We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleasant!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blyde River Canyon Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Very nice lodge situated in a beautiful garden. Staff is super helpfull and very friendly. Dinner setting was perfect and the food delicious. Rooms are not too luxury but offer everything you need, fridge, flat screen, wifi and comfortable beds. What a nice place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cstuurman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 246 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

Thank you for the lovely stay. We enjoy your stay at the Blyde River Canyon Lodge. lots to do with the family and internamet for the children. The resturant excellent. Will recomend it to all travelers.

Room Tip: 3 bedroom unit self catering
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent our last night in South Africa here after an amazing trip.
We drove, allowing us to stop and see places we would have missed around the Canyon if we had flown. This also meant we had to drive back to Johburgh be at the airport in time for our 6 pm flight home, a rather long drive. Some advice from Vicki had us on our way with a good guide of how long the trip would take.
It did seem quiet after having seen 3 Cheetah eating their kill a few hours earlier, think we were still stunned by the experience.
Some confusion about our booking had us sitting in the lounge checking out the decor while relaxing.
The dinner and breakfast ,both served on the terrace were great with very friendly service.
A perfect end to a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmboySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Staying at this lodge was a wonderful end to a long driving holiday through Namibia and South Africa. The lodge is located in the Blyde River Botanical Reserve and is conveniently located for visiting Kruger National Park, Blyde River Canyon and the Panorama Route, as well as the pretty towns of Dullstroom and Graskop.
The welcome is warm and friendly and everyone is extremely helpful - and happy. The lodge itself is inviting, comfortable and does have a real homey feeling about it. The grounds are beautiful. You'll see wildebeest grazing the lawns and plenty of bird life. The views of the mountains are amazing.
Dinner and breakfast are outdoors when the weather is good (which it was). The food is tasty and there is a good selection of hot and cold food for breakfast. You don't have to eat there as there is a good selection of restaurants fairly close-by. But if you don't want to drive the roads at night then eating in is a good option.
Just need to take care on the flagstone path as you walk in as some of the large stones are a bit loose and the spacing doesn't make them easy to wheel a suitcase.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CheetahgirlBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed at the Blyde River Canyon Lodge for one night after visiting the Blyde River Canyon and moving on to Kruger National Park. The lodge is situated within a gated botanical reserve and is set in beautifully managed gardens. Our room faced the gardens. Dinner and breakfast were served on a patio just outside the main lounge area. The food--particularly in the evening--was great, and the service throughout our stay was exceptional. Finally, the lodge participates in Pack for a Purpose, a charity in which travelers can bring supplies to under-resourced local schools, and it was through this connection that my wife and I were able to visit the Ekurhuleni Orphan and Vulnerable Children’s Center in nearby Acornhoek. We were very grateful for the Lodge's making this visit possible.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights in March 2013 with our 9 year old son. We arrived after two long haul international flights so unfortunately I would say we were a bit jet lagged during our stay. This lodge was a wonderful place to recover from those flights as it is very peaceful, quiet, and beautiful. We stayed in the cottage and had lovely views of the mountains. We enjoyed walks around the area of the property and a trip to the Blyde River dam which Kelvin organized for us. Kelvin was very kind in that he helped us create a "scratch patch" one evening in a sandy area of the walkway so my son could check for animal tracks the next day and he came and helped us identify the prints. The food was wonderful and the cook even came out to see the vegetarian! We were on our way to the Kruger park but I would have loved another day or two here.

Room Tip: The cottage is lovely and spacious but at times I felt a bit like I was in a fishbowl as the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Thank vandygirl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Booked this place for two nights after visiting the Kruger National Park. Its very pretty and well run, however just cant help but feel you are in someones home. The rooms are small and our room faced the driveway at the front. So everytime a car drove in we felt exposed. There was no sense of privacy.
The meals were good and the staff were very efficient.
Our biggest disappointment was the long drive to Pilgrims Rest and White River (escarpment towns). While maps clearly show a road connecting the lodge to the main road, it is in fact a large one hour trip through the Strydom Tunnel to these wonderful towns. Although no fault of the hotel, we just felt a little disapointed. So if you are planning to use this lodge as a base to discovering the escarpment area, we dont recommend. If its a stopover between Joburg and the Kruger, then its ok.

Room Tip: At the back of the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarPANAMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
19.8 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 103 in Hoedspruit
356 reviews
8.1 mi away
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
Blyde River Wilderness Lodge
#32 of 103 in Hoedspruit
163 reviews
1.0 mi away
umVangati House
umVangati House
#1 of 24 in Hoedspruit
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Amafu Forest Lodge
Amafu Forest Lodge
#1 of 2 in Kampersrus
140 reviews
3.4 mi away
Little Bush Private Lodge
Little Bush Private Lodge
#53 of 103 in Hoedspruit
16 reviews
13.8 mi away
Shikwari Game Reserve
Shikwari Game Reserve
#55 of 103 in Hoedspruit
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blyde River Canyon Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blyde River Canyon Lodge

Address: Swadini Road | Blyde River Botanical Reserve, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 103 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: $123 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Blyde River Canyon Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blyde River Canyon Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blyde River Canyon Hotel Limpopo Province

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing