We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something extraordinary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We had to try this! And it is something different, to sleep in a 30feet high tree house (we were in the Montain View, the latest of the buildings). All houses are in a good distance to each other, so you won't be bothered by the other guests. The hosts have been very friendly, both coming from Luxemburg and therefor multilingual. To get there it takes you over a 12km dirt road to the main gate, Game drives are available and morning walks are done by yor host.
You will sit for dinner at the table with other guests which you might like or not, but it can be inspiring and entertaining. Food is good and you can expect some unknown African specialties ;)
There is a lot of game around, again, no predators, so you can take walks without being stressed.We had the challenge that our days were rainy and very windy, so the tree house is a part of nature and not a brick building!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FoolOfHeaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 335 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

After 2008 it was the second time we stayed with Lydia and Claude. We booked 3 nights and the 1st two nights we had the 'Dream' house which is one of the newly built treehouses. It was so nice to wake up with the sun shining in the bedroom and with a small monkey on the terrace. I had an outside shower with 2 girafes passing by. The last night we had the 'Marula' which is very large and perfect for a family with kids. As in 2008 dinner was excellent. The staff is also very nice.I think if you want to stay outside the Kruger at a special location this is the place to be.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Namibia71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a wonderful stay in this hotel. we were family 5 people in the family lodge.
the place is magical, very good food, very dedicated management and staff.
The family lodge is very nice, spacieux with the tree throught the lodge.
The game 4x4 and walk are perfect. we saw the big 5, giraffe hippo, more zebra family in front our apartment...fantastic.
I highly recommend this lodge.
Obviously this has a price (justified) but we are not in a zoo commuter...
change of scenery garanti.
I have only one desire, is to go back!

one family of Marseille

Room Tip: the family lodge is perfect for one family 4 or 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eric l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was our second visit. We were there in December 2009 also. The family, all 4 of us, had a great time. The tree houses are wonderful and the kids loved being there again. Claude does a great job, and goes the extra mile. It was once again a great experience, with lots of opportunity to walk around a take great pictures of the wild birds that are around in the bush.

Room Tip: The treehouses have most all been upgraded since we were there last. Talk and email with Pezulu and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

1. always confirm which tree house you get (pictures). Some are very different from the website.
2. Staff seem to be under alot of pressure there so the atmosfere is unpleasant. It affects you and other people there, so it helps NOT going there alone.
3. Be ok with staying in a place where the staff is underpaid and reasonably, loudly complaining about it every day.
4. They don't trust you, so expect a one hour checkout while they check you credit card.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Thomas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClaudeHoedspruit, Owner at Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2012

We are sorry that Thomas didn’t enjoy his stay at our lodge. There are pictures of all the different tree houses on our website (we did the pictures ourselves) but the newest tree houses are missing as we were very busy and didn’t get the chance to update our website. Most of our guests tell us that the lodge and the tree houses are much more beautiful in real than on our website.

It’s true that our staff was under pressure in March as we had an elderly management couple working for us at that moment who unfortunately treated our staff badly. They also created an unpleasant atmosphere. We changed the management in the meanwhile and the atmosphere has improved again. Our staff is happy again and loves to work for Pezulu, they feel pride in their work. Maybe some staff members were complaining in March because they were unhappy with the management but it’s not true that they are underpaid, we respect the labour law. We made the experience at other hotels and lodges where we stayed in Africa that the staff sometimes complains about their salary to get more tips.

The check-out usually doesn’t last longer than 5 minutes. But I remember that there was a problem with the credit card machine that was busy updating some data and therefore was out of service for a certain time. This data updating is done automatically by the system once a day. As Thomas wanted to pay his account just at that moment, it took unusually long. We do trust our valued guests.

Claude & Lydia, owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Pezulu tree house is an incredible experience.As the rest of our trip this was organized by Cruiselite. A complete tree house with two separate bedrooms, an open air bathroom and a private terrace overlooking the bush. Having a hot shower at dawn in the cold South African winter, whilst hearing animal sounds all around you is an experience to be cherished. Sitting on the rocking chairs or sofas in the private terrace with tree branches brushing against you is also worth staying here. You can spend hours lazing here waiting for the wildlife passing beneath (or if lucky) at eye level. We had breakfast and tea at the main lodge and we used the viewing platform to watch the sunset as most animals were hiding that day. We did see a lot of bush babies in the ceiling of the tree houses, and a Rhebok grazing near the ramp leading to our treehouse. The night bar-b-q was great. The only disappointment was that Jessica the world's only friendly hippo was no longer around as it had run off into the bush, and the swimming pool was rather small and shallow. Otherwise well worth staying there for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRIMS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Pezulu means high up – and this is what you are. High up in the tree. We stayed at the Mountain View Tree house and even the Giraffe had to stretch its neck to say hello – and there where quite a few visiting us, browsing on the leaves from “our tree”. Everyone was very friendly, dinner in the boma was great, plentiful and “African” breakfast was enough to get you through the day. The only regret we had is that we only had time to spent one night there. The tree house itself is spacious, with outside shower in the highest braches of the tree, overlooking the grassland around the waterhole. Claude offered us the chance to look at the honeymoon tree house, where you can roll out the bed onto the veranda and sleep under the stars – how cool is that! This is what we book for our next visit!

Room Tip: We wouold choose the honeymoon treehouse for our next visit - just because of the bed on rollers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AfricaAdventureSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
0.7 mi away
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
#27 of 104 in Hoedspruit
143 reviews
28.1 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 104 in Hoedspruit
368 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Thornhill Safari Lodge
#14 of 104 in Hoedspruit
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#13 of 104 in Hoedspruit
179 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
#17 of 104 in Hoedspruit
100 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lion Tree Top Lodge
Lion Tree Top Lodge
#15 of 104 in Hoedspruit
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge

Address: Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: $185 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Tree House Lodge close to Kruger National Park in South Africa. Pezulu is one of a kind lodge. It offers accommodation in 8 unique tree houses. All supplied with electricity and WC/Bath or open air shower. From your balcony view herds of animals running below. Daily big 5 safaris conducted in our open 4x4 vehicles. Open air dinner under the stars around the fireplace. Perfect for honeymooners as well. Real adventurous African feeling guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and South African Hotels so you can book your Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pezulu Tree House Game Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing