We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful views, and warm hospitality”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hoedspruit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Zuleika Country House
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hoedspruit
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here overnight on the wasy to the Kruger Park in Feb. What a pleasant suprise. We were warmly welcomed, offered drinks and shown to our very comfotable and surpisingly spacious rooms, all airconditioned, there were 3 couples. A suggestion when staying here, make the effort to go 20 minutes down the road to see Jessica the Hippo (as seen on Idiot abroad) what a treat, up close with Jessica was a "Bucket List' moment never to be forgotten, we fed her, gave her tea and even kissed her, we then sat with our feet on her back. Zuleika itself, the food was gernourous tasty, even catering for our fussy visiotrs from the UK. The bar was nicely stocked, and the staff were excellent. We'll definitely be going back there!!

Room Tip: We had 11A, B & Room 12, they interlinked and had a lounge, dining area (which we did not use, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 58 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

the venue is located in a beatiful and quiet area with a wonderful scenery facing mountains.
Our room and the venue were very clean, confortable
It is a nice venue between blyde river canyon and kruger park which is at only 1 hour car driving (phalaborwa gate)
Nice service as well as they pay attention and advice to ensure the best stay with us
we would recommend for sure

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bourgeois g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I spent one night at Zuleika while on Honeymoon and had a very nice time. The grounds are beautiful, and our room was clean and comfortable with a breathtaking view. Dinner included several courses all of which were very tasty. The only thing keeping from a 5 star rating was that the dinner was advertised as being included in the price when in fact it was charged as an extra when checking out. All in all I would recommend staying, though.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I just returned from few days at the Kruger Park in South Africa and stayed at Zuleika for one night before heading off to see the BIG 5. Lovely check-in, so friendly and easy going. The room had all that we needed and they were so nice to prepare a yummy breakfast box for our early morning departure! The homemade muesli was so good that we had it in two days, so not to waste anything. Very handy with direction and easy to reach if you are on your way to Kruger, it's a really nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolores S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

From the moment we arrived the staff of this hotel were great. We were greeted warmly and shown to our rooms. We stayed in rooms 14 and 15 which were joned by an internal door. This was ideal for two couples traveling together but also private enough that you couldn't hear a thing when the doors were closed. The bed was comfortable and the rooms very rustic and clean. The meals prepared by Maria were great. The owner was extremely helpful with planning our tour of Blyde River Canyon and the Panorama Route. She even suggested a great little stop off for our onward trip which we enjoyed. I would stay here again and would stay a few more days just for some pure relaxation and getting away from it all.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank EP05313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

An ideal place to stay if you want to do the Panoramic Route. The staff were most helpful and friendly. The accommodation was lovely. Breakfast was great and so was the dinner when we chose to stay in during the evening. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caidenLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I booked at Zuleika for 5 days, me and my husband were there for our honeymoon. We actually booked the luxury room. This was like a home there was a TV, aircorn, cauch ensuit with bath and shower and the room was very clean. We brought our own radio and DVD to watch our wedding photos. One morning we left early @ 4 a.m to go to kruger park and my husband dropped the flash disk in the garden, we realised after we left the lodge that our flash disk is lost with our wedding photos in it. We asked the assistants if they have picked up any flash disk we reported that to the reception. Well that was my bad experience on my honeymoon. But we enjoy ourself. Their hospitality was great, though they dont clean or service their rooms guest had to pay R150 for their rooms to be clean and R50 for swimming towels. But out of that their garden looks nice the pool is sparkle clean and big enough. We booked a self catering room, their plates, cuttlery, glasses are of a good quality. We will go back if we visit hoedspruit again, though we have visited all the tourist attractions since 2009. Keep up the good work Lisa and your friendly assistants. From Nkosana and Sibongile Cindi @ Gauteng, Springs

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disbobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
0.0 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,811 reviews
0.0 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Ranch Resort
0.0 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aha Sefapane Lodge and Safaris
0.0 mi away
Hippo Pools Resort
Hippo Pools Resort
#3 of 3 in Hoedspruit
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zuleika Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zuleika Country House

Address: Zuleika Country House | Farm Moriah, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Hoedspruit
Price Range: $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Valued Customer, We would like to inform you that Zuleika Country House will be changing ownership and our last effective day of business will be the 26th of June. The guest house will remain open however it will be under new management and will be trading as Blyde Mountain Country House. We can't fully express our deep gratitude for your business and support. Thank you again for your business. Sincerely, The Zuleika Team Zuleika Country House ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zuleika Country House Hotel Hoedspruit
Zuleika Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing