We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice clean self serve cabin”
Review of The Pennefather

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haenertsburg
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Pennefather
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed in one of the cabins for one night. Very comfortable and clean, nice kitchen and shower. Don't forget to bring all your personal items such as soap etc. Porch to sit out on.Local history decor. Owners very accommodating. Wi-fi at the cafe next door-not in the cabin. Breakfast very special. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (15)
There are newer reviews for The Pennefather
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 15 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

We slept at this beautiful little and what a disappointment. The towels are in a worse state than the ones my dogs sleep on at home! The linen and curtains are old and shabby! A very sick dog was allowed in our room on checking in (whilst I am allergic to animal hair) and above all, the "no name brand coffee and powder milk" was a shocker!!
And we were told to buy wood from the garage down the road because all her wood are wet.
For the price you pay (not cheap) you would at least expect decent towels and linen, and NOT " no name brand cheap coffee". And a complimentary bag of wood could actually make it better.
Give this one a miss!! We have travelled and stayed in all kinds of establishments all over the world, and this has been one of the worst!!

Room Tip: Dont choose one at all!!!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
707Mountain, Owner at The Pennefather, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to give our establishment a rating.

1. Dogs. My 10 year old Rottweiler, who had a partial paralysis of her back legs, was at that time, full time in my care. I was not aware that she followed me, if I was aware, I would have stopped her for her sake as she moved with extreme difficulty and pain. (She was put to sleep on 2 April - after a total collapse) We often have animals around and for the sake of this forum, it is likely that you might find a friendly "mutt" greeting you. I would have obliged, if you made me aware of your allergy at the time. (Checked you into another cottage).

2. Firewood. These are self-catering cottages. We do not supply firewood or "Braai" wood However, we try as far as possible to supply at least a "starter fire", often enough for your stay as we can normally access wood quite easily. I am sure you were aware of the heavy rains countrywide at the time and so much more for the Haenertsburg area. We had ample of wood, but unfortunately it was wet even though we store undercover. No one in the area could supply dry wood, we all had the same problem. I was actually apologising for not being able to help out with a bit of wood.

3 Towels. We have replaced all our towels a couple of months ago. Some of the old ones could have slipped into the system and for that I apologise. (Here you mentioned your dogs - allergy??)

4. Coffee etc. Once again, these are Self-catering units. We do supply a complimentary starter beverage pack. Due to our remote position, we often have problems with reliable suppliers. The Coffee (Nescafe) Creamer (Cremore) tea (Five Roses) are packed on the premises by our own staff when neccessary

Lastly, I am most uncomfortable with the thought of your money in my bank account. I have donated the R660.00 that you have paid to the Letaba SPCA. (For reference you can contact Ellie - Letaba SPCA Tel: 0836289257)

Regards,

Linda Changuion (Owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

These little vintage cottages are really all you need. They are well equip with a double/ 2 single beds, kitchen, TV, bathroom and fire place. They are a walking distance from every shop and restaurant in town. It's safe and clean and you even have a car port for your car. But I do think they are a little expensive at R360 per person per night sharing. That brings us to over R700 per night for 2 people only. Plus the warm water shortage... You can only shower for 5 minutes before all the warm water is gone.

Room Tip: All rooms are equal.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Alisha89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

There are 6 wooden cottages in the complex. They are equiped with everything you are going to need for a weekend. Some cottages have two single beds joined as a double bed. Fireplaces are in all cottages. Everything in the village is within walking distance.

Room Tip: Check whether the room has double bed or joined single beds.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank doppierunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The accommodation consists of 6 little charming woodent cottages in the heart of little mining village, Haenertsburg. The cottages are small but very cosy and well equipped, all have working fireplace and heater, absolutelly necessary on those cool wintery nights, and enough of parking space for 2 cars (or a car a trailer) next to each cottage. The place takes you back to the olden days - the ambience of the village with few souvenier shops which also sell antiques, the little bookshop where you can find anything from Judy Garland to business books, homely restaurant and a pub down the road. This place was so relaxing, we would gladly stay for longer. There is a hiking trail, 4x4 trail and couple of other attractions for outdoor lovers, but you will be happy enough just to stroll around and have a beer in the local pub if you only go there for couple of days. Although the place could do with some small repairs, we loved it! Special thanks to Katie who babysat our little one for two nights :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AM-Johannesburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Prester John Hütte ist etwas abgelegener als andere.
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Familie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled solo
Thank Phileas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haenertsburg
5.2 mi away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
168 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cheerio Trout Fishing & Holiday Resort
2.9 mi away
Stanford Lake Lodge
Stanford Lake Lodge
#4 of 9 in Haenertsburg
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Art Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Art Gallery Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Haenertsburg
6 reviews
4.7 mi away
Glenogle Farm
Glenogle Farm
#2 of 9 in Haenertsburg
27 reviews
6.9 mi away
Magoebaskloof Getaway
Magoebaskloof Getaway
#5 of 9 in Magoebaskloof
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pennefather? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pennefather

Address: 105 Rissik Street, Haenertsburg, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Haenertsburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Haenertsburg
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing