We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!!!The most amazing place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tshukudu Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

If you want to have a really amazing experience in South Africa, go to Tshukudu Game Lodge. The staff, the place, the food- everything was fantastic. The cheetahs are such a special "thing"!!They DO WALK, but you have to know that the place is not a zoo or a circus; so, if you spend just a day or two there, maybe you don´t have this experience, cause the cheetas are no pets - they are wild animals who lives with the people, and maybe they will be hunting or taking a walk by themselves. There, besides the cheetahs, me and my husband saw the big fives and much, much more and learned a lot with our guide (Jaco). I don´t have enough words to describe the days we spended there and to say thank you!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janaina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (486)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 486 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

we had just a wonderful time at Tshukudu. The highlight of our entire trip was the bush walk @ tshukudu. To walk around with Hunters and Floppy, the resident cheetahs, was simply a very unique experience. Professional and knowledgeable staff, especially the game rangers!!
Divine food. One of our best experiences in South Africa

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ziggy0027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

What a wonderful surprise to visit this lodge for three days with our daughter and grandchildren.
The staff are absolutely great and the food delicious. We had wonderful encounters with Rhino, Elephant and Rhino. There is a tame cheetah who roams the lodge and we caught her sitting by the swimming pool last night. We also had a great view of three porcupines earrings scraps by the lodge.
I would highly recommend this lodge to families with children. The Game Reserve is run by a fantastic family and I'm sure this is why they have a high guest return.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre or room service so the Rating is not accurate. Any room is recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wildlox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Tshukudus web site says: Renowned for the re-introduction of orphaned animals to the wild, it offers guests the rare opportunity of interacting with animals on a special morning walk.
Before booking we wanted confirmation so when we asked if Tshukudu walked with lions as advertised we were told:
'Our lion cubs ain't cubs any more so unfortunately we only walk with the Cheetahs now. There are 3 named Mtombi, Floppy and Hunter'.
Just before the walk we were informed that the cheetahs had made a kill and probably not want to walk. We went ahead with the walk beliveing that there was a posiibilitie that would join us.
We drove 65 kilometres for this experiance and were very disappionted that it was not to be!
In fact we were staying next to Motswari Lodge where we could have gone on a bush walk without getting up at 4am and driving 65k
The bush walk turned out to be a short stroll along a dirt road with a detour to see a ex-zoo hippo in a dam. Hardly a wild experience. Breakfast was unremarkable.
When we complained we were offered no apolygies and no refund partail or other wise. I felt we should have been given the opprtunity to cancel if the cheetahs were feeling un cooperative. A total waste of time and money.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
7  Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

To have a cheetah greet you when you arrive was the start to a wonderful experience. The accommodation was simple but very comfortable. The game drives were amazing, the rangers worked hard to make sure you saw as much as possible and up close. The morning walks were made very interesting and educational by the ranger and we were accompanied by the cheetah.
The plentiful lunch and dinner (under the stars) was traditional South African. After dinner we watched porcupines enjoying some vegetables. The staff were very friendly and genuinely wanted you to get the most out of your stay with them.

Room Tip: Cannot think of any bad rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran39_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Just for the record, we stayed in June 2011.One of the most enjoyable and life changing experiences with regards to staying at a wild game lodge-totally different from other reserves as the experience is one of interaction and understanding nature conservation.
Up and close interaction with wild animals and even game walks with cheetahs, lions and a bushpig-what could one want more.
Daily breakfast, lunch and supper comprises of traditional south african comfort food which surpasses most 5 star restaurants.
Rooms are simple but adequate and actually little time is spent there except for sleeping.
Service and interaction is family orientated and everyone is always together during meal times.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selwyn2244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We came to Tshukudu to see the Big 5 and we were not disappointed. We saw lions, elephants, cape buffalo and rhinos in the wild and leopards in their enclosure areas. The game drives were wonderful although much of the experience depends on the quality of your guide. We saw every kind of animal and bird we ever wanted to see and July was breeding season so we saw many baby animals too. The highlight was the cheetahs - raised by the staff and tame. But they still hunt in the wild for their own food. We witnessed the cheetah brothers devour an impala they had killed - and because they were so tame, we could stand a few feet from them. It was truly amazing and very moving to experience this circle of life. Their sister Ntombe accompanied us on the morning walk and greeted us at meal times as she roamed the verandah. We did not see much on the early morning game walk so opted to sleep in our second day. The meals were good. Accommodations are basic and clean and there are self catering options also.

Room Tip: Interconnecting rooms available for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eat-Sleep-Walk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
9.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,893 reviews
10.3 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
296 reviews
13 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#12 of 103 in Hoedspruit
180 reviews
18.6 mi away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#17 of 103 in Hoedspruit
349 reviews
4.3 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#1 of 103 in Hoedspruit
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tshukudu Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tshukudu Game Lodge

Address: Tshukudu Game Reserve | KT 207, Portion of Vienna, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: $397 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tshukudu Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tshukudu Private Game Reserve borders the world renowned Greater Kruger National Park and combines home comforts with the exciting Big 5 safari experience (Lion, Rhino, Elephant, Leopard and Buffalo). The lodge has magnificent views of the Drakensberg Mountains and offers close encounters with some of the rehabilitated orphaned animals in their natural habitat. Tshukudu Game Lodge where exclusivity is assured, covers 3800ha of prime Bushveld and is situated close to Hoedspruit in the Limpopo Province. The 4 star Lodge offers full board as well as self-catering packages. The list of activities includes an early morning bush walk as well as morning and afternoon game drives in 4 x 4 vehicles with skilled game guides. For a holiday to remember contact us to today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tshukudu Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tshukudu Game Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing