We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The stay at khaya ndvolu was the highlight of our trip....beautiful rooms....amazing hospitality....we are vegetarians and the chef cooked for us one of the most amazing meals...the wonderful candle light dinner setting along the tasty food made this an experience to remember...

Would surely recommend the place to all

Ps for people staying at khaya ndvolu I would recommend that you book an evening game drive in thorny bush

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Pavitra_177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_KNMH123, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Pavitra_177, thank you for your wonderful review, it is always so good to know that we are achieving our purpose of providing our guests with the best Safari experience. When guests show their appreciation as you have, it motivates us greatly. We look forward to meeting you again in the future. All the best - The Khaya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

200 - 206 of 272 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2012

Hi,
We have just returned from South Africa after spending just over a month, travelling the coutryside.
We were fortunate to stay in a number of Lodges , and would count Khaya Ndlovu, as one ot the best we encountered.
From early emails, offering travellers advice, to a very warm farewell by all the staff as they walked us to our car, and waved us goodbye.!! What a beautiful thought.
We were considered part of the large family that come and go from this lodge, and this made us feel special.
Upon our arrival, we were not given the room we had booked, and were a little dissapointed. It was a small room, and in the main building. It did not have a fridge, or outdoor furniture, and after requesting these items, our room was soon to our liking. The staff could not do enough for us. They were very friendly, chatty unlike many of the South Africans, we had met on our travels.
Meals were of the highest standard, and we were given the choice, to sit on a long table and meet other guests, or sit by ourselves, at a seperate table. We chose the sit with others, and had a great time.
The building and grounds were beautiful, and soon after our arrival, we new we had made the right decision to stay here, and not in Kruger National Park.The African decor mad it all so special.
Our first night there, was my 60th Birthday, and staff all got together, to sing happy birthday to me. A bottle of champagne was produced by management, and it was a wonderful closure to a wonderful 60th ,in Africa. All that I had hoped for.
We did take the afternoon game drive to Thornbush, and had a great time.It was very reasonably priced (at least half the price of other game drives, we had been on)
We also visited Kapama Cheetah project and also went on a morning Blyde Canyon cruise, which we highly recommend. The Canyon is the 3rd largest in the world, and worth at least a half day visit. We sighted monkeys, hippos and of course viewed the Kadishi Tufa Waterfall
Shops and restaurants are all very handy to the Lodge, as town is less than 10 minutes away. There is a short drive on a dirt road,to get to the lodge . It is kept in good condition, unlike many dirt roads we had encountered.
We would have loved to stay there longer, but as we were on a budget, we only allocated a 2 night stay.We did class this as one of our splurge stays, and are so glad we did.Prices are not cheap, but not over the top either.Good value for money
We thank the Owner,Management and Staff for allowing us to stay at this beautiful Lodge. We would certainly return to Khaya Ndlovu if we were ever to return to South Africa.
Regards to all. RSA

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLawrie, Owner at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hello Russel

Thank you so much for the wonderful review it is greatly appreciated. We truly do see you as family and would love to see you again. Thank you for being so gracious about the issue with the room and we are so relieved that it worked out. It was so good to be able to share your memorable birthday with you.

Once again thank you so much for the wonderfully candid review I am sure it will assist future guests in deciding on their African experience

All the Best
The team @ Khaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

+ wonderful building and location

+ staff is very open, uncomplicated, welcoming, chatty and just adorable

+ guests are considered as part of the family, dinners are taken all together mixing guests, part of the staff, the owner, friends and neighbors etc, resulting in funny and enjoyable moments

+ excellent food, great wines

+ the right location for spending a good time, with friends and family you didn't even know before your arrival !

+ game drives can be organized on demand both on site as well as in nearby Thornybush. Here again in a very relaxed and uncomplicated manner. CJ and Mike took all the time it needed, gave valuable explanations and were in no hurry with the aim of giving us the best possible experience - thanks guys !


- negative points: hm, don't see any...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claude H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLawrie, Owner at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Hi Claude
Thank you for the wonderful review. We really enjoyed your wife and yourself so much and we all had a lot of fun. We especialy enjoyed your sense of humor. We look forward to seeing you again soon,,,
All the Best

The Team at Khaya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have a 2 year old who is very busy and a demanding 10 year old "Miss"; so to go to a place where my kids were so happy, so at home was spectacular to say the least. We arrived Friday night and my husband and I just wanted to sleep through the entire Saturday. The team at KNMH made sure we were comfortable and they cooked lunch for us oh they asked me what we wanted to eat. The chefs made exactly that and we enjoyed a lovely pasta.

For me I left thinking for Ronel and Mike this is a passion and a calling. They are the most loving people. Their patience is remarkable. I will go back, the weekend was rainy so my little girl suggested we go back there when it is hot.

The place looks better than any pictures. It is just amazing. The food too.

Sleep - they have the best pillows .

Room Tip: We are very private people so we booked the cottage and we will book the same again but the whole pl...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeskyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear BeskyN - thank you so much for your wonderful review. The fact that you enjoyed your stay so much makes us so happy as that is our main purpose in life. Your kids were awesome and we really enjoyed them. We look very forward to your next visit. Our Best Regards, The Khaya Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our Khaya Ndlovu Manor House experience was more than we even dared to dream of: A stately and comfortable Manor. A breathtaking view over pool and african bush to the Little Drakensberg. Good food, good drinks. Perfect Service. Attentive and heartful staff. An open-minded, compentent, generous and humorous management by Ronel and Mike Laurie. On top: a tamed bushbock. We feel deepest gratitude for the opportunity of our unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Christian thank you for your wonderful review, we really enjoyed meeting you and look very forward to seeing you again for a longer stay. please send our best to Kikki and family. Our Very Best Regards, The Khaya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Magnificent scenery and tranquility, and the hosts Ronel and Mike are knowledgable and so caring, open, and really make you feel at home. It truly feels like you are immersed in the African bush, (watch the watering hole from the pool with antelope, giraffe and elephant) but with all luxuries. The staff is always available but unobtrusive and incredibly sweet and helpful.
The house is situated in a lush garden with the most spectacular wildlife : look/listen out for the adorable Golden Oriole! If you are lucky you might see bats drinking from the pool in flight at dusk. It is hilarious to watch the gardener try to reason with the warthogs!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeddaCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for your awesome review - we are so glad you experienced the tranquility we try to encourage among our staff. Summer is here in all its glory bringing with it some awesome bird and animal sightings we really hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a magical place! We booked Khaya Ndlovu for one night as a fill in to fit in with our itinerary and when we got there, the children begged me to cancel our onward flights and stay on for longer! It was such a shame that we were on a tight time frame and could not do so – because my husband and I felt exactly the same way. This is SUCH a lovely hideaway, and one that we will most definitely return to. The photos on the web are lovely, but the reality is so much more incredible.

We really loved everything about Khaya Indlovu. The hosts Ronel and Mike were very friendly and made us feel totally at home. Nkosi looked after our every need and Steve the chef cooked us one of our most amazing meals of our month long South African holiday! All the staff were friendly and all lined up to wish us farewell even though we were only able to stay for just one night.

The house is set in gorgeous gardens with rolling lawns and huge trees that the monkeys chatter and swing through. The house with it’s thatched roof, exposed beams, big fireplaces, beautiful furniture and art pieces, also managed to feel very welcoming and homey. We had the best of both worlds having booked the private 2 bedroom cottage in the gardens, but also had full use of the house, infinity pool (though it was it bit too cool to swim in July) and enjoyed G&Ts on the pool deck watching the animals coming to drink at the water hole as the sun set over the magnificent Drakensburg mountains. This sunset experience overlooking the game and mountains is everything you imagine Africa to be!

We booked the dinner, bed and breakfast package and recommend this for at least one night of your stay. The cottage has all the facilities you need for self catering, with a private bbq area, but we did not get a chance to use this.

What totally captured our 12 and 16 year old children was the rescued bushbuck that wandered through the gardens and the 3 Meerkats that would run up to the house from the water hole in the game reserve below. They were so tame and my daughter in particular spent hours playing with them.

Khaya Indlovu is a wonderful option for someone who would like the African bush experience without being locked into the standard safari lodge 2 daily drive program. At Khaya Indlovu you can relax, watch all sorts of game from your sunlounger on the pool deck as they come to drink at the water hole below - and when the mood takes you, experience ad hoc game drives at Thornybush which is a Big 5 game reserve only 20 minutes drive away.

Ronel, Mike and Nkosi you and the staff are do an amazing job at making your guests feel welcome. I really hope that we can return one day soon and enjoy at least a week relaxing and soaking up the luxe bush experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthJMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLawrie, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Dear PerthJMC,

It was wonderful hosting you and your family - thank you for your wonderful review and YES we look forward to having you for a longer stay soon. In the meanwhile we will keep you updated on all the goings on here in our monthly Newsletter

Our Very Best Regards
The Khaya Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
5.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,754 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
405 reviews
12.4 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 21 in Hoedspruit
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
#5 of 104 in Hoedspruit
139 reviews
2.4 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#3 of 104 in Hoedspruit
317 reviews
14.0 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#11 of 104 in Hoedspruit
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaya Ndlovu Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaya Ndlovu Manor House

Address: R40, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: $235 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaya Ndlovu Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scanning the majestic Northern Drakensberg mountain range, the Khaya Ndlovu Manor House wooden decked terrace offers a sweeping panoramic view, which will leave you breathless! Khaya Ndlovu is situated in the northern corner of the big game Blue Canyon Conservancy, a stone's throw from the Kruger National Park. Khaya Ndlovu Manor House - more than just a "game lodge experience". Luxury is elegantly under stated offering an external and a stylish internal dining area, two lounges with DSTV. Free uncapped Wi-Fi is also available. Five comfortable colonial style bedrooms offer a choice of single or king size beds, all elegantly draped with spacious mosquito nets. Each room overlooks the landscaped garden, which provides a playground for the resident monkeys, abundant squirrels, tortoises and a host of chattering bird species. Whilst the sun sets on a dreamy day, sip on a sundowner chosen from our well stocked bar, before enjoying the four course dinner offered every night. As South Africa is home to a host of different cultures, our trained chefs provide a tempting sampler of the rich assortment of culinary traditions. Special requirements are catered for. Retreat to an intimate haven of relaxation and indulge in one of the many treatments offered by our mini spa. Listen to the sounds of the African bush whilst our trained therapist spoils you rotten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Khaya Ndlovu Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing