We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful visit at Thornhill Lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thornhill Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Manassas, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful visit at Thornhill Lodge”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Our stay at Thornhill Safari Lodge was fabulous!! The staff was very pleasant and totally knowledgeable about the wildlife and plants. The food was excellent. We saw more numbers and variety of animals and birds than we ever expected! Overall excellent and HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sterling R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for the photos and recommendationand I'm glad we surpassed your wildlife viewing expectations,I believe we are very privaledged to be able to share these experiences and appreciate you visiting our lodge. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    71
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
180
58
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide Hills, Australia
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights from December 1. Thornhill provided excellent accommodation and meals. The private game drives were awesome followed by full day inside Kruger. Tour guide Goodman has fantastic knowledge of the wildlife and the park and is a good laugh as well. Thanks to Charmaine, Chris and all staff at Thornhill safari lodge for a very memorable experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BecPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you, Goodman will be over whelmed when I pass on your comments and I'm pleased the trip was a success. Kind regards Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotswood, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Great service, friendly staff who made our experience great & gave us a free upgrade to help celebrate our honeymoon. Would recommend to everyone & will get my parents to go & experience for themselves

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marcus T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for the review Marcus and I'm pleased we made you honeymoon memorable. Please dont hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance with your parents booking
Regards Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I spent 5 days at the Thornhill Safari Lodge and enjoyed every second of my stay. The professional guidance, the way to feel like home in the middle of the African wilderness, perfect food and friendly service made it all perfect. I am happy to recommend the Thornhill Lodge to everyone! I will definitely return there one day!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piritta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you for the review, especially when I know that you then travelled round the world after staying with us all those months ago and . It was amazing to discover that our water bottle also travelled with you, perhaps it might return with you back here one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I was picked up from my accommodation and driven to the lodge, on arrival a member of staff had a fresh juice ready for us on arrival. They checked me into my room and I was amazed, it was a beautiful room with a very comfortable bed. The room was cleaned daily and at night they turned down the bed, put a chocolate on the pillow and put the bug net down. There is a nice pool, I didn't use it though, was a bit too chilly weather for the pool. The lodge has a big dining area where all the guests sat as a group and mingle, the two managers sat with us for dinner and answered all questions, talked about animals, South Africa and any topic that was brought up. The managers were also there throughout the day to ensure everything was going very well with our stay, game drive and gave excellent recommendations for our final tour day (visit the rehabilitation centre or game drive). I loved having the ostriches and warthogs walking through the camp, I didn't see any other animals, but you can see giraffe, zebra, etc. All of the staff were amazing, Jerry especially (the guide for Kruger), he was very knowledgeable about all the animals and great at spotting the animals. I loved my stay here and would recommend it and would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CMac1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
We loved having you here too. I'm pleased you were well informed and I will certianly share your comments with Jerry along with the rest of the team. Thanks for the review. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We did the 5 day safari at the end of October 2013. From the pick up at our hotel in Joburg, the experience started. It was a long trip but very enjoyable. Lunch was waiting when we arrived at Thornhill - so were the zebras! We went for an afternoon/sundown safari at a nearby private game reserve so got to see the 'big 5' the day we arrived. Stopped for drinks and nibbles at sunset in the game park, wonderful experience! The following day was spent completely in Kruger NP with our guide, Goodman. Goodman is the most wonderful guide from Thornhill, very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. Next day was a 'panaroma' day. Again we were lucky enough to have Goodman as our guide. This trip was up into the mountains, waterfalls, mountain views etc. Another great experience. Next day was an activity of our choice (extra fee) and we went to the Moholoholo Rehabilitation centre. It's lovely to see the work they are doing to educate people about the animals and to see them caring for those that have no chance in the wild. The afternoon was followed by another trip to a private game park.

The staff, together with Chris and Danielle who are the managers, are all just so wonderful, helpful and friendly. The lodge was lovely, facilities are all you need, great food too.

Strongly recommended by us!

Room Tip: All the rooms were great. Not a huge lodge so it wouldn't matter which room you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeborahJaneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the informative review. I will pass on your kind words to Goodman and I a so pleased you had the chance to see many of the different aspects of our area. It is always difficult to see everything whilst on a reletively short stay and I pleased that we managed to fulfill your wishes. Kind regards Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Excellent experience with this lodge. We stayed for 4 nights and 5 days, and the staff and accommodations were great. The bed was firm, and I think the weather must have been colder more recently because the comforter was thick, but all the blankets kept us toasty, and the staff were very knowledgable about the animals.

Most importantly, the lodge food was EXCELLENT. Hadn't had such good home-cooked meals in a month!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at Thornhill Safari Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Thank you for the review Caroline and I'm so pleased the food made such an impression. I will pass on your coments to the kitchen staff who I'm sure will be thrilled. As for the weather, sadly a little out of my hands unfortunately, perhaps you need to come and visit agian sometime. Please keep in touch. Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hoedspruit hotels
7.8 mi away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 104 in Hoedspruit
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
Cheetah Paw Eco Lodge
#15 of 104 in Hoedspruit
87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Phelwana Game Lodge
Phelwana Game Lodge
#12 of 104 in Hoedspruit
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
Pezulu Tree House Game Lodge
#28 of 104 in Hoedspruit
316 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
Ngama Tented Safari Lodge
#26 of 104 in Hoedspruit
133 reviews
28.1 mi away
Bushriver Lodge
Bushriver Lodge
#7 of 104 in Hoedspruit
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thornhill Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thornhill Safari Lodge

Property: Thornhill Safari Lodge
Address: Portion 144 of the Farm Guernsey 81 KU, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Thornhill Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thornhill Safari Lodge offers an affordable getaway with comfortable rooms and excellent facilities in 13 authentic thatch-roof chalets. Located within the Greater Kruger Park ecosystem - South Africa, a mere 40km from Kruger Park's Orpen gate.We cater for group bookings, individual guests on self drives, fly in safari's and honeymoon couples. Come and enjoy a "Kruger to Canyon" experience which is "More than just a Safari". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, South African Hotels, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thornhill Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thornhill Safari Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing