Spa treatments. There is also an extensive range of outdoor activities, which includes: •Horse-riding •Tennis •Volleyball •Fishing •Mountain biking •Tennis •Putt-putt course •Swimming and even friendly sport matches. The kids will be fully entertained with FUNtastic options that are sure to exceed any child’s expectations and energy levels. A daily variety of things to do, from arts & crafts to nature related activities are on offer. Children will never have a dull moment with the exclusive Kid’s Entertainment Program at the Kid’s WOW Zone! Just five minutes drive away is the All Out Adventures, which caters for extreme adrenaline junkies. Their activities vary from their well-reputed Canopy Tours to the Zipline and Kingswing. Alpine Heath Resort has many hiking trails, varying in difficulty, on offer. Situated in a World Heritage Site, the resort is the perfect base from which to explore some of the country’s finest trail attractions including the Amphitheatre, Tugela Falls (the World’s second highest waterfall) and Mont aux Sources. The Royal National Park is located 15km from the resort and boasts fantastic hiking opportunities at the world-famous Amphitheatre. Some of the trails available are: •Chain Ladder Hike •Tugela Gorge •Surprise Ridge •Cannibal Cave •Cascades, Look Out Rock •Tiger Falls. A trip to the Drakensberg would be incomplete without visiting the Spioenkop Battlefields and all the history associated with the South Africa Anglo-Boer War. Relive the memories of past heroes and walk in the footsteps of three great leaders, Winston Churchill, Mahatma Gandhi and General Louis Botha. Alpine Heath Resort offers guests a number of dining options. Hungry patrons can choose between self-catering or enjoy the culinary delights of the resort’s La Gruyeres Restaurant, savor some scrumptious offerings at the resort’s onsite eateries - The Tavern or the Pizzeria Inferno Pizzeria, enjoy light snacks at The Coffee Shop or shop for some fresh produce at the Village Market & Deli so that guests can prepare cuisine in the comfort of their own chalets. The resort has 100 luxuriously appointed, fully-equipped chalets offering panoramic mountain views from comfortable lounges, a fireplace for those romantic wintery evenings, kitchen, patio, satellite TV and three cozy bedrooms. Alpine Heath Resort is truly a highlight of the Drakensberg and it’s what makes this unique berg village so popular all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Alpine Heath Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Heath Hotel Drakensberg Region

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing