We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Raptor Retreat Game Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Keith & Charmaine gave us a very warm welcome! The lodge is gorgeous and the room is sooooo perfect. Big room and very clean. All rooms are not close to each other so you get your privacy. Quiet place to relax and to enjoy the view. They made us feel so at home at dinner & b/fast eating together with homemade cooking! They always give their best to every request when it's possible. We will definitely come again. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank NorainSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (366)
There are newer reviews for Raptor Retreat Game Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 366 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at Raptor Retreat Game Lodge and it was over and above what we could have ever expected! The accommodation was beyond 5 star with the most comfortable bed! We were left in peace to just relax! The food was delicious and company of the owners Sharmaine and Keith was very welcoming! We were lucky enough to experience some amazing game drives with some really great animal sightings!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MatthewFritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

The service was excellent, the most beautiful, romantic room, the location was stunning, such awesome company, it felt like home. The food was outstanding and Keith and Sharmaine made us feel like family. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Wonderful intimate resort. Rooms are beautiful & very private. The food spectaculour and service excellent. The highlight for us was the witty and informative game drives by owner and ranger Keith. We were capitvated for the full duration of the drives(3hrs) even when there was no game in sight.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this lodge. Keith & Sharmaine are hard not to like as hosts, and truly went the extra mile to make us feel special. The lodge is small (only two full board and two self catering units) but that creates a pleasant, homely atmosphere. It is nicely tucked away with open entry to Kruger Park, so plenty of animals passing by the lodge itself (we saw buck/ impala/ warthog/ elephant and Wildebeest from the comfort of the viewing deck).

The rooms itself are worth mentioning. Fantastic bathroom facilities with a rain shower, stand alone bath while having open views of the bush. The giant bed has a concrete base, quite special in the middle of the bush. Next to that the rooms are equipped with their own little pools and private viewing decks and are airconditioned with a fully stocked mini bar.

Food was good - home cooked meals by Sharmaine will not make you leave the bush hungry.

The game drive was cool, although we didn't see that many animals Keith kept us entertained with endless stories about trees, plants and the animals we did see.

One small point to note, the lodge is in Hoedspruit in a private reserve. All in all you will need approximately 6-7 hours to get there from Johannesburg, so you will need at least 4-5 days to make it worthwhile. When entering the reserve itself with a normal car you will still need approximately an hour to reach the lodge, but you will have the chance to see game while driving there.

Also, best is to drive via Hazyview and then up to Phalaborwa. The alternative route will take you past a terrible road filled with potholes which can severely damage your car.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBO81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We went to Raptor with my husband, my sisters and their partners (couples' retreat) for a nice weekend getaway. What a wonderful surprise the lodge was. From the min we got there, we were welcomed in song by the staff, making us feel at home already. We were then taken to our rooms, my husband and i stayed at the buffalo room which was absolutely stunning! The bathroom overlooking the beautiful nature landscape, where you wont miss seeing any animals shoud they passby. My sisters and their partners stayed at the self catering 2bedroom lodge which was so beautiful and where we spent most of our time by the deck having our drinks. The food was wholesome and so delicious, Charmaine outdid herself, such a warm soul. Keith the outspoken, crazy fun guy whose game drives were very educational, not just bout the game but the tress as well, learnt so much. thank you for a wonderful experince. Def going back. Will recommend this lodge to anyone who appreciates the finer things in life.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mabatho M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights in the elephant room and absolutely loved it! Keith and Charmaine are both amazing hosts, making you feel at home at all times. The food is fabulous! Keith is well read on all things nature related and game drives with him are entertaining and insightful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your beautiful lodge and will definitely be back someday!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nia123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
2.0 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
264 reviews
24.1 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
404 reviews
8.6 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 104 in Hoedspruit
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#3 of 104 in Hoedspruit
316 reviews
3.9 mi away
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Camp
Naledi Bushcamp and Enkoveni Cam...
#2 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
1,064 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ximongwe Safaris
Ximongwe Safaris
#10 of 21 in Balule Nature Reserve
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raptor Retreat Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raptor Retreat Game Lodge

Address: 39 Parsons Nature Reserve | Kt 155, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: $118 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Raptor Retreat Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Raptor Retreat Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing