We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2014

After reading all the glowing reviews on here I was a bit nervous that Vuyani could never live up to my high expectations - I was wrong, it exceeded them! The service & warmth of the staff is evident as soon as you arrive and continued throughout the whole stay. Every single member of staff was incredibly friendly and always keen to make sure we had everything we needed. The lodge itself is incredibly well presented & our room (the honeymoon sweet - which has it's own private decking with jacuzzi overlooking the bush) was easily the most luxurious room we've ever stayed in! All the guides who take you out on game drives have an unbelievable depth of knowledge about the animals, vegetation & birds so as well as seeing amazing things you also get to learn lots too. They are also very passionate & do a fantastic job tracking animals to make sure you see as much as possible. We were thrilled with all the animals we saw but it is worth saying that game drives vary massively - some days you'll go out & see rhino, cheetah & a herd of elephants (!!), other days might be very quiet. But, that's what you should expect - these are wild animals afterall! But, I think the quieter drives serve to show you the immense skill & patience it takes for the guides to track the animals & also makes it so much more exciting when you do spot your first lion or elephant etc! We ate like Kings & Queens during our stay - the food was always delicious & such a variety too. Another thing we loved about Vuyani is the small family atmosphere. There are only 14 guests staying at a time which means you get to know people really well, which added hugely to the enjoyment of our stay. We went to Kruger for the day while we were there & would highly recommend it. If you are looking for a safari then look no further - go to Vuyani! 

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4Natalie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles C, Manager at The Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Natalie,

Many thanks for your amazing review. What a pleasure to hear that we exceeded your expectations, especially as they were very high.

We are indeed blessed with a stunning reserve, with lots of animals, so I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the safaris with the ranger and tracker.

I would say that one of the many special aspects about this lodge is the intimate atmosphere, so that makes for lots of relaxation and also meeting new people with lots of new friendships.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you here again some time in the future!

Kind regards,

Gilles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

328 - 334 of 491 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had the most wonderful time, exceeding all our expectations. A special thanks to Themba, Mike and Uyai who suffered a myriad of questions from us and worked so very hard to ensure we got to see as much wildlife as possible. Memories to last a lifetime.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CHGettinby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilles C, Manager at The Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Many thanks for your positive review. We are overjoyed to hear that you enjoyed going out on safari with Mike, Themba and Uyai. They had a great time showing you the hundreds of species that call our reserve home.

We would love to welcome you here again, it would be all our pleasure!

Kind regards,

Gilles

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Fabulous lodge in secure private grounds. Craig is the lodge manager and is extremely experienced with wildlife and the local people. His staff cook and serve you with a smile and the rooms are of a high standard with local art decorating the walls. No expense spared when this lodge was upgraded by the owners. The game drives are fantastic - early morning at 5am and evening - searching for the pride of lions and Rhinos - we were so lucky to be feet away from the Lions - it was amazing and our drivers/hunters were exceptional. Jonathan and JZ really put every effort to track the main 5 and stop on the way for anything interesting - amazing.

Room Tip: we stayed inside the lodge and preferred it to the outside lodge cabins in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at The Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Debbie,

Many thanks for the excellent and detailed review you have left for us. Great news!

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the safaris, and that you got so close to the lions. Great experience indeed!

By the way, the lodge wasn't upgraded by the owners, but built about 5 and a half years ago from scratch, so that's why the quality of the rooms and the decor is very high. Only the best materials were chosen, and the best craftsmen used.

Please visit us again, you are always welcome!

Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

This place is fantastic. We had the best safari experience here. Not only is it a great luxury lodge, but they have a wonderful chef, great food, and great guides for your twice daily safaris! We loved our room, we loved the game drives, we loved the meals, and we loved the staff! The private game reserve it is in provides an intimate and close up game experience. We also purchased a day in Kruger National Park, which is much larger and provides a different experience. Together, both game drives provide just about everything you would want.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms - 10 people max at any one time!!!! We stayed in one of the rooms in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azhmsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at The Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Many thanks for the super positive review! I am so happy that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay here with us: safaris, rooms, food, as well as the staff. And indeed, Kruger Park trips and private game reserve safaris are very different, and we recommend to do both here. Both types of safari outings are unique.

We hope to being able to welcome here some time again!

Kind regards,

Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is an amazing place, run by amazing people, ALL of whom go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure the education, fun, comfort and safety of the guests. If they'd let me wash dishes for a living I'd move there. It's that awesome.

The Lodge is situated in a ginormous sub-division, the top part of which has something like around 400 2 acre lots, and the bottom of which is Moditlo Game Preserve. I seem to recall some review complaining about the lot lines and electric boxes, so I wanted to explain that up front. It's initially a little confusing but does nothing to detract from the experience of the place. The lodge itself is beautiful, and the rooms are palatial and perfectly appointed. I swear they employ an angel to come to the room 4 or 5 times a day and tidy up, you will want for nothing.

Your game drives cover the entire preserve, and it is huge. The drivers and tracker (we miss you, Oyai!!!) are amazing (have I used that word too many times already?), and the place abounds with animals. I'd strongly suggest that anyone visiting also do the Kruger excursion- it's a long day but you are so close and you will see a few things you can't see on the Lodge drives, like water buffalo which they can't keep at the preserve.

The food and drinks are spectacular, and the service is second to none. Meals are most often served communally although I think we did have one or two nights of more private dinners. I suspect you could ask to eat alone if you wanted, but talking with the other guests was generally super fun.

If there was any advice I'd give someone considering this trip, it is this: Manage your expectations.

You are not going to a zoo. There were drives where we spent a great deal of time tracking animals we would not see until the next drive or the next after that. We never saw a leopard, for example, but it certainly wasn't for lack of trying. They're elusive animals. You'll see some, you won't see others. We saw plenty and were thrilled with the opportunity to learn so much about what we did see and so much about the kind people who took care of us.

Ask questions. No one can know what you want unless you tell them; these fabulous people are not mind readers. If you need something, say so, and it almost always magically appear. These are THE most gracious people ever. Gracious means that they will be sensitive to YOUR needs. If they perceive you want quiet, they'll be quiet. So speak up and be part of the experience. My husband's suitcase took a side trip to Namibia (Kim, I have now learned how to pronounce it!) and Justine and Kim were dogged in their efforts to retrieve it from a very reluctant British Airways. Mike and Andre were most patient in taking us shopping. Everyone was unbelievably kind and understanding. Oh, and did I say that the food is to die for? You will NEVER be hungry! And Max, who escorts you to and from your room in the mornings and evenings, is THE most patient man with its-5am-I-can't-even-begin-to-talk-is-there-coffee tourists in the world.

There are not enough words in the English language to express how wonderful this place is, and how much of that has to do with the incredible efforts of the people who run it. Thank you to everyone from the bottom of our hearts for making this THE best trip we have ever, ever had. We miss all of you and thank you more than we can say.

Allison and Ray

Room Tip: We didn't see the lodge rooms but the suites are huge and uber comfortable. I didn't post p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank allisonwilcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at The Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear Allison,

Many thanks for your positive (well, uber-positive, really) review! I really loved to read your impression of what safaris on our large reserve are like. Indeed this is not a zoo, but real nature, and that's what the charm of this place is all about. It is such a pleasure to hear that the countless efforts of the team don't go unnoticed. We are trying to be one of the most welcoming and accommodating lodges in South Africa, and I think this comes across. But then again the beauty of the surroundings is so overwhelming and peaceful that only good things can happen. Good Karma I suppose ...

Many thanks for your invitation to Texas, I'd love to take you up on it, and visit you there. It would be my utmost pleasure. I'll let you know!

Kind regards,

Bernard

PS: you are welcome at the lodge any time you feel like getting away from all the crazy people!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

The whole team made our experience a wonderful one - Mike and AJ our game drivers with their knowledge and experience made our game drives special - tracking sometimes for quite a while but after all the effort, success the lions. The team at the lodge made our stay so special with a welcome party on arrival from Craig, Jusinte, Stephanie and after each game drive we were greeted back at the lodge on arrival with wet towels and a drink. We met some wonderful people form all walks of life and countries and all dining together really got to know each all enjoying the experience together. The evening in the boma (an open enclosure with a big fire pit) was an amazing experience dining out under the stars being served wonderful food created by the team and served to us by the team. We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary while on our trip and the team took the time to make our day so special, game drives viewing White Rhino, honey badger, impala, dyaks, giraffes, zebra, baby mongoose, 3 lions Sundowners by the watering hole, star gazing (saw my first satellite circling earth). On our return to the lodge our evening meal was a surprise with a table set out for us up on the viewing platform with personal service and a wonderful meal prepared by Stephanie and Janus - on retuning to our room Craig had decorated our room and bed with flowers and left a bottle of champagne for us to enjoy - we went back and shared this with the others. A wonderful anniversary, a wonderful trip, great experience and a faultless lodge. ...Thank you all

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vandepm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at The Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Many thanks for your brilliant and detailed review. What a pleasure to read how much you enjoyed the safaris game drives, the food, the lodge & team as well as meeting people from all over the world. It was our pleasure making your 10th wedding anniversary a special day. Seeing lions that day, followed by a romantic private dinner: Priceless!

We would love to welcome you here again, any time!

Kind regards,

Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Vuyani Lodge is very special with excellent guest service from all the staff who make it very personal. The game drives were amazing, very educational and a big adrenaline rush. A big thanks to Jay-Dee and Jesse for making them so exciting and unforgettable.
The Lodge is clean and comfortable with a very cosy atmosphere and beautiful views from the pool and decking area of the Drakensberg Mountains. The food is outstanding and presented very well, you would never go hungry or thirsty! We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this wonderful Lodge and we will definitely be visiting again.
Thank you to all the staff for being so fantastic.
Mick, Jan & Lauren.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at The Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Jan,

Many thanks for your positive review, that's much appreciated. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the game drives, the food, the lodge, as well as the team. We can't wait to host you again here, please let me know as and when, and I shall arrange for everything.

Kind regards from South Africa,

Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
2.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
410 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#3 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,780 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Kapama Southern Camp
Kapama Southern Camp
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
626 reviews
6.5 mi away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 104 in Hoedspruit
286 reviews
1.7 mi away
Moditlo River Lodge
Moditlo River Lodge
#11 of 104 in Hoedspruit
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vuyani Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vuyani Safari Lodge

Address: | Moditlo Private Game Reserve, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: $406 - $653 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Vuyani Safari Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vuyani Safari Lodge is located on the Moditlo Private Game Reserve within the Blue Canyon Conservancy which is more than 36,000 acres in size. Located next to the Kruger National Park, at the foot of the Drakensberg mountain range, Vuyani Safari Lodge is one of South Africa's premier luxury safari lodges, in the country's most famous area for African wildlife. The Vuyani Safari Lodge is one of only 3 lodges on this reserve, and with only 10 suites, it offers one of the most exclusive African safari experiences in South Africa. The reserve offers a unique opportunity to observe all of Africa's large game such as the lion, leopard, rhino, elephant, hippo and crocodile as well as some of the very rarest species, amongst others the wild dog, the brown hyena, the ground hornbill, cheetahs and several other highly endangered animals. Almost 400 various species of birds have been counted. Some of the rarest European migratory birds visit the reserve in the European winter months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Vuyani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vuyani Safari Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing