We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good we returned and will again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Pezulu treehouses is amazing! I live in South African with my South African husband but I am from HOlland and work at a lodge myself. There are many lodges around kruger but Pezulu treehouses really is something different and an experience you shouldn't miss!
We were here in 2011 and becasue i loved the stay so much, now again with my parents from Holland in 2012.
We had 2 different treehouses now and they both were so different that it felt like a new experience! To have a shower outside in de bush and sun and a bath with view, great ambiance!
My parents ahd the game drive (which is not that expensive since i can compare it as working in the lodge industry around Kruger myself) and the guide was good, they had rhino and leopard!
The bar is a real relaxing place and the dinner is very welcoming and feels like you are surrounded by friends! The breakfast was perfectly fine. The tea is not that much but if you think about what you pay, you can't expect 5 star full breakfast, lunch and dinner either!

Definitely recommended!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArletteNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 335 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

We spent an idyllic few days at Pezulu and can highly recommend it. The treehouses are spectacular and you really feel right in the bush, which of course you are, but with the luxury of very stylish & clean rooms. Each treehouse is beautifully individual and private. The main lodge has a great bar and a homely restaurant layout, where we were made to feel very welcome by Claude and Lydia. Connie is the chef - she is a sweetheart and made the best venison pie I've ever eaten. Rickus is the guide and was an absolute star, really going out of his way to help us with anything we needed. There are 5 very cute bush babies living in the roof of the bar and they put on quite a show each evening. And last but not least, the game drive was amazing. We saw the Big 5 in one morning, which I know is the luck of the draw but the Thornybush Reserve is excellent and the guides drive right into the bush to give you the best chance of seeing the animals (ask for Olaf!). We would have happily stayed for a month and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186338Abc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012

I would just like to thank you for the most BEAUTIFUL day we had at Pezulu on the 28th June (Dream Treehouse). It was everything and MORE what I expected. As I told Claude, what you see on the internet is EXACTLY what you get. My hubby was totally bowled over by the surprise I arranged for us for our anniversay.


As I keep telling people, it was stunning - stunning - stunning and sleeping outside on the verandah was just so awesome. As my husband told me on Friday morning as we woke up, everyone should have this on their bucket list ;-)



From the minute we drove in and was met by a very friendly gentleman, to our tree house, everything was perfect. What I loved too was the naturalness of everything. When we arrived we were served 'high tea/light lunch' it was lovely been served home cooked food. Then dinner - WOW - also a real treat not this fancy 'french cuisine nonsense' - this was home cooked bush food at its best. Breakfast did not disappoint us either - we loved every minute/second of our stay at Pezulu and I would definitely love to return and hopefully stay for 2 nights.

Room Tip: Dream house so you can push your bed outside. What better way to wake up watching the sun rise and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This could be an AWESOME place - but is ruined by management who have no clue on typical south African hospitality. The owners are from Europe and obviously were not 'south-africanised' prior to taking over this operation. We had brought a Canadian couple with us and had bragged about the kind if hospitality that we are accustomed to - only to be disappointed by these folks.

The food was not good at all. 'high tea' was a joke - we were practically hostage in this remote area with a tiny morsel for lunch (tea) I did see the owners wife wolfing down a hearty meal in the kitchen though!

The tree/houses were great, as was the staff.

In short - I will never return to Pezula or recommend it to anyone until mgmt changes. So sad ....

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purdy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 16, 2012

We are shocked about this fake review, we are certain that it’s not from a guest who stayed at our lodge but it was written or instructed by a person that wants to harm us by all means (that person even threatened us to write a bad review about our lodge).
To make sure that this review was not written by a guest, we checked in our reservation file and saw that there was no booking for that month from Canadian guests. Furthermore we were overseas the whole month of July 2011 so it was impossible to meet us. Furthermore my wife never has lunch in the kitchen of the lodge as we do have our own kitchen in our house and nobody prepares lunch for us. We have all our meals in our house or together with the guests in the boma but never in the kitchen of the lodge.
Our high tea is similar to other lodges in South Africa where we stayed: a selection of savoury and sweet dishes (for instance quiche or pizza & cake), fresh fruits and of course coffee or tea. We always make sure that our guests are not leaving the table hungry.
Maybe we are not ‘South-Africanised’ in the reviewer’s eyes. But do South Africans need to get ‘Germanised’ should they decide to relocate to Germany for example? 70% of our guests are from Europe and they all appreciate a lot that we speak German and French fluently. We also travelled a lot in the whole world before we moved to South Africa which helps to understand other nations and to have a good conversation. We have a lot of returning guests and referrals and our occupancy rate increases every year which shows that our lodge is popular even if we are not ‘South-Africanised’ …
This fake review doesn’t reflect the opinion of our dear guests who stayed at our lodge.
Kind regards,
Claude & Lydia HUBERTY
Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My lady and I spent 3 wonderful nights at Pezulu and we have nothing but great things to say. Our tree house overlooked a waterhole and our early mornings and evenings were spent watching animals coming to drink. The early morning safari with Olaf was a great learning experience and the staff at Pezulu were amazing. Our nights around the fire will be remembered always. Our thanks to all who contributed to such a wonderful experience. We'll be back asap. Bravo Lydia and Claude!!

Room Tip: Any room at Pezulu would be suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Exceeded my expectations. Beautiful, tranquil location, accommodations, service. Will recommend to everyone I know who is traveling to South Africa for safari.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beachway34242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

My aunt and I spent 3 glorious nights at Pezulu. The staff was extremely warm and welcoming. The tree houses are AMAZING, more luxurious than the pictures! The one we stayed in was huge and very private, with 2 decks! It was a very restful weekend with lots of relaxing and reading and the optional game drives in the neighboring Thornybush Game Lodge were good as well.

Room Tip: Each tree house is different, read the descriptions, look at the photos and see which one you fancy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMS1122_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
0.7 mi away
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
#28 of 103 in Hoedspruit
144 reviews
28.1 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#6 of 103 in Hoedspruit
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
#16 of 103 in Hoedspruit
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Thornhill Safari Lodge
#13 of 103 in Hoedspruit
397 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lion Tree Top Lodge
Lion Tree Top Lodge
#15 of 103 in Hoedspruit
100 reviews
0.7 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#12 of 103 in Hoedspruit
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge

Address: Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: $219 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Tree House Lodge close to Kruger National Park in South Africa. Pezulu is one of a kind lodge. It offers accommodation in 8 unique tree houses. All supplied with electricity and WC/Bath or open air shower. From your balcony view herds of animals running below. Daily big 5 safaris conducted in our open 4x4 vehicles. Open air dinner under the stars around the fireplace. Perfect for honeymooners as well. Real adventurous African feeling guaranteed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and South African Hotels so you can book your Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pezulu Tree House Game Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing