We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, value and service”
Review of Hippo Pools Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hippo Pools Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hoedspruit
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfort, value and service”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed two nights in a very well appointed housekeeping unit on site. One night we ordered a meal prepared at the hotel which we optioned to eat in our room. The food arrived hot, plated,
and pleasantly presented. My wife had a vegetarian option and I the schnitzel which was surprisingly good.
The cost of the room and meals were modest given the quality and the hosts Dave and Kelly were most helpful in their advice as to local attractions. The site is perfectly located for a day trip to Kruger National Park which we enjoyed tremendously.
The hippos at the pools are at times highly entertaining. We were delighted when suddenly they all decided en mass to stop sunbathing on the sand bank and charged as a group into the river. The resulting mini tsumami was impressive.
We stayed in off season (end of May) and consequently at this and other locations received excellent rates and uncrowded facilities. There is a huge pool on site along with a games room
with table tennis and a pool table all of which we enjoyed on an almost exclusive basis.
All in all we would recommend this resort to our friends and will return on our next visiy to South Africa.

Room Tip: All rooms are more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louis Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    11
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
10
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was lucky enough to find this little gem for our wedding. What an amazing experiance!!! The chapel looked amazing and all our guests were booked into the rooms. Everyone raved about the placed. Service was brilliant, food amazing but the staff take the cake! A special thanks to David for setting everything up and making the whole wedding experiance so easy and stress free!! Having the hippos on the runway was just the icing on the cake (but i know david arranged it haha)

Room Tip: The main lodge by far is the best for large families but all the river houses are just as amazing! y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamaryn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vevey, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

the staff was very friendly and helped us a lot when we said we had lost our cell phone on our way there, they were nice enough to let us use their phone without even asking for anything in return. the rooms were exactly what was advertised and had all what we could need, the location is very nice and you can see monkeys wandering around.
I would strongly recommend you eat there and try their hake with lemon butter sauce, it's delicious and the staff will do everything to make you have a wonderful dinner. If you eat just beside the pool at night it's magic.
there are a lot of things to do in the area too and the staff will give you all the information you need.

Room Tip: we had a family budget room but we regretted not taking one of the rooms just beside the pool just b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asartoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed for 4 days here and had a wonderful time. Kelly and David are so welcoming and helpful. The first day we arrived we hadn't booked dinner but they rustled up a braai pack and some cool refreshments for us. We stayed at a poolside house and it had everything we needed. The rooms are cleaned every day which is great. The pool is huge and there are plenty of games and a play area for the little ones. Watch out for the monkeys! They are brazen in their attempts to try and get some grub. My husband left a bag of groceries on the ground beside him as he tried to open the door and they had a bag of bread rolls gone in jig time! However, they are very entertaining to watch. Highlight of the stay? Joint winner between a game drive at Thornybush (where David used to work!) where we saw the big 5 and the quad biking with David. And that river at the back- yes there are hippos! David has his cctv camera trained on them and will let you know when they surface. We spent a good half hour sitting on watching 3 females wallowing. We would highly recommend this spot to truly relax and unwind.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in good locations but we loved our poolside location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dublinmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My husband and I had a very pleasant visit to Hippo Pools. The new managers Kelly and Dave offer friendly, professional service in a relaxing atmosphere. We look forward to our next trip planned in December!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BushbabyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to Hippo Pools last august 2012 and had a very nice stay! The environment is beautiful! Green gardens, Bougainvillea, a deep blue pool and very comfortable and clean houses.
We stayed at one of the riverside houses and it was amazing. Very nicely decorated with a stunning view at the river. The braai place is cosily built under the trees near the river. We spent a few memorable evenings there. Hippo Pools is also a good place to make some adventurous excursions. You can go to the Kruger Park, visit Moholoholo rehab centre, take a boat trip....and many more.
We would definitely recommend Hippo Pools to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drieske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
20.6 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,684 reviews
7.8 mi away
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 2 in Balule Nature Reserve
257 reviews
17.1 mi away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#49 of 103 in Hoedspruit
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 103 in Hoedspruit
333 reviews
8.3 mi away
Garonga Safari Camp
Garonga Safari Camp
#1 of 1 in Makalali Private Game Reserve
358 reviews
14.1 mi away
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
#28 of 103 in Hoedspruit
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Pools Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Pools Resort

Property: Hippo Pools Resort
Address: On the R40, 22km North of Hoedspruit, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hippo Pools Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent Olifants river property is ideal for a weekend breakaway where you can even fly in and land on the tarred landing strip located on the Estate. A Must stay property for the bush lover that have a large family and friends that enjoy each others company, African sunsets, birdlife and the luxury of a fully equipped house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hippo Pools Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing