We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Compare!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Vuyani Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Fountain City, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beyond Compare!!!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I are just returning from a five-night stay at Vuyani Safari Lodge, and as the title indicates, our trip was simply beyond compare. As all of the other reviews will attest, the food is superb, the game drives are exhilarating, and the décor is awe-inspiring. What really makes Vuyani better than any other place we have ever visited though, is the hospitality.

The ride down from Johannesburg with George was pleasant and comfortable, though we slept most of the way after an overnight flight. Upon arrival at Vuyani, Rina greeted us at the door with refreshing glasses of juice and then escorted us to our room, providing helpful information along the way. From that very first greeting, until the day that we left, Rina was always available to meet any request, no matter how large or how small. I mentioned to her that my husband was celebrating his birthday while we were there, and that I would like to do something special for him. With just that simple request, she made the day one we will never forget. The day topped with a boma, and specially decorated birthday cake made by Rose.

Speaking of Rose, she too is quite the genius. While we were there, one of the other visiting families had two members who required a gluten free diet. However, that did not prevent them from enjoying the delectable treats of homemade breads and pastries the rest of us did. In fact, my husband’s birthday cake was actually gluten free, so it could be enjoyed by all, and was so delicious we didn’t even realize the difference until all of the guests joined us to enjoy it.

Rose, however, is not the only member of the kitchen staff who prepares beautiful and mouthwatering delights. Gerard is truly brilliant in the kitchen. Each meal was prepared to perfection and presented as the masterpiece it was. And while his food could absolutely speak for itself, Gerard needs nothing to speak for him. Never to miss an opportunity to laugh, Gerard makes you feel as though you have known him for years, and is much of the reason guests feel instantly at home at Vuyani.

These are a few of the staff members who made our time at the lodge so wonderful, but of course what we were really looking forward to during our time at Vuyani was the safaris. The daily game drives with Pierre and the day trips with Mike were phenomenal. Mike took us on our day trips to Kruger National Park and the Blythe River Canyon. Both of these trips are, in my opinion, must-see excursions. We saw so much and learned even more. Mike was able to spot things I was sure he must be making up, until he patiently guided us to see them as well. Then, as we enjoyed and photographed at our leisure, he taught us volumes about each and every thing we saw.

Pierre was our game driver, and twice a day we set out with him on the game drives around the reserve. Every single one of those drives provided us with opportunities to see incredible animals at close range. He too is exceptionally knowledgeable and patiently answered all of our questions. Pierre’s tracking skills were fascinating to watch, and he goes out of his way to find the animals guests most want to see. We loved our game drives with Pierre. They were absolutely the best thing about our vacation. Before we left we were already planning our return trip!

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the honeymoon suites and loved it. We had tons of privacy and sat on the deck an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lawsonm29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing us! We are all happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at our lodge, and that you could see so much wildlife. It was a pleasure for the cake!

We hope to see you again in the future. We are adding some spectacular river suites at the moment, so in about 8 weeks from now this will be yet another reason to come back!

All the best and our kindest regards,

Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    21
    9
    0
    1
See reviews for
68
333
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have recently returned after spending 7 nights at Vuyani and it has got to be one of the best holidays I have ever been on! The reviews on here are all worthy!
I travelled with 2 of my close friends and from start to finish we all had an amazing time. I cannot praise the staff enough. From George who picked us up
from Jo'borg, Shane and Gerrard the incredibly talented chefs and to Pierre and OJ who made sure we saw all the animals while out on the drives. The lodge is beautiful, nice big clean rooms and has incredible views from the decking area. Still can't believe how close we were able to get to the animals, especially the lions eating! Thank you to all that made this holiday one to remember! Love Kristina Bethan & Priscilla xxx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KristinaJ85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi Kristina,

Many thanks for reviewing us. I am very happy that you enjoyed yourselves at the lodge, and that you loved all the sightings. Many thanks also for posting all the photos, they give a very good impression of what to expect here. I love the one with the elephants in the background, that's very special!

I hope to welcome you some time soon again at the lodge, it would be a real pleasure! Best regards from the whole Vuyani team!

Bernard

Booking manager
Bernard@vuyanilodge.com
www.vuyanilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you are looking for a small intimate safari experience then this is the place for you. The accommodations are lovely and the staff quite personable and attentive to all your needs. With a maximum of 10 guests at a time you will get to know your fellow lodgers very well, especially at 6 am on your morning safari drive. We had a wonderful group and enjoyed everyone's company, however if you want to keep to yourself this may not be for you. Also, some of the larger places may be able to offer more animal sightings, and amenities, but not the same personalized intimate service and atmosphere that you get at Vuyani.

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally lovely I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing us. I am pleased to hear you had a good time at our lodge, and we are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you here again in the future!

Bernard

Bookings manager
Email: Bernard@vuyanilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tadley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent 6 nights at Vuyani Lodge. It was perfect, such an amazing experience! The lodge was flawless and the staff were amazing. During the game drives, the ranger and tracker were brilliant, knew everything you could want to know about the animals and the way they tracked and found them was incredible. Back at the lodge, the staff couldn't do enough to make sure your stay was just how you wanted it. The food was exceptional, something new and exciting every day. This trip was an unforgettable experience, supposedly a trip of a life time but we will without a doubt be returning as soon as we can. Thank you so much to everyone at Vuyani for making our holiday so special. See you soon! James and Lauren.

Room Tip: Both the luxury suites within the lodge and the luxury chalets were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Many thanks for reviewing us. It was a real pleasure meeting you at the lodge and getting to know you while out on safari on our reserve. I am looking forward to meeting you again on your next visit at our lodge some time next year hopefully. Let me know if there is anything I can help with.

Bernard

Bookings manager
Email: Bernard@vuyanilodge.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

My wife and I booked five nights at Vuyani Lodge for our honeymoon after seeing the lodge advertised on Jetsetter. Simpy put, we could not have been happier with our (first) safari experience. As the title indicates, the staff made what would have been a good experience into the trip of a lifetime. We could not have asked for a better guide in Pierre, and chefs Shane, Gerard and Rosie were fantastic (and prepared delicious food). In summary, you get a unique safari experience in Vuyani given it is the only lodge (presently) on Moditlo and there are only five rooms (ten people), which means there is only one safari vehicle on the entire 32,000 acre reserve. Most lodges do not have exclusive access like this.

Upon arrival in the Jo'berg airport, Bernard arranged for George to pick us up and drive us four hours north to the Moditlo Game Reserve. We rode there in a Toyota Hilux pickup (new truck with leather seats), which was generally a comfortable ride. When we arrived, Christopher greeted us with hot towels and beverages. We were shown to our room by Reena, who was a great hostess.

Shortly thereafter, we went on our first game ride and absolutely had a blast. Every game ride thereafter, we saw something new. In total, we saw four of the big five on the game reserve (we did not see leopards), but also saw cheetahs, hippos, and crocs, among the regular herbivores (zebras, giraffes, antelopes, etc.). Pierre went out of his way multiple times tracking prints of animals guests had not yet seen. On two occasions he (tracking prints) to be sure that we (and other guests) saw the pride of lions. He truly showed interest in getting to know the guests and making sure they were happy.

The bar/alcohol selection was not anything particularly amazing, but had many local options, which were all fine. The food made up for it though, as we were looking forward to every singe one of the homemade meals. The pool was very relaxing and we chose to go on an excursion one of the five days to Kruger National Park. We would recommend this as a top excursion option if you plan to spend a day away from the lodge. Kruger is a must-do option given your proximity to the country's largest park (before you go, Youtube: "Battle at Kruger").

We had an extra day at the end that we wanted to extend at Vuyani, but they were booked. Mike drove us in a brand new Toyota Fortrunner luxury SUV back to Jo'berg. It was so tough to leave and say goodbye to the staff that we had grown so close to. We can't recommend Vuyani enough. If you are looking for an intimate safari experience where you will make new friends in both the guests and the staff, you could not find a better place than Vuyani Lodge. We hope to go back in the future.

- Nick & Jess

Room Tip: If you do not want to worry about being escorted to and from your room at night, stay in the main lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bernard K, Manager at Vuyani Safari Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Nick and Jess,

Many thanks for your very detailed account and review of our safari lodge. It is always such a pleasure to hear and see that our guests appreciate the exclusivity, but also the many personal touches at the lodges, and the services. Our staff is passionate about what they do, and they share that with our guests which is why so many friendships are formed here.

I for one I am delighted that we provided the trip of a lifetime to you guys, especially as it was your honeymoon. We wish all the best, and we hope to welcome you here agan some time in the future!

Kind regards from South Africa,

Bernard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chiltington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent 7 nights at the Vuyani Lodge and found the whole experience to be exceptional in all respects- attentive staff, first class accomodation excellant food, good company around the dinner table and exciting off road game drives - thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philip r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We just returned from a seven night stay at Vuyani Lodge. What an amazing experience! We enjoyed frst rate accommodations that were spotless, attentive staff, excellent meals, and of course, the wildlife. Craig has put together a fantastic staff that were friendly, knowledgeable and always ready to please the guests.
Part of the draw for us was the intimate boutique- style lodge that boasts only five rooms. As an adults only experience, we were pleased to not be impacted by the inevitable meltdowns of children.
The rangers (Pierre and Mike) worked their hardest to provide good game drives. We spent most of our time with Pierre, both at the lodge and our day trip to the Krueger. We enjoyed his company and his wealth of knowledge about the animals. Rina kept up with our specific needs graciously while Shane and Gerard amazed us with kitchen cuisine.
We chose to drive- I'd advise others to take advantage of the transportation the lodge offers instead. Our flat tire experience on the reserve is noteworthy. Craig took our tire into town, had the wheel fixed and purchased a new tire (along with having it installed for us) during our day at The Kruger with Pierre. No fuss, just brilliant service that was consistently above and beyond expectations.
This lodge is a gem! It's deserving of all five stars!

Room Tip: Lodge rooms are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blythegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
3.4 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,657 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kapama Buffalo Camp
Kapama Buffalo Camp
#2 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
386 reviews
5.9 mi away
Kapama Karula
Kapama Karula
#1 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 104 in Hoedspruit
260 reviews
10.6 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 19 in Hoedspruit
180 reviews
1.7 mi away
Moditlo River Lodge
Moditlo River Lodge
#9 of 104 in Hoedspruit
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vuyani Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vuyani Safari Lodge

Property: Vuyani Safari Lodge
Address: Moditlo Private, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vuyani Safari Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vuyani Safari Lodge is located on the Moditlo Private Game Reserve within the Blue Canyon Conservancy which is more than 36,000 acres in size. Located next to the Kruger National Park, at the foot of the Drakensberg mountain range, Vuyani Safari Lodge is one of South Africa's premier luxury safari lodges, in the country's most famous area for African wildlife. The Vuyani Safari Lodge is one of only 3 lodges on this reserve, and with only 10 suites, it offers one of the most exclusive African safari experiences in South Africa. The reserve offers a unique opportunity to observe all of Africa's large game such as the lion, leopard, rhino, elephant, hippo and crocodile as well as some of the very rarest species, amongst others the wild dog, the brown hyena, the ground hornbill, cheetahs and several other highly endangered animals. Almost 400 various species of birds have been counted. Some of the rarest European migratory birds visit the reserve in the European winter months. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Vuyani Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vuyani Safari Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing