We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The New Standard...Phenomenal!”
Review of Camp Jabulani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camp Jabulani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2007

We have recently returned from South Africa and cannot stop raving about our new safari find. Camp Jabulani, near Kruger National Park, seamlessly combined beautifully appointed private suites, fantastic food, perfect service, and incredible wildlife viewing for a phenomenal safari experience.

The suites were very large and absolutely beautiful. The furnishings were of the highest quality and created the perfect retreat at the end of the day. The camp was designed so that every suite feels completely private but you are very close to the main lodge.

We love great food. So, while preparing to visit South Africa, we researched dining options extensively. While in Cape Town, we had the opportunity to dine at three of the Top Ten 2006 Johnnie Walker award-winning restaurants in South Africa. We were completely disappointed with all three restaurants. Upon arriving at Camp Jabulani, we were blown away by the quality of the meals…just superb and exponentially surpassed our experiences at the other “Top Ten” restaurants in South Africa. The meals were beautifully prepared but more importantly…delicious. With no hesitation, these were the best meals of our South African vacation. The executive chef, Rudolf van den Berg, is extremely talented and very friendly too.

As you can see from some of the pictures, the wildlife viewing was terrific. We had the opportunity to get close to animals for great photos. With that being said, there is no need to worry and you will feel completely safe. Also, the elephant back safari was one of the most amazing experiences of our lives.

The staff was amazing. The service was comparable to other luxury 5 star properties…just better. The staff was completely professional but personable as well. There was a complete lack of pretentiousness which can be prevalent at other lodgings of this stature.

We did not want to leave and cannot wait to return to this exquisite property. This is the new standard by which all of our future lodging stays will be compared. With no hesitation, this was the most memorable vacation of our lives. Thank you to the Camp Jabulani staff for creating memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Luxury1Georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 293 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2006

From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave jabulani - everything is perfect!
The accomodation is so luxurious you would find it hard to believe that you are sleeping under canvas.
Our guide Riaan is the most fantastic ranger I have ever had the pleasure in meeting - he done everything in his power to make our stay memorable.
The elephant back safaris are out of this world! and as guests at Jabulani you are allowed an up close (cuddle) with the cheetahs at the nearby cheetah sanctuary.. something the day visitors are not allowed to do! (and we even gor to meet the 11 day old baby elephant called Limpopo!)
I really cannot express how wonderful this place and the staff are, and the food... well girls forget about the diets while you are here as Rudolph the chef is fantastic and his culinary delights are to die for!
FANTASTIC 10/10

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank KarrieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2005

You could not stay at a better lodge. The staff, facilities and ameneties are the very best. We were there for three nights and wish we had arranged for more. Our cabin was overlooking the river bed. The linens are the finest. Everyone from the management to the housekeepers are always there to do nothing but take care of your wishes.

While we were there, the owner was in residence and gave us private tours of the protected areas.

We will definitely be going back. If a 10 star status was awarded, Camp Jabulani would qualify.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Stetzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nanarara2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Duda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mauricio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kei20172017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
4.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
414 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,810 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
#3 of 103 in Hoedspruit
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 103 in Hoedspruit
331 reviews
8.3 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
#5 of 103 in Hoedspruit
167 reviews
5.5 mi away
Moditlo River Lodge
Moditlo River Lodge
#10 of 103 in Hoedspruit
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Jabulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Jabulani

Address: Kapama Game Reserve | Kapama Game Reserve, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: $1,564 - $4,851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Camp Jabulani 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Jabulani, a family-owned private safari lodge, is guaranteed to offer first class accommodation, cuisine, facilities and personalised service. But its most notable feature is the herd of trained African elephants, which were rescued by the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre. Over and above its once-in-a-lifetime close-up and personal elephant interaction experience, guests are also able to join experienced rangers in safari vehicles as they head out in search of The Big 5, and the smaller creatures that are part of an African Safari; visits to the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre or simple relaxation around the camp or in the "Bush Spa". The exclusive Zindoga Villa is ideally suited to family travellers, or the client who prefers a more private, luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camp Jabulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Jabulani Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing