We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and Peaceful”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hoedspruit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zuleika Country House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hoedspruit
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Calm and Peaceful”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Do not use the map pin on Google Maps to find this hotel as it is NOT by Hoedspruit aerodrome. It is just off the R531 - we were in good company, apparently, in not finding it! Each room is a chalet set in well-kept gardens with a huge variety of plants, orchids, grasses, all leading down to a pond at the bottom of the slope. The view is fantastic - especially from chalet number 6. We had dinner (set menu) our second night and the food was very good - well cooked and presented. Breakfast was equally good both in choice and quality. We had a safari tour booked but the drive to Orpen Gate took one hour (in an open safari vehicle, so very windy and very uncomfortable). Far better to drive yourself to the gate and meet the guide there - especially as we had an 80 year old with us who would not have survived the journey to Kruger if she had not been installed in the cab beside the driver! 4 poster beds with mosquito nets make you feel like you are in a princess' bed. The bath is enormous and there are nice touches such as bath salts in a pot, some nougat sweets by the bedside and some schnapps for those who like a bedtime snifter.... Plenty of hot water and good water pressure with seating on the verandah outside each chalet all make for a really comfortable stay. Nice blinds, plenty of windows, aircon and mosquito plugs. The basket in the wardrobe contains a torch, candles and matches in case of power failure and plug adaptors. There is even a room spray should the need arise! These are all nice touches which show the managers of this property are prepared to go the extra mile. I cannot comment on the pool as I never saw it. Apparently there were 14 other guests on the property but we did not hear nor see them Tranquillity itself.

Room Tip: Chalet 6 has by far the nicest view and is furthest away from other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annakatrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review and for taking the time to go into detail about the facilities. I apologise about the Google Map pin being in the wrong location, the pin was placed by an Tour Agent. I have placed a pin in the correct location but it reflects as Pin B. I have also reported the pin on several occasions to Google Maps as inaccurate and asked the agent to remove it but have had no success yet. I will keep trying until I get a response. I hope you enjoyed your time here and hope to see you again during your next visit to the area.

Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
486 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Zuleika is what you would imagine a guest house in South Africa to be. The grounds are beautiful and the view of the mountains are stunning. The staff was very professional and the food was absolutely delicious. The room we stayed in (#5) was very nice. This is a lovely 4 star property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiganTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will return to sunny South Africa in the near future and visit us again.

Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Dear Altie,

Thank you to you & your staff for making us so welcome. Lovely appointed accommodation in a beautiful setting with outstanding table. Would not hesitate to repeat the experience and look forward to seeing you very soon

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MvanderBerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuleika C, Owner at Zuleika Country House, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Dear Meagan.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay, we are happy to hear that the service, rooms, meals and surroundings met all your expectations. We enjoyed having your family here over the weekend and we hope your son will enjoy Hoedspruit. We definitely look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Altie Scholtz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zweeloo, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed at Zuleika on our way from Blyde to the Kruger Park. What a lovely experience. Quirky rooms and garden. Our room, though small, had everything we needed. Wonderfully clean and filled with all sorts of amenities. Much to our surprise, we were the only guests for dinner. But quietly we enjoyed the breathtaking view, surroundings and absolutely delicious food. What a treat. And the winelist offered some excellent choice.
Breakfast the next morning was served on the veranda. Loads of choice to get us started.
Can really recommend staying there.
One small note, please provide us guests with some more detail on activities in the immediate surroundings. I believe Hoedspruit is well worth the visit for more than one night.

Room Tip: Room with a veranda
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimoneMeijer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this review, February 19, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. We can definitely provide you with details of the excursions available in our area. There is plenty to do and keep you busy for a few days. Please feel free to email me at zuleika@tiscali.co.za and I will send you our excursions file. We also have an excursions file in reception for your perusal. We hope you will return for a longer stay in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

What a gem this place proved to be with excellent room facilities and very good food. The garden is attractive with a large pond and stunning views across to mountains in the distance. We stayed here for 2 nights and found it to be very comfortable indeed. I would highly recommend this place for a stop over.

Room Tip: Take a dip in the pool - it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
We greatly appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay at Zuleika Country House and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards,
Megan Griffiths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We stayed here our first night in country for two reasons: 1) After multiple international flights, going to a game preserve right away would be lost on us, in our jet lagged state. 2) We wanted to check out the Canyon. (Okay, and 3, it was recommended as a good place to catch our breath.)

So, yes: Good first night choice, to catch our breath.

Proprietor was helpful with recommending the two main ways to see the Canyon. Her efforts to reach the boat tour company to see if there were seats on the morning’s boat trip were unsuccessful — they didn’t call back — so we chose the sightseeing route at the rim of the Canyon — which was very nice and easy to do all in a morning. No need to drive the whole distance of the Canyon (unless one needed to go that way, anyway). You can see it all more quickly by just staying at the north end, like we did.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nathan_h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you very much for writing a review after your stay at Zuleika Country House. We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding area. Kind Regards, Megan Griffiths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa;cape town
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a super time at Zuleika. The staff were great, lovely clean rooms, beautiful vistas and super food. Megan was really sweet and efficient, guiding us to the lodge when we got lost. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spannernoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuleika C, Manager at Zuleika Country House, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others. We appreciate your positive feedback and recommending us to others. We hope you will be back for another visit shortly. Kind Regards, Megan Griffiths
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
0.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,689 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
0.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hippo Pools Resort
Hippo Pools Resort
#3 of 3 in Hoedspruit
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
183 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
#28 of 103 in Hoedspruit
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuleika Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuleika Country House

Property: Zuleika Country House
Address: Zuleika Country House | Farm Moriah, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Customer, We would like to inform you that Zuleika Country House will be changing ownership and our last effective day of business will be the 26th of June. The guest house will remain open however it will be under new management and will be trading as Blyde Mountain Country House. We can't fully express our deep gratitude for your business and support. Thank you again for your business. Sincerely, The Zuleika Team Zuleika Country House ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zuleika Country House Hotel Hoedspruit
Zuleika Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing