We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Timbavati Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Regina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, clean stay.”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed at the Timbavati Safari Lodge as part of a tour of Southern Africa. We stayed for one night between travel from Pretoria on to the Panoramic Route. I was in a two-man lodge with an ensuite that was clean and comfortable. The housing was really neat, I liked the colourful painting around the outside of the lodges. The shower had pretty weak water pressure and your choices were burning hot or freezing cold. The bed however was lovely, I had a great sleep.

The food at the lodge was terrific, the breakfast buffet was my favourite meal. I did have to wander around a few times to find where I was going; there are no signs directing you to the bar, reception, etc. There is a nice pool area by the bar to lounge around and relax. The atmosphere around the grounds was neat, I liked how things were open air. We had a buffet dinner one night in an outdoor area with a bonfire in the middle, it was very nice under the stars.

Be prepared for some wildlife in and around the grounds, impala and pumbaa are common things to see in lodgings around southern Africa. They won't hurt you, but they are curious. Just be mindful. I suggest not leaving food in your room!

Overall, Timbavati is a great place for a quick stay. I would recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no-substitute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    84
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
46
72
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terheijden, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were here for the second time in april after 3 years.
The place improved a lot and the personnel is very nice.
I think it's one of the best places to stay if you can not get one in the Kruger.
And John behind the bar makes you always laughing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Our group overnighted after our trip from Pretoria via God's Window. The staff were wonderful, the colourful lodges a very good experience and both the open air dinner and the stories at the bar later were excellent. Next morning we had a wonderful breakfast but were then delayed from packing by the warthogs who took a fancy to my chalet! They wandered away eventually but not before everyone in the lodge had photographed them!

Can't say whether the facilities would support a longer visit but can heartily recommend it for a short stay.

Room Tip: The individual lodges are laid out away from the bar and pool area. They are pretty cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FWTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

I stayed at the above hotel as part of a tour organised by Livingstone Trails (which I wouldn't recommend), for two nights.

On arriving in my room I was pleased to see that as a solo traveller the space allocated was very nice. The bedding was clean, but the towels were a little worn.

I remarked that I did not feel that the mosquito net was adequate - access could easily have been gained...and I have been biten somewhere along the line. Despite this - the net was not changed.

After a day at the park I returned to my lodge only to find that it had been left open by housekeeping all day!

On check out (I stayed 2 nights), as I left my room I noticed a rather large scorpion. I reported this,but it was just shrugged off. I would have thought that it would have been removed...I guess not.

The other negative is that there are no signs, directing you to the restaurant, bar or even reception (no fun when lugging heavy cases!).

On a positive, the food was good as the restaurant staff friendly.

I would suggest you take your own towels and be more forceful than I was with regards to the net issue.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 627432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

We had an excellent stay at the lodge. We loved the brightly coloured rondawels and were lucky to have a small waterhole outside ours to watch animal action. The bar, pool and restaurant areas are lovely and we enjoyed dining outside one night during our stay. They often have the local children performing traditional african dance at night which is great fun to watch and you can join in if you are keen. The lodge offers a great range of activites to keep you busy in adition to visiting Kruger. Thanks to all the staff for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

I took a group of 45 youth and 10 staff to this lodge at the end of August and it did not disappoint. It is a lovely, small lodge with individual rondovels that are spacious, clean, and comfortable. It is not a luxury property but has everything you could need and was an exceptional value. The lodge ecpven has resident warthogs and other animals that delighted our youth from Brooklyn.

The food was good and plentiful. Breakfast is continental and served inside and dinner is outside by the pool and bar most nights, but is also served in a Boma once a week which was really nice. In addition to the great food and service, there was entertainment of local African kids doing traditional Zulu dance. The bar area is fun and lively with a great bartender and a TV for sports watching.

The staff made up on 3 management personnel where fantastic! Being a large group, we had lots of special requests and they went out of their way to ensure that each one was granted. One of our membera got sick an hour away from the lodge and they even came tonpick her up so that the entire group did not have to return. We also asked them to set up volunteer activities with the local village which they happily executed. They told us what to purchase and bring with us and coordinated games of soccer and netball with local children and arranged for us to paint a local school. Additionally, they arranged packed lunches and water for us for our days away from the lodge.

Our safari was great and we saw 4 out of the 5 Big 5, so game viewing is good. Because it is not a private game reserve, they cannot go off road which does limit how close you can get to the sightings. But you do pay a lot more for these types of lodges. My driver and guide was great and my only complaint was that they had to hire an outside guide for 2 jeeps and these guides were not as good and did not provide the people in the jeeps with a lot of information. So I would insist on having guides from Timbavati so that you have maximum enjoyment.

Lastly, the grounds are lovely and peaceful and proved to be a great respite from Johannesburg. I would recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a fantastic value and who appreciates a small yet attentive staff.

The staff

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donyale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Stayed here for 5 nights and had a great time. We spent 3 days on safari in kruger park and saw everything. We stayed in one of the rondawels, which were comfortable and clean. We didn't get to use the pool as it was too cold (it was winter) but it looked really nice and the bar area was always busy and everyone (staff and other guests) were very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rach2782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
7.6 mi away
Kapama River Lodge
Kapama River Lodge
#4 of 4 in Kapama Private Game Reserve
1,718 reviews
2.5 mi away
African Rock Lodge
African Rock Lodge
#3 of 104 in Hoedspruit
314 reviews
10.5 mi away
Camp Jabulani
Camp Jabulani
#1 of 104 in Hoedspruit
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
Unembeza Boutique Lodge
#5 of 104 in Hoedspruit
128 reviews
1.9 mi away
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
Khaya Ndlovu Manor House
#12 of 104 in Hoedspruit
267 reviews
2.4 mi away
Tshukudu Game Lodge
Tshukudu Game Lodge
#9 of 104 in Hoedspruit
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timbavati Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timbavati Safari Lodge

Property: Timbavati Safari Lodge
Address: (R 531) Orpen Road | Klaserie, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 104 Specialty Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Timbavati Safari Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Timbavati Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timbavati Safari Hotel Hoedspruit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing