We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your own private game park”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hoedspruit
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Makutsi Safari Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2011

Just a beautiful place to visit. Friendly atmosphere in beautiful surroundings. No flashy facade. So many options to choose from - 1 week may not be enough! Lovely people great atmosphere. Do as much or as little as you like. Staff are there to help you experience Africa. We spent 45min among a herd of 20 resting elephants some less than 1m away. We also stayed for New Years and we had dinner in the bush under the night sky. The Blyde River Canon is a must see.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MABris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (135)
There are newer reviews for Makutsi Safari Springs
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 135 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2011

On arrival at Makutsi you were made to fell as though you were part of the family.Being welcomed so warmly was amazing after a long trip.The staff were fantastic and nothing to much trouble.The staff are so organised and all the excursions were great value.One of the best things is to be able to wander about the grounds during the day or just sit and watch the wildlife come and go.In the evening after dinner sit at the lapa and watch the elephants wandering past. Rolfe took us on our morning and afternoon game drives and as well as being great at spotting wildlife he is a wealth of knowledge.There is so much wildlife to be seen, and you can get so close.The food is exciting and changes daily.Nothing is to much trouble at Makutsi.One evening 3 lions came into the camp and decided to sit around for a couple of hours.The staff made sure that everyone who was still at the lapa was taken in the jeep to see the lions.If you go to Makutsi make sure that you go on the Cheetah tracking tour,what an amazing experience you get so close to these magnificent animals and is something we will never forget.I can't recommend Makutsi and the staff enough.Great value.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2010

We had a fantastic time at Makutsi. All the staff are really friendly, and it just seemed no trouble for everyone to look after us. Our guides were great, and the included trips are excellent. Blyde River Canyon must be one of S.A.'s best kept secrets! The Makutsi pool is large and lovely. We stayed an extra day, and some guests had been there up to 5 weeks. It is easy to see why. A special place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank go_to_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed at Makutsi for 14 days together with my family and some friends.

We really enjoyed our stay there. It is really a special place. The atmosphere is very friendly, family-like. You just have to feel at home.

We liked the dinner in the evenings, 3-course, with salads or soup as a starter followed by the main meal, very well tasting, for the hungry: you always get a second go if you wish...wasn't necessary for me...I always had enough. Little dessert at the end.

Breakfast was very nice, sitting on the lawn, just outside the actual restaurant. We felt like in "Out of Africa"...

The family-owners, the employees, our guides on the tours... they all were so nice. We did learn a lot from the guides not only about the animals but also about the culture and the developments that have taken part in South Africa and still need to go on...

The Safaris we did were just great. We liked the Simba, starting at 3pm and ending 8 pm with a Sundowner and Snack inbetween in the Game Reserve. Also the Hatari-Safari-Day was just wonderful. So relaxing and also so exciting while doing the tour through the Game Reserve. Thanks Ralf!

For an extra tour we booked the day at the Krüger NP directly with Makutsi and we did not regret it. It was another great tour. Thanks Jesco!

Well, I can only recommend Makutsi to everybody.

But if you come in the wintertime there, which is June - August really make sure to take warm cloths with you. We had around 20 degree during daytime but also one day 30 degree. We had sun sun sun the whole 14 days and very very very cold evenings and nights. Therefore you def. need the warm stuff. Also take hat and scarf with you for the tours starting early in the moring...the Rhino in an open jeep, starting at 6 am. Thanks Nathalie for guiding us there!

We were 3 parties and therefore had 3 diff. Rondavels. Ours was one of the old ones. Actually we felt quite comf., especially the bed were very good and - thankfully - really very warm. But the bathroom would need some updating...but this is going on at Makutsi anyhow and already many of the Rondavels are having a more modern standard.

Makutsi to us really was an wonderful experience and I am sure we will come back to this beautiful and so amazing interesting place.

We loved the Lapa and sitting around the fire...yes...always the last ones to go...Thanks Kim!

The mobiles are all working at the Lapa...so no worries about this connection to the outside world... Computer-room for the guests is built right now...

...and not to forget the really big pool, which was very nice for our children...

...still dreaming of watching the milky way in the nighttime...cannot see it here at home since years...great to have such a scenery in the nature...

Thanks Makutsi!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Wicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MakutsiSafari, Owner at Makutsi Safari Springs, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Hi there,

We have finally joined Tripadvisor & are so pleased that we can now contact those people that went to the time & effort to write such great reviews.

Even though it has taken us 3 years to write back to you we are truly grateful for your in-depth feedback. It also looks like you have helped other guests with the notes you have written.

One thing that hasn't changed are the stars! When the moon is small you still get a stunning view of the milky way from the Lapa.
Over the years we have renovated all of our older style rondavels, but we have kept the cosy rustic feel of the rooms.
Winter time (June to August) is still nice & cold here, in the early mornings and nights you will need a nice warm jacket. It is important to bring the right things along ie; beanie & gloves and warm pyjamas as there is no heating in the rooms.One suggestion we always make is to wear layers, by 10 am the day is really starting to warm up!

Thank you for sharing the photos of the camp & wildlife from your trip.

Warm regards & we look forward to welcoming you back one day,
The Makutsi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
1  Thank Doc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank NicoleFresserchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makutsi_Springs, Owner at Makutsi Safari Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank Karlheinz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makutsi_Springs, Owner at Makutsi Safari Springs, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
35.1 mi away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 104 in Hoedspruit
281 reviews
26.9 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 104 in Hoedspruit
316 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kuname Lodge
Kuname Lodge
#6 of 104 in Hoedspruit
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 104 in Hoedspruit
352 reviews
3.4 mi away
Karongwe River Lodge
Karongwe River Lodge
#1 of 3 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
315 reviews
27.5 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 21 in Hoedspruit
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makutsi Safari Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makutsi Safari Springs

Address: PO Box 821, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run for over 30 years, Makutsi Safari Springs offers affordable 1-week packages including return airport transfers, private accommodation, 2 meals per day, open Land Rover game drives and excursions into the surrounding areas. Makutsi Main Camp's two warm, thermal mineral water pools allow for adventure and healthy relaxation to be combined. With our new Makutsi Tented Camp, we are able to offer a unique mix of comfort and adventure on foot. Unpack, unwind and enjoy Makutsi's diverse African experiences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Makutsi Safari Springs Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing