We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ourtstanding Destination”

Gomo Gomo Game Lodge
Parker
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ourtstanding Destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

The rangers, trackers and all staff are totally committed to making your bush and game viewing experience the best it can be. And they succeeded. Saw a white lion cub and the other big five, including stunning leopard encounter.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maxfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    6
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience, Perfect Lodge”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from 4 days at Gomo Gomo. I cannot imagine that any other safari lodge could offer more. A small, personal lodge offering great accommodation and food. But even more important is the passion of the staff and rangers, not only did we see the big 5 but we were very close to them. A wonderful experience I will remember forever.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

A wonderful first safari. The drives in open landrover trucks were so exciting and we saw the Big 5 within the first 2 days. We were looked after so well both in the Lodge and on the drives and the staff could not have been more friendly, fun and informative. The accommodation was comfortable and clean with a veranda overlooking the waterhole where elephants came to bathe and frolic. I definitely recommend Gomo Gomo to anyone for the variety of game, the staff and the facilities.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank VoGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c, Tamil Nadu, Indiahennai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A poor mans Sabi Sabi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2011

We visited gomo gomo several years ago because it was the cheapest game lodge we could find in the area. It turned out very well for us. The accomadations are not luxury by any means but we were more interested in the other aspects of being in South Africa. The food was excellent and the game drives always turned up some nice sightings. The guiides were great and did I mention the food was wonderful. There was a flood while we were there and we were awakened very early on our last morning there and were told that if we did not leave within about 30 minutes, we would be trapped in the camp for perhaps 2 or 3 days as the river between the camp and the main road had alredy started flowing over the bridge. We were in a compact car and there was no way we could get over the bridge so they rangers packed us into the back of a 4 WD bakkie and ferried us across just in the nick of time. They were so good about taking us into the nearest rental car place and making sure we got a new rental and then they drove our rental car to the office when the water had receeded after a couple of days and left it with them. I would return again as it is a very good value for the money.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank djekalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5,424 reviews
3,471 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11,788 helpful votes
“Gomo Gomo Delivers - A Top Safari Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2011

We recently spent 4 nights at the Gomo Gomo Game Lodge, finding it to be a very good value for money accommodation, providing an excellent safari experience in the Klaserie Reserve area of Kruger National Park.

The Accommodations are nice bricked chalets, which include very effective heating/AC units to help you achieve comfort while resting between mornings and evening safaris and while you sleep at night. The beds are very nice, comfortable and the bathrooms well designed, functional and never short of hot water. Each chalet has a front porch with chairs overlooking a rather large waterhole in which elephants, impala, kudu and other animals frequently visited.

The lodge area itself supports a nice outdoor deck area with swimming pool that overlooks the same watershed. A large tree provides shade for the lounging area, allowing you to sit and watch the elephants that frequently visited during the midday while we were at Gomo Gomo. We were actually lucky enough to have them there when we arrived at the lodge. Being welcomed by staff and a herd of elephants is a great way to start any safari experience.

The food at Gomo Gomo was consistently very good. We are not big eaters but did appreciate the frequent offerings and serving sizes of the well-prepared food at the lodge. Breakfast was always a combination of continental choices (cereals, muesli, yoghurt, etc.) and some form of local speciality. I particularly liked the corn fritters (bread) made one morning. Lunch was always a bit of a lighter meal, served an hour and half before our evening safaris began. After returning from evening/night game drive, we were always welcomed with some time at the bar followed by lovely campfire style meal. The servings were a well filling (always two meat options, two veggies, a starch and breads – each changing every night), really rather a lot to eat. This made it easy to go back to sleep to dream about the following day’s game drives.

As for the Safari experience, this was the real HIGHLIGHT. Our driver, Johan, and tracker Causwell, were both very good at their jobs – able to consistently follow tracks and find the animals while we were there. We saw something special every day while at Gomo Gomo. This included finding all of the Big 5, being surrounded by a herd of 400-500 buffalo, a herd of around 40+ elephants on another occasion, finding a pride of lions on a kill sight twice and finding a large pride of 10 adult and 6 lion cubs, spending almost an hour with them as they played around in the late evening. Hearing the volume of 10 adult lions roaring simultaneously, while they surrounded our jeep, is something we will never forget.

Having spent a lot of time on Safari, we really appreciated the skill, patience and insight of Johan and Causwell, keeping us in special situations with the wildlife each day. Their experience levels were clearly evident, far surpassing game drivers and trackers we’ve used in area of Kenya, Tanzania, Zambia, Botswana and Namibia.

As another reviewer suggested, Gomo Gomo get the important things right. We felt the same and find it difficult to think of ways they could improve their service to customers. Having taken safari trips in much of southern and eastern Africa, we feel that Kruger NP is easily a top 2 safari destination and that Gomo Gomo is an excellent option for visitors to the KNP area. On these basis, we offer our highest recommendation for considering them for any safari experience to the southern African region.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
14 Thank BradJill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gomo Gomo Game Lodge also viewed

 
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
Hoedspruit, Limpopo Province
 

Been to Gomo Gomo Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing