We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“South African Bonita Ntaba Treehouse Lodge”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoedspruit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bona Ntaba Self Catering Tree House Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“South African Bonita Ntaba Treehouse Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I spent 10 days in South Africa with hosts and owners of the lodge Karen and Gregory Sweeney. We used the treehouse as a base for the first few days of our photographic safari. Both hosts bent over backwards to accommodate us. The treehouse had all the modern convieninces in a tranquil rustic setting with a beautiful view of the landscape at treetop levels. The food at the lodge was excellent and each night we had at least one South African dish served in a BOMA. Breakfast and lunch was quite often served on the deck with a great variety of homemade food. The staff were pleasant, friendly and accomodating and were a pleasure deal with. I had my own treehouse and it was a wonderful experience. Going to sleep each night with the sounds of the wildlife in the background was special and good for the soul. The Photographic Safari was great! I had experiences that I will probably never be able to duplicate. I would highly recommend the lodge for any occasion and thank the staff for a wonderful time. Gregory Sweeney was a very knowledgeable person who shared experiences and techniques openely without hestitation and he and Karen his wife made you feel at home very quickly.
I would highly recommend the lodge and services to anyone who wants a memorable experience at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: All of the treehouses(4) were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kejione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonaNtaba, Owner at Bona Ntaba Self Catering Tree House Lodge, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Keith, Thank you for your review. We loved having you and the rest of the group for the photo safari. While usually a self - catering lodge, guests can arrange for meals to be served as part of your stay - just like Keith experienced as part of one of our special catered photo safaris. Choose from South African traditional favorites and hearty breakfasts. Our area is well known for its superior wildlife viewing and guests can book game drives or get information about other wildlife attractions in the area. Kruger is 35 minutes away for a self-drive adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
15
32
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed at Bona Ntaba Tree House Lodge as part of a Photo Safari. The Tree House was awesome - the tree house was easy to access by ramp and had a very rustic feel but comfortable with all the necessities. The outdoor shower was amazing with a great view over looking the mountains. The porch of the tree house gave a great view of the sun setting. At night I could hear the roar of the lions in the reserve next door. The main lodge has a great breakfast area by the pool where you can sit outside and watch the animals arrive at the watering hole.

Thank you to Gregory and Karen for a great time and hope to see you again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dks_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzaneen, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had a lovely time at Bona Ntaba, The Tree House was perfect - It has such a lovely rustic vibe and with all the necessities! Not too far from the Kruger Park we spent our days in the park and ended off at the tree-house to watch the beautiful sunset before braaing whilst listening to the lion roar. It was a great experience and we will definitely go back. There are 3 tree houses and a main area to braai and socialise it would be great to go as a full group.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle2504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BonaNtaba, Owner at Bona Ntaba Self Catering Tree House Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. We try hard to present a relaxed bush experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

I thought that the tree house and lodge were both great! The tree house was very comfortable, but wonderfully rustic at the same time. Our porch had its own bush baby house and I was able to see the bush baby one evening, as I relaxed and watched the sunset from our deck. The lodge and fire pit are nice places to gather, and the swimming pool is a lovely addition. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Loved staying in the tree house type room, the view was wonderful and it was fun to be above the trees. Also, it was fun to try the outdoor shower. The main lodge had a wonderful patio area with tables for 10 or so and a fire pit, which was a nice way to end the evening and a deck with a nice view and a small wading pool, which I did not get to try as it was too cool when I was there. Several days we had breakfast on the deck and I really enjoyed that, as well as the dining outside by the fire pit. Very nice place to vacation at, great accommodations.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Bon Ntaba as part of a 15 day photo safari. My wife uses a manual wheelchair an with my assistance we were able to navigate around the compound and stay in the treehouse accommodations. it was a wonderful adventure being above the bush and hearing the lion roar at night. We had beautiful sunset view of the mountain. It was nice having a bath tub with hand held shower for my wife and an exterior shower for myself. We awoke in the morning to encounter all forms of wildlife. The meals were wonderfully prepared and served in the outdoor enclave. Greg and Karen were wonderful hosts. They did everything they could to make the lodge wheelchair friendly and made modifications to accommodate us and their other guests. I would highly recommend this lodge and my wife and I plan to return in the future when our sons get older.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thephotodoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We spent 9 days at Bona Ntaba and they were wonderful days and wonderful nights. There were six of us so we took the entire lodge. There are 3 easy access tree houses (no steps, easy walk up ramps) and a main lodge for dining and relaxing with pool, kitchen, and a perfect braai (South African BBQ) area.

Each tree house has an outdoor shower (put the soap indoors when you are not using it as the monkeys might steal it). From the deck on our tree house we overlooked the surrounding trees and the mountain range off in the distance. At night the sky was lit by the stars. The only sound you would hear was the huffing of the young lion in Thorny Bush (the reserve that is next door to the Guernsey reserve) and the occasional scratches of the bush baby (a cute, small, nocturnal primate) that shared our tree with us.

The lodge is about a 20 minute drive down some dirt roads from the main road. Well maintained and no problem driving on them -- except for the zebras, girafes and wildebeest that sometimes cross the road in front of you. :-)

Very compfortable beds with mosquito neting (that was never used and certainly not needed). Excellant staff took care of all of our needs.

Only drawback (?), no internet service. Missed this the first day, after that, who cared? Cell service was 3 bars.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSchrager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
0.0 mi away
Lion Tree Top Lodge
Lion Tree Top Lodge
#19 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
#27 of 100 in Hoedspruit
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.0 mi away
Isilimela Lodge
Isilimela Lodge
#33 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 100 in Hoedspruit
5.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#53 of 100 in Hoedspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hippo Pools Resort
Hippo Pools Resort
#3 of 3 in Hoedspruit
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bona Ntaba Self Catering Tree House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bona Ntaba Self Catering Tree House Lodge

Property: Bona Ntaba Self Catering Tree House Lodge
Address: Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the ambiance of South Africa in our tranquil self catering lodge on a private game reserve in the heart of game rich Limpopo Province. Solitude and serenity surround you as you watch a spectacular sunset over the mountains.Bona Ntaba Lodge is small and unique with three ensuite tree house chalets and a thatched central lodge with fully equipped kitchen, boma with braai, and a tranquil lounge with a sunset deck.We offer the perfect quiet getaway where you set your own pace: from enjoying the deck all day to an exciting day trip into Kruger. Meals can be arranged - please ask us! Our small size makes it affordable for a group 5 - 8 adults to book the entire camp for an ultra private hideaway. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing