We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
19
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
19
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hoedspruit wildlife estate great place to stay nature reserve wild animals hoopoe kane jema sue amenities gate comfort beds warthogs hosts shower property accommodation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 21 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2019 via mobile

The room was clean and full of beautiful details. The shower under the stars felt like luxury.
Very friendly, warm, home like atmosphere. Surrounded by wonderful nature and wild animals.
Good restaurants nearby. Felt very safe.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank miua77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2019

We a great 1 night stay at Call of the Wild Lodge before our trip to a safari camp! The Lodge is beautiful and very peaceful being surrounded by nature! The hosts are very welcoming and easy to talk to! It felt like we were home! The breakfast and dinner were both delicious! The rooms were beautifully decorated and had all amenities! The bathroom was very spacious and had both a tub and a separate shower. We enjoyed walking the trails in the nature reserve! Thank-you for a great stay! We will be back if ever in the area again!

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Mel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJoustra, Owner at Call of the Wild Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2019

Hi Mel
Thanks very much for taking the time to review us.
We appreciate so much the positive feedback.
Many thanks.
Kind Regards
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2019

This was a wonderful place to stop over on the way to the Klaserie reserve for a safari. The lodge is situated within a nature reserve so you can see some lovely birds and other wildlife (we saw warthogs) from the comfort of the gardens or terrace. The room itself was comfortable, clean and beautifully decorated. Sue and Deon are friendly, welcoming hosts and provided us with great conversation as well as excellent food and wine. We had a brief but very enjoyable stay, I wouldn't hesitate to book again if we return to the area.

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerEmma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJoustra, Owner at Call of the Wild Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2019

Thank you Emma for your positive feedback.
We so enjoyed meeting you and Ian and thank you for your travel tips.
All the best.
Sue and Deon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2019

African Hoopoe is a beautifully designed, private room adjacent to a well-kept garden with lawn, chaises, and a pool. Breakfast was served either at a patio table by the pool or in the open air lapa. Sue and Deon are approachable and friendly; exemplary hosts who stand out in the hospitality business.
Call of the Wild is a great choice. Set in the Hoedspruit Wildlife Estate, it’s proximity to town makes it easy to zip in for dinner or shopping. Soft game such as zebra, impala, and warthog abound with leopards making an appearance too, if you are lucky.
Great place to stay.

-Teresa O’Kane
Safari Jema

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roving19775811354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2019 via mobile

What a charming lodge nestled in the lovely Hoedspruit Wildlife Estate! It is ideally situated if you are wanting to go out in the town as well as if you want to just spend some time in the Bush. There is a green belt/corridor in the middle of the estate where you can go for a walk or run and soak up the sounds of the Bush and spot a couple of wild animals. We loved the lodge feel and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The hosts were lovely and went out of their way to make us feel at home. We would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank T6025AOjuliec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SJoustra, Owner at Call of the Wild Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2019

Many thanks for the fantastic review. We are incredibly lucky to be living in such a wonderful estate and I'm so pleased you enjoyed it too.
Kind Regards
Sue

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews