We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good....but actually a bit disappointing.”
Review of Camp Jabulani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Camp Jabulani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We Flew in from Jo'burg for one night to celebrate New Year's Eve, so my daughter could ride an elephant and pet a cheetah. Whist the rooms were decorated/furnished exactly as in the photos, our room 'Lundi' was exceptionally dark. The shrubs around the small deck at the back were very overgrown which meant that very little sunlight actually ever went onto our deck, making the pool ice cold and no where to sunbathe. This was disappointing.

The communal areas of the main lodge are very lovely, as was the service received there.

The food on New Year's Eve was a very big disappointment. A simple buffet dinner was served. Whilst all the food was good quality and well cooked, it was just a very ordinary dinner. I expected and wanted so very much more from Camp Jabulani!

I appreciate we were only there one night but it did feel like they couldn't wait to get rid of us the next day. Indeed they wouldn't even let us finish your lunch, saying they needed to take us to the airport - where we then sat for an hour and a half for our flight to Jo'burg. We were also taken by another ranger! Our ranger said he couldn't take us to the airport as he had to go and collect his next guests!! This is very poor customer service.

Finally I must say the trip to see the cheetahs was the absolute highlight of the trip. This was fabulous!

Overall, would I go back? No. There are better lodged in this high price bracket.

Room Tip: Ask not to stay in Lundi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Fieldview730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 286 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2012

Camp Jabulani is simply unforgettable in every way. Of course, you go for the elephants and the afternoon and night elephant safaris are an experience of a lifetime. As wonderful is the staff, the lodge and rooms, and the thoughtfulness that goes into everything. We saw the Big 5 many times over. We even followed a male lion one night and rhino another as they made their rounds defending their territory. More important we learned so much from our ranger - Calvin - about other animals, plants, birds, and even stars. The spa services provided by Nicolette and Riki are especially delightful on the deck of your incredible suite. An incredible safari experience!

Room Tip: All the suites are equally private and decorated inthe same fashion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adaire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Aside from the beauty and luxury that surround you here, the warmth and friendliness of every staff member makes this our absolute favorite stop in South Africa. The food was the best we had - truly delicious and varied. Our ranger was knowledgeable and articulate teaching us about all of the flora and fauna we encountered and pointing out things that I still can't believe he spotted. Interacting with the elephants was a unique and marvelous experience. Our every need and want was anticipated by the entire staff. This is a very friendly place that is sophisticated and posh but not at all stuffy or intimidating. I can't imagine anyone being anything less than thrilled to spend time there.

Room Tip: I don't believe there is a bad room. We asked to see different rooms and they were all beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights to celebrate my husbands 60th Birthday,what an amazing choice,we were picked up at the airport by our ranger Stefan & then driven to the game reserve on arrival we were greeted by all the staff & made to feel most welcome so much so we were quite overcome.
We were taken to our accommodation which was Wow in every way, beyond expectation....then the fun & excitement began......from our first game drive to our first Elephant back safari which was out of this world,there are not enough words to express our thoughts.
The sundowners thanks to Chantelle were a wonderful experience way beyond expectation we were made to feel so special,she had gone to great length to make the whole experience perfect from the beautiful flower arrangements every night to the drinks & canapés.
Stefan our ranger was great we felt his enthusiasm on every game drive,his knowledge is first class as is his passion for what he does.
The food was excellent but would advise if you have any special dietary requirements to let the camp know prior to your visit so these can be catered for.
We will defiantly be returning,Camp Jabulani will hold a special place in our hearts forever & a life time of memories.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUE L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Luxury can only go so far and with it you need great service. The service and friendliness at Camp Jabulani was impeccable at all times. From the Rangers to the restaurant staff and the room maids everyone was superb. Even the Elephants are on their best behaviour! I stayed two nights with my wife, parents and sister and we all enjoyed ourselves. We seemed to manage to experience the majority of the Rangers - Kyle, Kelvin, Stephan and Dave in the Jeeps and Ian for the Elephant back safari's and all were most friendly and knowledgable as you'd expect. I had two Elephant back Safari's with Foster at the helm and I have to say riding an Elephant is an experience I'll never forget - amazing! All the meals at breakfast, lunch and dinner are worthy of top restaurants, Cheri is one great chef. Although we didn't see all the Big 5 game the stay was fantastic.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

It has been some time, but I will always remember our stay at Camp Jabulani.
Everything was TOP, I don't have enough words to express my experiences. From the pick up at the airport to the departure, was absolutely superb.
It is definitely worth its money, and indeed it is not cheep.
We went in November in 2010 and the weather was luckaly not too warm so we had to ask to light the open fire in the room. That was a unforgettable moment. Romance at its top.
The sundowner drink was also great, we were lucky to be only 4 persons, so everything was just for ourselves.
JUST GO ! You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C-Vision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Was our first safari ever. Went to another supposed five star location afterwards and camp jabulani was by far the best. Rooms were impeccable and lodge area felt like home and with great style and taste. Service and staff were incredible. Very helpful but not over serving. Food was excellent! The elephants and rescue center were a great experience. We saw more animals in other places but the information and privacy made a huge difference in the entire experience. And we were only there for one night. (not by choice since they were already fully booked).

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coastline1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
4.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
410 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,780 reviews
3.0 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
626 reviews
11.6 mi away
Kambaku River Sands
Kambaku River Sands
#5 of 17 in Timbavati Private Nature Reserve
204 reviews
13.6 mi away
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
Senalala Luxury Safari Camp
#1 of 14 in Klaserie Private Game Reserve
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camp Jabulani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Jabulani

Address: Kapama Game Reserve | Kapama Game Reserve, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: $1,439 - $3,368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Camp Jabulani 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp Jabulani, a family-owned private safari lodge, is guaranteed to offer first class accommodation, cuisine, facilities and personalised service. But its most notable feature is the herd of trained African elephants, which were rescued by the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre. Over and above its once-in-a-lifetime close-up and personal elephant interaction experience, guests are also able to join experienced rangers in safari vehicles as they head out in search of The Big 5, and the smaller creatures that are part of an African Safari; visits to the Hoedspruit Endangered Species Centre or simple relaxation around the camp or in the "Bush Spa". The exclusive Zindoga Villa is ideally suited to family travellers, or the client who prefers a more private, luxury experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Camp Jabulani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp Jabulani Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing