We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moditlo River Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at Moditlo River Lodge. It is brand new and we are the first. Great accomodation, new and clean. Food is excellent. Chef Mecheel Barnabas prepared exquisite gourmet foods.
The manger Rochelle and her assistant Rina are very nice, very hospitable, accomodating and does everything to please you .Our ranger Pierre is funny and very nice and helpful and knowledgeble.
Some amenities not yet available like TV and phone since it was just opened and in the process. Love this place. The staff is great!!! This is a winner
Ed and Ellen Violago
Pennsylvania

Room Tip: Check if TV and phone had been installed since this is a brand new facility. WE didnt care. It is...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eviolago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
There are newer reviews for Moditlo River Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ziba H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Iacopo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Magartri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gforce69, Owner at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Dora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gforce69, Owner at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hermanholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gforce69, Owner at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Quartos com vista para a natureza, fui surpreendida com uma girafa passando por minha janela durante...
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gforce69, Owner at Moditlo River Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
1.8 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,752 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
404 reviews
5.7 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
612 reviews
5.5 mi away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 104 in Hoedspruit
281 reviews
11.3 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 21 in Hoedspruit
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moditlo River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moditlo River Lodge

Address: | Moditlo Private Game Reserve R40, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: $512 - $687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moditlo River Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 36,000 acres of African bushveld bordering the scenic banks of the Nbesi River, Moditlo Private Game Reserve offers a range of luxurious wildlife encounters and African safari options especially tailored for the discerning traveller. Moditlo River Lodge sits at the heart of the Blue Canyon Conservancy, a stretch of protected land in close proximity to the world-renowned Greater Kruger National Park and is home to an astonishing array of fauna and flora. Named for the gentle beast of the bushveld, Moditlo means 'place of the elephant', and the quiet grace of this extraordinary creature echoes throughout the lodge and its surroundings. Our 16-bedroom lodge was designed to combine the rustic nature of a bushveld retreat with the style and elegance you'd expect of a first rate safari destination. Visitors can look forward to every comfort and convenience, including game drives conducted by passionate, knowledgeable field guides; a full-service restaurant that serves the very best in South African wines and cuisine; as well as al fresco boma barbeques prepared by our talented chefs. Families with kids will be happy to know that we welcome children of 8 years and older. They are allowed on game drives at the manager's discretion. Alternatively, we are happy to arrange a private vehicle for your family's exclusive use at an additional cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Moditlo River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing