We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A piece of Heaven on earth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A piece of Heaven on earth”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Yes, we were already once in heaven if I may say so, we had a 6 days stay with the family which we will never forget. Many thanks for all services we received. Congratulations to your excellent staff. with Kr, Alain Andries

Room Tip: All rooms are perfect... I didn't sleep in the bungalows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alainke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLawrie, Owner at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Alain so good to hear from you!! Thank you for you review it is most appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    36
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
55
140
22
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We have been at Khaya Ndlovu by hazard and we fell home immediately. The atmosphere, the surroundings, the rooms, the food and finally and most important the team was amaizing!
Thanks for a very special time at KN Manor Houe

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeP_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLawrie, Owner at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind reviews. We so enjoyed having you visit and look forward to meeting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

If you are looking for tranquility, luxury, hospitality, good food & an unforgettable experience: this is the place to go. It has everything you can imagine and anything you can dream of. The game viewing was unbelievable and we even got to see a pack of wild dogs hunting! We enjoyed drinks at the pool watching the african sun set and wildlife drink at the watering hole which is a stones throw from the beautiful accommodation.

Room Tip: if you have young children the outside flatlets are definately a winner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoranneDovey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLawrie, Owner at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Norranne it was wonderful having you guys here - I havent laughed as much in such a long time. It really was a trip to remember especially the Game Drive on Thornybush, and the elephants coming to bid us farewell. Your babies are doing great and we will keep you posted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Located on the Blue Canyon Conservancy - with amazing view onto the Drakensberg Mountains with miles of African savanna in between. The personal attention of Nkosi, Ronel and Mike Lawrie make this truly a home from home. Access to the regional attractions of which there are too many to mention is easily organised or undertaken yourself. The perfect luxury but good value base for the region. Highlight for me on both recent visits were the night drives on the nearby big 5 Thornybush Reserve. If you have done the big 5 in 48 hours then this is the ideal base for your next lowveld safari.

Room Tip: Many choices - Ronel will advise you best
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinLeoSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLawrie, Owner at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Kevin it is always such a pleasure to host you and your family thank you so much for your kind review. You always add so much value to our lives and we appreciate it immensely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zug
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Where to start? The location, close to Hoedspruit and yet in the middle of the bush, is unique. You can find the big 4 (no buffalos) in the private game reserve surrounding the manor house. It is a 40 minute drive to Krueger as well as to the Blyde River Canyon, but there are plenty of game drive options and other activities nearby the lodge. This includes great game drives either right outside the manor house or in a private game reserve a short drive away. The lodge feels more like a big, very luxurious family home than a hotel and guests immediately feel like friends visiting friends. The staff is great, everybody is helpful, very friendly and it is their biggest aim to create the perfect holiday experience for their guests. The building itself is a luxurious lodge with only 5 beautiful rooms, an infinity pool with view over a waterhole and the bush to the Drakensberg Mountains. The food is the best that we had on our 3 week trip through south africa. We had 6 unforgetable days in the manor house and already plan our next visit there. The rates are very fair given the quality and service that is provided. The owner of the Manor house created the perfect oasis in the middle of the bush and thankfully opened it up to guests. What his team, Ronel, Mark, Nkosi and their team, created is beyond everything we have experienced before and is very impressive. We might repeat ourselves, but: SIMPLY PERFECT!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLawrie, Owner at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
What can we say what a wonderful review - it makes the extra hours so worth it. Thank you for sharing this absolutely special place with us. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

An experience of a life time, everything is done in excellence; accommodation, food, hospitality, game drives. The hospitality team go out of their way to make sure you will be back soon. The first time we went we were accommodated in the Manor House, ervery room exquisitely decorated to perfection, comfort and style. Our family of four were treated like royalty. It was just a weekend but felt like a holiday.
The second time round my husband and I were accommodated in the cottage, the fresh aroma and tranquility of the thatched roof, the outdoor shower, the huge rooms and bathrooms and luscious green garden is rest for one's soul.
Once again we were treated in excellence and experience the warmth of family, home and bush outings - relaxing around the breakfast table overlooking the infinity pool and water hole, with lots of laughter and enjoyment.
We went home refreshed and our batteries re-charged
Thanks to Ronel and Mike who goes the xtra mile

Room Tip: Manor House - all rooms facing north with huge sliding doors on to the garden - this is a honeymoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kobie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeLawrie, Owner at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Kobie - you guys are so special to us and what a privilege to be able to share this with you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

After the stresses of business I needed a total getaway... a place to hide and refresh. From the website Khaya Ndlovu looked like the right retreat. From the moment our vehicle entered the warm Lowveld atmosphere I started to relax. Upon arrival at the lodge our hosts greeted us like old friends. We were shown to our generous accomodation with beautiful views of the garden and surounding bushveld.
Supper proved to be a culinary delight with an african flavour. We ate like kings and then lolled in massive comfortable couches listening to night sounds on the stoep. The glowing embers, bush smells and cognac transported me into a state of blissfull tranquility.
I remained in this state for the rest of my stay (replacing the cognac with spring water during the day). We saw loads of excitting animal sightings on our game drives, and learnt much about everything from our learned guide.
I think of this trip as my Bush Alchemy as the Khaya Ndlovu charm transformed me from weary and discouraged to revitalised and inspired.
A TRULY SPECIAL PLACE which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RONEL_KNMH123, General Manager at Khaya Ndlovu Manor House, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear Janine,

Thank you for a wonderful review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

we hope to see you back here in the very near future.

Kind Regards

Ronel & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
5.9 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,657 reviews
8.8 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
386 reviews
2.4 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 104 in Hoedspruit
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 104 in Hoedspruit
260 reviews
2.3 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
#7 of 104 in Hoedspruit
116 reviews
12.4 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaya Ndlovu Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaya Ndlovu Manor House

Property: Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Address: R40, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaya Ndlovu Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scanning the majestic Northern Drakensberg mountain range, the Khaya Ndlovu Manor House wooden decked terrace offers a sweeping panoramic view, which will leave you breathless! Khaya Ndlovu is situated in the northern corner of the big game Blue Canyon Conservancy, a stone's throw from the Kruger National Park. Khaya Ndlovu Manor House - more than just a "game lodge experience". Luxury is elegantly under stated offering an external and a stylish internal dining area, two lounges with DSTV. Free uncapped Wi-Fi is also available. Five comfortable colonial style bedrooms offer a choice of single or king size beds, all elegantly draped with spacious mosquito nets. Each room overlooks the landscaped garden, which provides a playground for the resident monkeys, abundant squirrels, tortoises and a host of chattering bird species. Whilst the sun sets on a dreamy day, sip on a sundowner chosen from our well stocked bar, before enjoying the four course dinner offered every night. As South Africa is home to a host of different cultures, our trained chefs provide a tempting sampler of the rich assortment of culinary traditions. Special requirements are catered for. Retreat to an intimate haven of relaxation and indulge in one of the many treatments offered by our mini spa. Listen to the sounds of the African bush whilst our trained therapist spoils you rotten! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Khaya Ndlovu Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing