We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Paradise”
Review of Matumi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Matumi Lodge
Styrsö, Gothenburg,Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little Paradise”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Matumi Game Lodge
A little paradise / retreat outside Orpen gate.
We were greeted at check-in by his daughter Alida who run this lodge with his father Peter. A fantastic beautiful garden which is a little paradise. Mango tree that bore fruit when we were there. Warthog and impalas, which graze in the garden. Met for the first morning of a giraffe and her baby who was walking just outside the fence. The food was amazing and John, who served us was very accommodating. Very good food at a good price. There is a lodge (neighbor) having safaris. Alida will arrange for this. We saw buffalo, lions, leopards, vultures, turtles, rhinos, snakes and more.
We stayed there for three days and we can certainly recommend Matumi Game Lodge. We will go there again :) :) Simon, Andreas, Tomas and Annelie

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaraAnnelie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
16
16
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lake District UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Matumi Lodge does not have animals on its own land but you are efficiently transported just 10 minutes away to another Lodge where you enjoy exactly the same game drive experience as their 5 star Guests.We noticed that some Guests stay overnight en-route and do not take a safari. We had a friendly and informative guide and we saw elephants, buffalow, zebra,and girraffe galore as well as a distant glimpe of a lion (just missed him!) We had a party of 7 accommodated in 2 very spacious and well equipped self catering Lodges and we booked dinner both nights in the restaurant. The second night turned out to be a barbeque but it was tasty and plentiful and we enjoyed it despite having to be brought indoors because of the rain.Waiter John is very friendly and good with children.
The Matumi Lodge had experienced flooding and damage due to a cyclone from Mozambique and disappointingly the watch tower remained unusable due to damage but well done to the team for getting up and running as soon as they did.My only negative is that it is time to refurbish the self catering Lodges.They could be amazing but I haven't seen a TV with an aerial like that for decades. But we were not there for TV anyway .The air conditioning was much more important and that was fabulous. My tip would be to bring a torch. We arrived back from our game drive in the dark,unfamiliar with the place and we stumbled back in the dark as there were no light sensors on the buildings.
Our torch came in very handy from then on. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend to those whose priority is the Big 5 and not luxury.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2012

We have had a great holiday at Matumi. This was our first trip to South Africa. We went on an awesome afternoon safari. Saw lots and lots and Buffalo and Lions very close to the vehicle. The only thing the Elephants were thinking about were the Marula fruit. We also went with Pieter to Kruger Park with the open safari vehicle. We had a great day. Saw everything we wanted to see. Pieter is an amazing guide and knows so much about nature. We have learned to much. The service at Matumi is excellent, we felt like we were at home. The hosts Pieter and Alida were amazing. At nights we sat around the Boma fire and had really good wine. The food was amazing. The menu has everything from seafood to pasta to meats. Nobody can go hungry. The room was beautiful, right next to the fence. The Elephants came and ate the leaves from the trees. We watched them and they did not even mind. Matumi the Warthog was amazing. He is like a big dog and loves chocolates. This was the best holiday we have had. We have already planned our next holiday to South Africa.

Room Tip: Room 20 - it is right next to the fence. The elephant came right next to the fence to eat the leaves...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We had a wonderfull stay at the lodge. It was a great experience.

We went on a Game drive with Peter and his daughter Alida. His knowledge is very insightful and we learned quite a few new things.

We enjoyed a lovely braai in the evening, with great wine from their selection of wines and the aumbience around the bonfire is a relaxing end to a wonderful day.

I will certainly visit this lodge again in future.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Zizibug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biarritz, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at Matumi Game Lodge. Waking up in the morning by hearing the elephants, run and climb the wooden tower to observe them with our child, was just incredible! The lodge is at the heart of nature and the beautiful pool, the restaurant prepares good food, and when the evening barbecue around the campfire with the roaring of lions on the other side of the fence ... A unique moment! Pieter and Alida thank you for your warm welcome and your passion for your business. The days in the jeep with Pieter in the Kruger Park are greatly missed ... We have learned so much and experienced incredible moments to meet the BIG FIVE! We hope to return as soon as possible!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SeverineBiarritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

We stayed with our parents, seniors, and expected a bit more than we got. It was not bad, but a bit run down sums it all up. We stayed in a self catering chalet and our parents stayed in the bedroom, while we stayed upstairs. Four beds were upstairs and it was blazing up there. Luckily the aircon did work. The beds upstairs seemed like they have been slept in before, but maybe our minds were playing tricks on us. The tablecloth had holes in it, it did not smell too good either in de house.
The restaurant was nice, we had some nice food, and the staff was really good. All in all, it was not the best place we stayed, but it was not all together bad.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yootje73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed here 4 nights with 2 family's with 5 children aged between 8 and 16 years old.
The lodge wasn't too busy when we were there so the kids had the pool to themselves.
Location of lodge is excellent with Kruger NP and Blyde river Canyon on your doorstep.
We did a full day game drive thru Kruger with Peter, we all had a wonderful day.
The staff was very friendly and we enjoyed the breakfast buffet and all the dinner meals.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carduyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
1.6 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#12 of 104 in Hoedspruit
154 reviews
14.3 mi away
24 Degrees South - Chalets
24 Degrees South - Chalets
#53 of 104 in Hoedspruit
5 reviews
1.4 mi away
Panzi Bush Camp
Panzi Bush Camp
#33 of 104 in Hoedspruit
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
#15 of 104 in Hoedspruit
87 reviews
1.4 mi away
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Thornhill Safari Lodge
#8 of 104 in Hoedspruit
379 reviews
1.9 mi away
Lion Tree Top Lodge
Lion Tree Top Lodge
#18 of 104 in Hoedspruit
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matumi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matumi Lodge

Property: Matumi Lodge
Address: Guernsey Road Klaserie, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa (Formerly Matumi Game Lodge)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Matumi Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matumi is situated on the doorstep of the Panorama Route which includes the the world renowned Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon, Gods Window, Bourkes Luck Potholes, Berlin Falls, Bridal Falls, Mac Mac Falls, The Pinnacle, historical Pilgrims Rest where guests can go and pan for gold and the Echo Caves. We are also 45km away from the Orpen Gate Of the Kruger National Park for a quick getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Matumi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing