We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best weeks of our lives!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Vuyani Lodge is very special with excellent guest service from all the staff who make it very personal. The game drives were amazing, very educational and a big adrenaline rush. A big thanks to Jay-Dee and Jesse for making them so exciting and unforgettable.
The Lodge is clean and comfortable with a very cosy atmosphere and beautiful views from the pool and decking area of the Drakensberg Mountains. The food is outstanding and presented very well, you would never go hungry or thirsty! We wouldn't hesitate in recommending this wonderful Lodge and we will definitely be visiting again.
Thank you to all the staff for being so fantastic.
Mick, Jan & Lauren.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at The Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Jan,

Many thanks for your positive review, that's much appreciated. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed the game drives, the food, the lodge, as well as the team. We can't wait to host you again here, please let me know as and when, and I shall arrange for everything.

Kind regards from South Africa,

Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (485)
There are newer reviews for The Vuyani Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 485 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

Our stay at Vuyani Safari Lodge was an amazing experience. The lodge itself is well-kept, lovely and comfortable. The staff are outstanding. The rangers and tracker worked hard to find the animals for us to see and in addition, they are educational and entertaining. We saw all the Big 5 although we saw the water buffalo in Kruger and on the drive to Hoedspruit.

I would recommend a longer stay if possible to see more animals. Some days are better than others for animal movement in spite of all the staff effort. (This isn't a zoo.) We stayed 7 days and that was perfect although my husband is ready to go back now.

The rest of the staff are very accommodating and friendly, too, from management to cleaning/maintenance staff. Our drivers were helpful and informative. The chefs and cooks prepare varied and delicious cuisine to suit any palette and accommodate any restriction. We were impressed with the professionalism and kindness of all.

We also enjoyed our fellow guests enormously. Because Vuyani is small-- 7 rooms--it's very intimate and friendships develop quickly.

This was definitely an experience of a lifetime. Thank you, Vuyani.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main lodge. Room 2 has access to its own deck with a view. For safety reasons gues...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LC9653
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at The Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Hi,

Many thanks for leaving us such a glowingly positive review! I am more than pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our little lodge, and that you liked both the services at the lodge, the team and the safaris on our reserve. And of course it would be our utmost pleasure to welcome you here any time soon again amongst us here at the Vuyani Safari Lodge.

Kind regards from South Africa,

Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I read every review on Vuyani before we went and it surely did not disappoint!
Andre picked us up from our hotel in Joburg and by the end of our 6 hour drive we were so full of knowledge and already felt as though we were old friends, he was wonderful.

We stayed in one of the 3 rooms located directly in the Lodge itself. We had no problem with this as it was very convenient. We spoke with other guests who stayed in the Honeymoon and River Suites as well, and everyone was very happy with their accommodations...I don't think you can go wrong with any choice!

My boyfriend is vegan and the chefs were able to accommodate this for us. Stephanie and Janus went out of their way to make sure he had plenty to eat at every meal, including his own special sides and desserts. One evening, we mentioned that the reason for our trip was my 30th birthday and the next night dessert was a beautiful homemade cake from Stephanie, it was extremely sweet of her! A very memorable moment of out trip :)

We took three of the excursions during our stay and I would highly recommend all of them. A day trip to Kruger, The Elephant Whispers and The Panorama Tour.

The game drives were fantastic and made even better by the quality of the Rangers on staff. Jesse, Mike, Uyai and Jay Dee were fabulous, they made every drive unique and fun. Their knowledge was incredible. There was not a question we had that they could not answer.

All of the staff at Vuyani worked so hard to make our stay a very pleasant experience and they exceeded beyond measure. Kim, Gerdine, and Justine became friends we didn't want to say goodbye to! We would love to come back someday. I would highly recommend Vuyani Lodge.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at The Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Meg,

Many thanks for your positive review and detailed account of your stay here at the Vuyani Safari Lodge. I am so pleased you had a good time here, that your boyfriend enjoyed the vegan dishes that Stephanie and Janus prepared, they always try their very best, as does the rest of the team as well.

It is always a joy to hear that our guests leave as friends, because that's what this place is all about: introduce new friends to one of the most interesting and beautiful nature spots in the world. Welcome to the Vuyani family!

Kind regards,

Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We went to Vuyani on the first part of our honeymoon and stayed in one of the two honeymoon lodges. From the warm welcome at the airport by Craig through to the friendly staff, fantastic food and excellent facilities we were not disappointed. A special mention to Jay Dee who absolutely made our trip with his fun and interesting game drives. The lodge is set on a reserve which means you see lions and rhinos up close. Have to congratulate the team and thank them for making our honeymoon so special. Would highly recommend this place.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank AliJ2958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at The Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Dear Alison,

Many thanks for your lovely review, that's really nice!

I am super happy to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon here and that the team and Jay-Dee managed to make this an unforgettable time for both of you.

It would be a huge pleasure to welcome you here again in the future, any time. Please let me know as and when, and I will take care of everything.

Kind regards,

Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Vulani exceeded our expectations with a great helpful staff and well managed game reserve. It is so much larger than I expected and game was in abundance. It was a African version of S. Africa. Our excursions off the reserve were handled well for us and were great as well. The guides were unbeatable and their tracking abilities were super human. Their good nature and helpfulness made our trip unforgettable. Above all we brought our 13 year old grand daughter and felt safe even leaving her at the lodge when we went on game drives.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at The Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Lorrie,

I am so pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. What a pleasure to hear that you liked the abundance of wildlife, and that you felt safe at all times. I hope your grand-daughter also had a grand time here.

We would love to host you here again in the future, it would be our pleasure! Please let me know, and I shall arrange for all bookings and other travel arrangements.

Kind regards,

Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Please place Vuyani at the top of your list. As a family of 9 traveling together, the Vuyani staff went out of their way to accommodate us during a very busy travel time. Our group members stayed in each of the room types (lodge, river lodge and suites), and each had its own charm. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming - each day was both relaxed yet adventurous. The added benefit for us was the ability to get to know the other visitors while dining on exquisite creations by the food staff. Mike, our guide, was incredibly knowledgable and fun - he made the game drives exciting and safe - which was very appreciated. Gerdine couldn't have been more helpful in planning other excursions and the welcoming atmosphere made everyone feel right at home. Many, many thanks to you all for an incredible experience.

Room Tip: Each room had its own charm. Being in the lodge meant you didn't need to be escorted to your ro...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at The Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2014

Dear Shawn,

Many thanks for leaving us a very positive review. I am delighted that the entire group liked their stay, and that they enjoyed the lodge, the food as well as the safaris. Mike would love to host you here again as ranger, as there is so much to see here.

Many thanks again, and hopefully we will see you here again in the future!

Kind regards,

Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

If you are considering a safari experience, I suggest looking no further. Not only will your safari experience be an unforgettable one thanks to the incredible guides and the wonderful private reserve the lodge is situated on, but the lodge staff, management and catering is beyond any reasonable expectations. Prepare for first class accommodations, unbelievable dining, and an animal experience second to none!

Stayed: January 2014
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at The Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Dear David,

Many thanks for your positive review, we are grateful for all feedback, and when we hear that our guests enjoyed the food, the lodge an the safaris, then it puts a smile on all our faces. We are delighted that you had such a good time in the country and in particular at the lodge.

Please let me know if you would like to visit us again, it would be a privilege!

Kind regards,

Bernard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
2.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
404 reviews
3.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,751 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 104 in Hoedspruit
281 reviews
10.6 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 21 in Hoedspruit
198 reviews
9.2 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#2 of 104 in Hoedspruit
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vuyani Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vuyani Safari Lodge

Address: | Moditlo Private Game Reserve, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: $551 - $882 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Vuyani Safari Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vuyani Safari Lodge is located on the Moditlo Private Game Reserve within the Blue Canyon Conservancy which is more than 36,000 acres in size. Located next to the Kruger National Park, at the foot of the Drakensberg mountain range, Vuyani Safari Lodge is one of South Africa's premier luxury safari lodges, in the country's most famous area for African wildlife. The Vuyani Safari Lodge is one of only 3 lodges on this reserve, and with only 10 suites, it offers one of the most exclusive African safari experiences in South Africa. The reserve offers a unique opportunity to observe all of Africa's large game such as the lion, leopard, rhino, elephant, hippo and crocodile as well as some of the very rarest species, amongst others the wild dog, the brown hyena, the ground hornbill, cheetahs and several other highly endangered animals. Almost 400 various species of birds have been counted. Some of the rarest European migratory birds visit the reserve in the European winter months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your The Vuyani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vuyani Safari Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing