We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Utter bliss at affordable rates”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Isilimela Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Isilimela Lodge
Barberton, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Utter bliss at affordable rates”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

What a little gem! Fantastic and very practical, though stylish accommodation. Miles and Jean are fantastic hosts and the game drive with the coffee and rusks on the lookout point was a bonus. I would really recommend this place if you want to unwind in a place in the midst of the bush without having to forego some of the necessary luxuries.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elize44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nelspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lovely spacious accommodation, chalets privately situated, great braai facilities, shower a generous size, very attentive hosts Jean and Miles who took us out on drives to enjoy nature at a slow pace. We saw jackal, waterbuck, zebra, giraffe, warthog, impala, elephant, buffalo, kudu, baboon, monkeys, wildebeest, identified trees and in particular the star chestnut. Didnt plunge in to the lovely pool, but thats for next time in the summer!! Will be back. Thanks Jean and Miles for the great hospitality and look forward to a bit of start gazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pennyjane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Fantastic accommodation in a private reserve with big five. Miles and Jean are magnificent hosts and you can be guaranteed a special experience. While there we spotted Giraffe, Bushbuck, Impala, Waterbuck, Duiker, Black backed fox, Elephant, Warthog, Kudu, Baboon, Wildebeest and Zebra. In 3 hours of driving. Simply amazing and a definite repeat destination.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Feersumenjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidernod
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

we spent four wonderful days at the lodge. the owners jean and miles were most caring hosts to us and took us out on several
exiting game drives. the self catering chalets are brand new, well eqipped and have a large terrace overlooking the bush.
there is also a large extra deck a few steps from the lodge where a sundowner could be taken while enjoying a stunning view.
since this place is extreely remote you need to do your shopping right before driving down there, at least for a day or two.
we honestly recommend isilimela for a perfect holyday for those who seek peacefulness and relaxation!

Room Tip: any room is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Fantastic chalet with all the necesary appliances etc, decor is definitely a great new take on bush accomodation. Loved the outdoor shower!
Great place to relax and unwind! We enjoyed having Mahala (owners black labrador) pay us a visit every day just to check whether we were still ok.
Would recomend to anyone wanting to take a quiet relaxed break in the bush, in these luxurious self catering chalets.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schnegandsnotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midrand, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

The chalet we stayed had a clever design and was very neat and clean with nice fixtures. Usually self-catering is more 'homely', but this was very luxurious and seemed that a lot of thought had gone into the interior design and decor. The bathroom was absolutely pristine with a very fancy bath and shower and an equally fancy outdoor shower. Water pressure was very good. The kitchen had everything we needed - apart from kitchen scissors, but when I mentioned this to the owners, they dutifully added it to their shopping list and were grateful for the suggestion to include it in the chalet's inventory. We found the owners to be very hospitable and approachable. We went on a few game rides while we there which I definitely recommend. The jackals were gorgeous.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AquaW0man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
8.1 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#5 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Raptor Retreat Game Lodge
Raptor Retreat Game Lodge
#4 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
24.2 mi away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#53 of 100 in Hoedspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maduma Boma Game Conservancy
Maduma Boma Game Conservancy
#21 of 100 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
23.9 mi away
Silonque Bush Estate
Silonque Bush Estate
#3 of 23 in Phalaborwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
13.8 mi away
Nyaleti Lodge
Nyaleti Lodge
#3 of 19 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isilimela Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isilimela Lodge

Property: Isilimela Lodge
Address: Portion 34, Parsons Nature Reserve, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the bushveld and Drakenburg mountains, isiLimela Game Lodge self-catering chalets are located 42 km north of Hoedspruit in the Parsons Nature Reserve, which lies on the northern bank of the mighty Olifants River, and forms part of the 40,000 ha Balule Private Nature Reserve. This small and exclusive self-catering bush camp is ideal for bush lovers to use as a base, to explore the natural beauty of the Panorama Route and the surrounding attractions the area has to offer. Alternatively, just chill out to the sights and sounds of the bush, or do absolutely nothing but stare at the views of the Drakensberg Mountains and bushveld. isiLimela Lodge is situated in the eastern lowveld which has a subtropical climate with hot, wet summers and warm, dry winters. The lodge is owner-managed and the infrastructure is all situated on land owned by the lodge. The owners subscribe to the conservation objectives set out in the Parsons Nature Reserve constitution and have adopted a policy of non-interference with nature, and aspire to live in harmony with nature and minimize their impact on the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Isilimela Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing