We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week at Makutsi”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoedspruit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makutsi Safari Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful week at Makutsi”
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We spent a week at Makutsi, and loved every moment. We spent four nights in the main camp, did several game drives and saw lions, giraffes, rhino, zebra, hippos, baboons, a whole range of antelopes - just brilliant.

But Makutsi is more than the wildlife. It is a family run lodge, and the emphasis is on feeling part of the place. The food is fresh, grown on the property and was delicious; the staff are warm and friendly - from the owners to the kitchen and cleaning staff; the guides were knowledgeable and incredibly helpful (thanks Derek, in particular). It is this attention to detail and warm welcome that make Makutsi stand out.

We stayed at the new tented lodge for two nights, and that was definitely the highlight of our stay. We had the chance to walk with rhinos, giraffes and cheetah, and the camp was beautiful. We were overwhelmed with the service and delicious food as well, and loved every moment. This is a must for anyone who goes to Makutsi (though it is only available to guests over 16 years of age).

This is the perfect place to experience Africa - whether you're a couple or a family, and whatever your age. We hope we can return very soon. We had an amazing time.

Room Tip: Family rondevals are available - important because children must be accompanied at all times by adul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cosicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakutsiSafari, Owner at Makutsi Safari Springs, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Finally we have registered and can reply to your lovely comments. Thank you so much for the kind words, and for the handy tips :) It was a pleasure having you here at Makutsi, and maybe one day again :) Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    18
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
35
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Esperance
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

We travelled with our children 7 & 11. So many great things to mention. Firstly the staff were fantastic, we were treated amazingly. Our eldest was very sick on the first night, the ladies organised a trip to the doctor the next morning, VERY greatful!! Thru out the holiday we asked so many questions and changed our itinery it was never a problem. The camp area was well laid out, the pool area was very special, the gardens and lawns very lush. The layout of the accomadation huts was well done, there was enough room between the huts for privacy but the whole area was compact enough to walk to the Lapa and resturant. Each hut had a small terrace to relax after a busy day. The huts, although basic were always clean and linen was changed daily, we enjoyed the relaxed and homely feel of the huts. The huts are powered and have ceiling fans and some have air conditioning. The best thing about the camp area was that there are no fences between the huts and the bush!! When walking around you have to be aware of your surroundings but the instructions the staff give you when arriving are very clear and we felt safe the whole time. The beauty of this is the chance to see animals up close and the chance to feel the freedom of being in the bush. The food was Western with a South African twist, and there was good variety over the week we were there, we got to try some local treats as well, very satisfying. The game drives were magnificent, we went morning, evening and night. The guides were knowledgeable and made us feel like they were sharing all they knew, normally you would have the same guide for most of your drives, this made the expirience more memorable. A week was not enough, there was so much more to expirience, but we crammed so much into our week we left very satisfied. Recommend to all ages, something for everyone, a retired couple we met have been returning for 7 years!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jez73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakutsiSafari, Owner at Makutsi Safari Springs, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi there,

We have finally joined Tripadvisor & are so pleased that we can now contact those people that went to the time & effort to write such great reviews.

Thank you for your lovely words & advise for future travelers, I think you summed up your experience perfectly. For families, couples & solo travelers: Makutsi really does offer something for everyone.

Warm regards & safe travels
The Makutsi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at Makutsi for 2 nights after spending 4 nights in 5 star lodges. Makutsi, with it's friendly staff, beautiful surrounds and awesome game drives won the prize. They has some of the best guides and have some of the most beautiful landscapes we saw. Seeing Arusha with her cubs just topped off the experience. Nice work guys.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakutsiSafari, Owner at Makutsi Safari Springs, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi Lindsay,

We have finally joined Tripadvisor & are so pleased that we can now contact those people that went to the time & effort to write such great reviews.

Thank you, it's always nice to hear such great feedback on our guides & their knowledge. Each of our guides are so different and share their knowledge in different ways.
Next time you visit it will have to be for the regular 6 nights - so you get more time for our Warm Mineral Springs, relax at the hippo hide & more time on the deck overlooking the mountains with your sundowner.

Warm regards & safe travels
The Makutsi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sverige
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We are a family of five who spent one week at Makutsi. The children (aged 18,15 and 12) had a rondavel of their own, but located 10 metres from ours. The atmosphere at Makutsi is really welcoming and relaxed. All personel were very helpful and service-mided in a very nice way. Our children loved the wonderful pool. The food is not luxurious, but delicious and well-prepared in a healthy way. Our 12-year old had never eaten as much vegetables before. The different guides we had for our game-drives and excursions were all very knowledgeable
and made our trips very interesting and enjoyable. All in all, we had a great week.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MsIngegerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakutsiSafari, Owner at Makutsi Safari Springs, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi there,

We have finally joined Tripadvisor & are so pleased that we can now contact those people that went to the time & effort to write such great reviews.

It is always a big compliment from families when they leave & say their children had never eaten so many vegetables before! With our 2 organic vegetable gardens, we have plenty of yummy veggies to keep all the kids and parents happy.

Warm regards & safe travels,
The Makutsi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights and 7 days at the start of our honeymoon and what an amazing experience it was. The game drives were brilliant, with us seeing 4 of the big 5 (the leopard was a little elusive). The rooms were lovely, and the food was fantastic, even if the meals were a little to large for me! It was fantastic to get a taste of home cooked South African cuisine. The guides were superb, especially Rob, who was also the guide on our walking safari and at our tented camp along with the lovely Karen. The day trips were brilliant, and I will never forget the trip to the Tribal Village, with the very funny Paul as our guide. Thank you to Jasmine, Carl and everyone else at Makutsi for giving us an experience we will never forget.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakutsiSafari, Owner at Makutsi Safari Springs, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi there,

We have finally joined Tripadvisor & are so pleased that we can now contact those people that went to the time & effort to write such great reviews.

We would love to thank you for choosing Makutsi for your Honeymoon. We were so pleased to be a part of your new beginning. Everyone you mention is still here & keeping all the guests happy.
You will have to visit again one day in search of that elusive leopard!

Warm regards & safe travels
The Makutsi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed for 6 nights and 7 memorable days. We highly recommend Makutsi to everyone who wants to experience a snapshot of South Africa. Our safaris were action packed, thanks to our guides. The day trips to the Blyde Canyon and Kruger National Park were fanstastic. The food was very tasting home cooked meals with a South African flavour and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our accomdation and basic but very clean and spacious. Our holiday at Makutsi was very memorable, We love, love, love Makutsi!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Buffy170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakutsiSafari, Owner at Makutsi Safari Springs, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi there,

We have finally joined Tripadvisor & are so pleased that we can now contact those people that went to the time & effort to write such great reviews.

Thank you for sharing your wildlife photos on the Makutsi Tripadvisor page, this always helps future travelers picture what it will be like here.
As you say, Makutsi is a great way to experience the highlights of South Africa - with the Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon, the Tribal area experience & of course the African wildlife on safari!

Warm regards & safe Travels,
The Makutsi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed for 7 nights with our 2 teenage boys, we had a great rondavel with seperate bathroom for the boys. This was very cold, during the day, but was charmingly rustic , well appointed and had everything you needed.
The caring attitude of ALL staff is what makes this place special, It is not luxury, but it's relaxed and home away from home atmosphere and personal care is great!
The guides are passionate about there role and want everyone to get the most out of the game drives. But mostly it is just the luck of the day, and you never really know what you are going to see ...this all adds to the thrill of adventure!! Don't think when you come here that you will definetly see the BIG 5 , on every drive, or maybe all 5 full stop, but we had plenty of VERY close and fantastic encounters!! The full day to Kruger was a highlight of the trip and the village tour was another excellent experience thanks to Paul.
We booked the Maholoholo rehabilataion tour, while Brian the owner gave an entertaining and enlightening talk, that gave us much to ponder in regard to the future of wildlife in SA. I would'nt say this is a must do, it was still really just a zoo (but with a purpose).
The breakfasts at Makutsi were great and while lunch was an extra cost, you didn't really need it anyway! Dinners were a fairly basic affair, but adequate home cooked meals. It was nice to try Impala and warthog, both tasty.
Makutsi had just expanded their options with the purchase , not yet possesion, of another camp, neighbouring theirs, this is tented and would be great for walking safaris. I think this would be perfect for a few nights,in the middle of a stay. We will be recommending this to friends , as a fantastic 3 star experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4Kiwisontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakutsiSafari, Owner at Makutsi Safari Springs, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Hi there,

We have finally joined Tripadvisor & are so pleased that we can now contact those people that went to the time & effort to write such great reviews.

Thank you for lovely personal feedback, I think you almost covered everything! We also pride ourselves in making guests feel at home in a relaxed environment. Because everyone is here 6 nights or more it easier to build friendships & really settle into your holiday.

You are absolutely correct when you say we cannot guarantee the big 5 - of course we will do our best to find all the wildlife while you are here. But at the end of the day, a little bit of luck goes a long way. You can never do too many Safaris as you never know what you might get to see.

Warm regards & safe travels,
The Makutsi Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
1.4 mi away
Kuname Lodge
Kuname Lodge
#5 of 104 in Hoedspruit
251 reviews
26.9 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 104 in Hoedspruit
295 reviews
40.4 mi away
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
#17 of 104 in Hoedspruit
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#15 of 104 in Hoedspruit
321 reviews
14.3 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#6 of 104 in Hoedspruit
331 reviews
26.2 mi away
Nyaleti Lodge
Nyaleti Lodge
#3 of 19 in Hoedspruit
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makutsi Safari Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makutsi Safari Springs

Property: Makutsi Safari Springs
Address: PO Box 821, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run for over 30 years, Makutsi Safari Springs offers affordable 1-week packages including return airport transfers, private accommodation, 2 meals per day, open Land Rover game drives and excursions into the surrounding areas. Makutsi Main Camp's two warm, thermal mineral water pools allow for adventure and healthy relaxation to be combined. With our new Makutsi Tented Camp, we are able to offer a unique mix of comfort and adventure on foot. Unpack, unwind and enjoy Makutsi's diverse African experiences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makutsi Safari Springs Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing