We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip of my life!”
Review of Bushriver Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bushriver Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Thanks to the management of Bushriver lodge. We enjoyed the stay, the place has everything! Great service, great location, great wildlife. Relaxing and well equipped. Nice pool. Provides true value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Espen111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessel-Bushriver, General Manager at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (355)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 355 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great place! We had the house by the river which was incredibly beautiful and comfortable. We could see the hippos by the river and use our own private pool. Best of all was Wessell's attention, who at all times, made us feel at home. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VerolauBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy R, Marketing at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Being able to watch the hippos play in the river from one of the verandahs or decks at Bushriver Lodge certainly is a superb experience , and definitely a favourite with all our guests . We are so glad you enjoyed your stay , and hope to see you back soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed January 23, 2014

What an amazing place...much more than we expected! The staff were extremely friendly. The service was great, clean towels every day. Wessel, the manager, was more than a host, he became a friend. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy R, Marketing at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2014

We love it when our guests take the time to comment about their Bushriver Lodge experiences - thank you . We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you, your friends and family back soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

a great place to unwind with the family away from the tv and the hussle and bussle of everyday life. Quiet, beautiful scenery, cosy little pool and deck area. Must remember to pack in binocs and sufficient mozzie repelant as well as some deck chairs to chillax on

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Des S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy R, Marketing at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review . We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to Bushriver Lodge again soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The place is magical . You are close the olifants river where you can see hippos and you can hear them each morning. The manager is very nice and he does the best for your comfort ! The room is very comfortable too.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy R, Marketing at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for your feedback . We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Bushriver Lodge .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Fantastic time at Bushriver Lodge. Wessel was an amazing host and went out of his way to make us feel at home. We stayed in the Marula Camp and it was so much more than we expected. I would recommend Bushriver Lodge to anybody. And we will most definitly be going back!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JGeyser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy R, Marketing at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about Bushriver Lodge . We look forward to welcoming you back soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

If you are looking for something special this is the place.
We had a great stay at the main lodge. Spacious rooms overlooking the river, clean and comfortable.
A relaxing experience. Quite - except for all the animals :-) "talking and singing"... It was great to watch the hippos and crocs in the river below the deck - very close, but in a safe distance.
Then sitting on the deck in the evening after a fantastic "Braai", watching the stars without the pollution from city lights.
We say many animals on a safari-drive, even though this is not a "Big Five" estate.

We'll be back -

Room Tip: 1 floor with a privat balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank touristaugust2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wessel-Bushriver, General Manager at Bushriver Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2014

Thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
8.1 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
273 reviews
20.3 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 22 in Hoedspruit
204 reviews
13.6 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 104 in Hoedspruit
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#3 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,076 reviews
28.1 mi away
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
#28 of 104 in Hoedspruit
328 reviews
13.6 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
#6 of 104 in Hoedspruit
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bushriver Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bushriver Lodge

Address: R40 Mica | Along the Olifants River, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: $79 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bushriver Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bushriver Lodge is a private game lodge situated 25km from Hoedspruit on the banks of the Olifants River in the Limpopo Province. We offer the discerning guest fully catered or self-catering accommodation in luxury units with en-suite bathroom facilities and air-conditioning. Each unit has a fully equipped kitchen and private braai area. For bigger groups we have the Hlatifula main Lodge which can sleep up to 13 guests in 4 private rooms , en suite. Marula Camp is a 4- bedroom rondawel , perfect for families with children . Riverhouse is a private 2-bedroom 2-bathroom house with own pool and deck , and a thatch lapa verandah and braai area . Kingfisher Cottage is a 2 bedroom , 1 bathroom cottage with own patio and braai area , situated close to Riverhouse and can be booked together for larger groups We have 2 swimming pools that provide a chance to cool off during the hot summer days. Main pool is centrally situated and can be accessed by the whole camp, the other is for the private pleasures of the Hlatifula lodge. Being centrally situated, it is the ideal place from which to explore the Kruger National Park and surrounding lowveld. A wide range of activities are offered to ensure that your stay with us remain as memorable as can be. Essentially, Bushriver Safari Lodge is a destination suitable for singles, couples, romantics, families and groups. With its diverse offerings of wildlife, river frontage position, luxury accommodation options and well appointed position for day outings to all the major attractions like the Kruger Park and other places you may want to visit, all makes it a winning destination of choice. Set deep in the heart of the African bushveld, and teaming with wild and bird life of a diverse nature, Bushriver Lodge can offer to you an amazing game viewing experience. Game viewing opportunities are constantly available to ensure that all our visitors get to enjoy the feel of an African safari. If you prefer an adventurous walk in the bush, or prefer to sit back, relax and view the activity of Hippos and Crocodiles in the river, it's all here. The opportunity to join a game drive to see the Big 5 are available. To elaborate on the game viewing options which Bushriver Lodge has to offer: A gentle morning stroll along the river will relax your senses, or for the more energetic, bush walks are always exciting. Game drives provide guests with the opportunity to view the game from an open vehicle. Wildlife photographers paradise. Bird watchers can enjoy the abundance of birds in the natural bush. Combine stargazing and the sounds of the night life of the wild. Game viewing is but one of the specialities which Bushriver Lodge offers as a four star African Game Lodge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bushriver Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing