We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality hearty food.”

Sleepers Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 28 Restaurants in Hoedspruit
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Sleepers is Located in the old Railway station Building in Hoedspruit. lovely outside seating on the deck under huge Mahogany tree's or have a drink in the cosy railway pub!
Harpenden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good quality hearty food.”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We had visited "Gods Window" in the mountains and were on our way to the Kruger National Park. It was suggested to us that "sleepers" would be a good place to stop for a late lunch.
This we did and were not disappointed. A varied menu was on offer and a board showing selections for the day. Drinks were served quickly and we waited a reasonable amount of time for our food to be served. The food was freshly cooked, looked appetising, tasted good and all 5 of us left a clean plate. A rustic décor with hearty food. We all would go there again if in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    131
    31
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I miss this place sometimes”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

Used to go there for regular meals with friends. Awesome chilled ambience. Good food and prices. Free wifi.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

My family and I have eaten at Sleepers many times and have always enjoyed it. The food is good, the service is good and the atmosphere is pleasant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benschop, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Very good food for a good price!!!! The staff could be better but was ok. The staff can use some European mentality. The food makes it a place were you can come again.

Helpful?
1 Thank PimDouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

4 of us had lunch yesterday. My wife had steak and Guinness pie with mash. It was disgusting, the mash looked like glue and was obviously an instant mash. The pastry top was like a pizza base. After complaining we were not charged. I had hake and chips but regretted it later with terrible stomach problems. Service was very slow although waitress was very good. Compared to other places in Hoedspruit it was poor. I would not recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maja P, Owner at Sleepers Restaurant, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Steve
Thank you so much for your feed back.
We always strive to deliver our best to our customers, and unfortunately you had a terrible experience. we would like to apologize for your poor experience and if there is anything i can do to try and compensate for your experience please let us know

regards
Sleepers Management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sleepers Restaurant also viewed

 
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
 
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Sleepers Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing