We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Swadini A Forever Resort(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
$46
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kapama River Lodge(Kapama Private Game Reserve)(Great Value!)
$656
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kapama Buffalo Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$909
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Southern Camp(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$840
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kapama Karula(Kapama Private Game Reserve)
$2,012
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Garonga Safari Camp(Makalali Private Game Reserve)
$1,039
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hippo Pools Resort(Hoedspruit)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurhula Wildlife Lodge(Balule Nature Reserve)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (548)
Filter reviews
548 results
Traveler rating
508
29
10
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
29
10
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspresidential suitehoneymoon suitesday tripother guestshot tubthe reservegame drivessouth africajohannesburg airportwild dogsoff roadholiday of a lifetimewhole experienceevery member of staffelephant sanctuaryfront of houseevening drive
Filter
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 548 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I spent 6 wonderful days at Vuyani and we loved every moment. We were picked up by Andre at the Hoedspruit airport (like the RMNC Traveler wrote, he truly is such a smiley, happy guy), and were greeted by the entire staff upon our arrival at the lodge, a custom that we'd come to experience on a regular basis as we returned each time to the lodge from our adventures. The rain was pretty heavy for the first few days we were there, but the staff didn't let the sogginess slow us down. We continued to take outings wherever we could, and even did some game drives in the rain, which was a great adventure. There was some car trouble at times, as the roads were really muddy, but even when we got stuck it was only temporary, and the guides made even those times a fun and funny experience.

Thank you to Jesse and Pierre for being such knowledgeable and affable guys. Thank you to Michael for a great experience at Kruger. Thank you to Shane and Jarod for your incredible food every day, and to Christopher and Rose for doing so much behind-the-scenes work to keep us happy. Thank you to Rex and to Aggy for protecting everyone at night while we slept. And thank you to Justine and Craig for being the most gracious, funny, welcoming hosts. This was a trip that we will remember for the rest of our lives.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnniePez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our first interaction with the Vuyani staff was Andre. What a smiley, happy guy. During the travel to Vuyani he taught us much about South African history, the local economy and what to expect at Vuyani. Rina was professional and efficient. Stacey did our first game drive. She was very knowledgeable about all the animals and plants, especially the birds. Tjoppie’s food was everything we had expected from the reviews. Definitely 5 star food. I know Shane is the more experienced chef, but Tjoppie was holding his own or better in flavor profiles, variety and creativity! We did a Kruger tour with Pierre. We hit it off with him very well right from the beginning. He kept us entertained and educated during the whole trip which turned out to be 14 hours!
Rose is an absolute charm. We loved her! Phillamon was a pleasure in the background of the kitchen. Rex and Aggie did a great job escorting us to and from the room. The housekeeping staff always kept our room spotless and the turn down service was nice. After the shift change we meet Justine, Jessie, Shane, Chris and Craig. Justine was absolutely amazing. She worked hard every day to exceed our expectations and make us feel like family. On our last day she even drove to the airport to help some other guests change their flight because the airport was not answering the phone. Wow! Jessie’s game drives were always eventful and on the last one before we left we saw Rhinos, hippos jumping, and the leopard! Shane was very competent and friendly. He and Justine were great to organize a Braai for us on our last night. Chris always greeted us with a smile and was very helpful. We didn’t have much interaction with Craig since he was on holiday most of the time we were there but he was nice, professional and seemed to exercise the just right amount of control v. friendliness with the staff.
We absolutely enjoyed our trip. An experience of a lifetime as is said. Also, several of the guests we meet had stayed at other safari lodges and they all said Vuyani was the best, mostly due to the limited capacity, staff and the food quality.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RMNCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We had such a great time at Vuyani! Everyone on staff was so great and helpful. The food was out of this world thanks to Shane and Gerard, the safari drivers were excellent and the lodge itself is so beautiful. We stayed in a honeymoon suite and the room was wonderful. Nothing like taking a shower outside in the bush! The staff does everything to make you feel at home while back at the lodge…. But the safari drives were great. Pierre and Jesse did a fantastic job! We also took a day trip to Kruger which definitely shows a different side of the safari and highly worth the additional cost as a supplement to the included drives. The lodge is small with only five rooms. That turned out to be great as we got to know the other couples well and had an amazing time. Guess this could go either way but it really made a great trip amazing. The only thing that bothered us during our stay was the bugs. Being in the middle of the reserve, you just have to be smart. Turn lights off at night and keep that bed net closed and it is fine. Just took a day to get used to.

I will be recommending this to anyone I know that wants to take a safari in South Africa.

Great success!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandPinTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were at Vuyani for six days over Christmas 2011. We chose to be picked up from Johannesburg airport and very much enjoyed the five-hour drive to the lodge.

On arriving at the lodge we had half an hour or so to shower and change before going out on our first game drive. And within half an hour we were within twenty feet of a pride of lions.

The staff at Vuyani went out of their way to make our holiday as enjoyable as possible. And they pretty much succeeded. There were just a couple of things that could have been improved.

* We didn't book any excursions until we got to the lodge. And then we found that their drivers were already booked up for the first few days, with the result that we did nothing but lounge around at the lodge for a few days (inbetween the morning and afternoon game drives). Not a massive problem, but one that we could have avoided if we had booked excursions in advance.

* It's a tiny lodge (just five rooms) so your enjoyment is really affected by the other guests. When we arrived there were three other lovely couples there. But by the end of our stay the other couples had been replaced by two larger families which made mealtimes less enjoyable.

But, all in all, we really enjoyed ourselves and would certainly consider going back in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank realdavorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Speaking from experience, booking your first safari to South Africa can be a little intimidating seeing as you have no idea what to expect and there are seemingly so many options. Because we had booked through a highly respected travel source, we were confident that Vuyani would be a nice lodge...but we had no idea that it would surpass our highest expectations. We have traveled around the world (especially my husband) and we would undoubtedly rate this as one of the best experiences of our lives.

The staff, the lodge, the game and the guests make it one of the most indescribably special places.

While the entire staff works relentlessly to make your stay impeccable, there were a few that made our experience exceptional: Recks, the night guard, is soft-spoken but fearless (rumored to have stomped on a honey badger!) and lets your rest soundly knowing that you're safe. Pierre, a ranger, is wise far beyond his years as he shares his knowledge of the bush and makes you laugh hysterically in the process. Shane and Gerard, the chefs, are extremely accommodating and make eating a meal in the bush feel like you've landed at a top notch restaurant in any world-class city. Chris, the waiter, is also soft-spoken and works hard at accommodating your every need promptly. You all made our experience so wonderful and we are so very, very thankful.

The lodge is beautiful as well. It is well-maintained and very well appointed. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We had a room in the main lodge, which provided just enough distance to give you privacy, but was close enough to make everything very accessible. The shared spaces (dining area, living are and pool) make you feel like you're relaxing at someone's (very nice) home because they are so inviting.

And last, but certainly not least, we owe a special thanks to the other guests who (along with the staff) made us realize that sometimes no matter where you are in the world, its always the people that make the difference. We were so fortunate to have come together with four other fantastic couples (who had previously been strangers) that made our experience even more special! We sipped on cocktails LATE into the night and we laughed, we relaxed by the pool during the afternoon and we laughed, we visited Kruger together and we laughed, we sipped on more cocktails and we laughed. You get the picture. :) I trust that most of you will read this review and know that you were a part of this laughing crew...so thank you all for making our vacation so memorable!! You are all always welcome to visit us at the beach!

We fell in love with a country that previously seemed intimidating, we made so many new friends between the staff and the guests and we have so many great memories to take with us. Thank you all for making this the trip of a lifetime. We would recommend Vuyani to ANYONE without ANY reservation. You will be in the BEST of hands.

Until next time....we wish you all GREAT SUCCESS!

Michelle & Bruce

Room Tip: You can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank smith0521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews