We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Raptor Retreat Game Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Toro Yaka Bush Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hippo Pools Resort(Hoedspruit)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cajori Hotel(Phalaborwa)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Leitao Lodge(Phalaborwa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (405)
Filter reviews
405 results
Traveler rating
362
36
5
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
362
36
5
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsriver campamarula coffeeself cateringsplash poolluxurious accommodationanimals passingpure luxuryamazing weekendwonderful hostsprivate poolgame lodgecooked mealsbreakfast and dinneropen planout of this worldafrican bushflora and fauna
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
352 - 357 of 405 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2014

Raptor Retreat Lodge offers a true bushveld experience, without compromising on the quality of the accommodation, catering, service or bush drives. The units are modern and stylishly appointed, yet fit perfectly into the bush (there are no fences), with elephant coming right up to the private splash pool. Keith and Sharmaine were excellent hosts and catered to our individual requirements. The meals were simple, but delicious. Keith provided a taylor-made bush drive for our needs and was very knowledgeable and informative. Excellent value for money and highly recommended! Vincent and Veronica Barnard

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Keith and Sharmaine are very wonderful hosts. They do everything to make you feel comfortable and happy. Sharmaine cooks lovely breakfasts and diner and Keith knows a lot about nature which he is sharing with his guests during the gamedrives. It was truely a wonderful stay and experience. If we will come back to SA we centainly come back here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Annemie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

What a special place. From the venue to the operations and personal care our experience was so special. Thank you so much for taking care of the small things within your environment to make it more special for your guests - it really adds value and enhances the experience. Will definetly come back and refer others

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Should you wish to recharge your batteries or simply need to tune into your true North, this is the place to be. All creature comforts are catered for and then some ... The attention to detail in your private space i.e quality of vanity products, superior mattresses, comfortable chairs with ottomans indoors and loungers on your private deck next to your splash pool are just some of the luxuries you can expect. The food is excellent,varied and balanced - again detail to preparation and presentation (thanks Sharmaine)! Keith's energy and love for and of the bush makes for a delightful game drive. We did not see the big 5 but we returned to the lodge with smiles on our faces and stimulated minds. We are already looking forward to our (first of many) return visit in February!

Room Tip: Should you have a mobility problem but are not wheelchair bound, Buffalo Lodge is close to the main lodge and relatively easily accessible.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MartomBelaBela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We had a wonderful time at Raptor Retreat. From the beautiful accommodation to the wonderfully cooked meals, our family had an unforgettable holiday. Thank you so much, we will definitelty be returning !

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CharliePmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews