We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bona Ntaba Self Catering Tree House Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
NYATI Safari Lodge(Hoedspruit)
$393
$353
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bushriver Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
$85
$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$230
$199
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blyde River Canyon Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
$125
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Swadini A Forever Resort(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
$42
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
$192
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Timbavati Safari Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
$107
$98
SA Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$392
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kuname Lodge(Hoedspruit)
$561
$402
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveler rating
91
14
1
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
14
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor showerwatering holewonderful patioself cateringunique vacationcommunal loungea king size bedwatching the sunsetbush babiesbucket listswimming poolbeds were comfortableshort driveafrican safariopen firewonderful experienceblyde river canyon
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 108 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is it! This is the real deal! The Bona Ntaba treehouses are tucked away in the middle of the Bush surrounded by unique African wildlife next to big 5 game reserves complete with a jaw-dropping view of the beautiful mountain in the distance. Each night my husband and I sat on the front porch of the treehouse watching giraffes, zebras, kudu and impala pass by as the sun set over the mountain. Words can't even describe how majestic the scene that makes you feel as if you are witnessing something very few have ever seen, a hidden gem in the African Bush. Gill and West, who manage the lodge couldn't have been better hosts. West took us on a bush walk one morning and shared with us all kinds of interesting facts about the wildlife from identifying tracks to animal behavior and favorite plants the animals like to eat. Gill made sure we had everything we needed and took care of our reservations and any activities we wanted to do while staying at Bona Ntaba so that once we got to the treehouse we could just relax and take in the quiet beauty of the raw nature all around us. Glory, the housekeeper, cleaned the treehouse for us every morning and made sure the lodge stayed spotless. Sometimes we would get up to cook a big breakfast and she would have all the dishes washed and put away before we could finish eating and I could hear her singing as she worked away, always wearing a smile.

I would recommend Bona Ntaba to anyone who wants the unique experience of feeling as if you're apart of the African wild. Each treehouse is just far enough from each other that even if all three treehouses were occupied, it would still feel very private as if you're camping in the bush on a private safari, but with all the amenities that you would have in the comfort of your own home. Each treehouse has a kettle that will heat water but as this is a self catering lodge you will need to bring your own tea or instant coffee. The lodge, which is a short walking distance from the treehouses has a fully stocked kitchen with a large area to grill-out aka "Braai" as South African's would say. In fact, one night we invited West to join us for a Braai as we laughed, cracked jokes and told stories under the stars. It ended up being one of our best nights during our 2-week stay in Africa. Bona Ntaba is truly a unique experience and Gill and West treated us like family. We will never forget this amazing experience and our stay at Bona Ntaba.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonaNtaba, Owner at Bona Ntaba Self Catering Tree House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! You captured the magic of Bona Ntaba so beautifully in words with this review. We are so happy that felt what we try to create with our tree houses: a personal experience while surrounded by wildlife and tranquil beauty. Please join us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

West and Gill welcomed us to the lodge like we were family. Our treetop lodge was clean and lovely, with an amazing view of the grasslands and distant mountains. We loved sitting out on our porch and watching the sun set. West led us around on many adventures including a hot air balloon ride, a safari in Kruger National Park, and a visit to an animal rescue center. We did not have the supplies to self cater so Jill was willing to feed us and allowed us to spend time with them at their home. We cannot say enough good things about Bona Ntaba. We spent only three days here, but it was definitely the highlight of our honeymoon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 92Kari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Wonderful quite safari lodge inside the bush. Great attention to details, outdoor shower under the stars or early morning sunrise, wonderful african decor, a home away from home.

Sit on your front porch and enjoy sunsets from your own private deck above the tree line. I truly enjoyed my time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uwpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

A rustic, tree house lodge with hosts Greg and Karen Sweeney offered a wonderful African bush experience for our family of two adults and two young teenage girls. The girls felt perfectly safe in the company of the resident bush babies. The squeals of excitement in these newfound creature delights are something I’m sure they will never forget. Concerns for our girls sharing a separate dwelling and experiencing the bushveld for the first time were appeased by our hosts providing radio intercoms between our neighbouring tree houses. Nights were serenaded by a menagerie of sounds from laughing hyenas and wildebeest feeding below to the distant roar of lions. The outdoor showers were an enjoyable feature welcomed after dusty days exploring the bush.

Whilst the lodge is available for self catering, we chose to have our morning and evening meals included. The lodge staff were friendly and helpful going out of their way to make us feel at home. Evening meals around the boma by expert chef and lodge manager Gillian were wonderfully tasty and authentic; prepared with attention to detail and served with pride. After our early morning game drives, hearty breakfasts were served and readied us for the remainder of our action packed days visiting locations in the district where we encountered the big five plus some.

The central lodge building is intimate and the boma and pool setting provide a hub with ambience fitting of the bush surrounds. A mere gaze over the pool in the evenings rewarded us with impala and wildebeest visiting the waterhole. Patience rewarded us with a shy genet cat.

Greg and Karen organized a range of activities both local and further afield which left us with memories to treasure and almost feeling like we needed a rest at the end of our stay. We really enjoyed our stay at Bona Nthaba; the only downside was that it ended all too soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoaringGreenTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonaNtaba, Owner at Bona Ntaba Self Catering Tree House Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. It is a joy for us as well to see our guests experience the African bush and all its magic for the first time. We are glad we could help make this a memorable experience for both of you and your daughters. Hope to see you again at Bona Ntaba

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

We needed two nights accommodation between self catering for a week and on our way to a luxury all inclusive private game reserve. Bona Ntaba hit the spot! We had the camp (3 tree houses) to ourselves. The tree houses are quite far apart so if you want the kids in their own tree house, they should be over the age of about 14 years. There is a loft in the tree house where younger kids can sleep but they need to be about 8 years old to climb the steep ladder.

The kitchen is well equipped and serviced all day long. The pool and boma are great. Views especially from tree house are magnificent. I would guess that midsummer they could get too hot and there is only a fan not air conditioning. I loved hearing the sounds of nature during the night - rutting impala and lion calls but felt completely safe. The outdoor shower is a treat.

We did the boat tour on the Blyde Canyon which was well worth it. The town of Hoedspruit is probably a half an hour easy drive away and is quite well stocked.

The owner, Gregory Sweeney, was on site and was really helpful in all regards.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zakumi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews