We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Velmore Hotel Estate
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orient(Pretoria)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leriba Hotel(Centurion)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveler rating
36
13
20
6
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
13
20
6
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater was luke warmluxury suiteprofessional mannerbeautiful placeattention to detailexcellent servicespaconferenceconductedvenuespremisestrainingjohannesburg
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 91 of 91 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The TV, sound system and booking system was not working due to a lightning strike, but its understandable. The TV worked again later in the evening.
Waited 30 minutes for a bottle of wine.
Small defects in rooms like toilet roll holder crashed down, bathtub plug did not work so I bathed in 2 cm water.
Water was luke-warm.
Breakfast served at 7h00, I had to beg someone to serve me. They were not ready. The hard eggs were soft, the 2 sausages were horrible (did not eat them), the toast was soggy and cold. I cannot believe I paid for that!
On the positive: Everyone (staff) tried to help where they could, seems there is NO management in the hotel.
The coffee was DIVINE!
The rooms are pretty and clean.
The fillet steak was good!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YvetteMuldoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velmore, Manager at Velmore Hotel Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We appreciate the thorough review and have taken both the good and the bad to use as a scorecard in our management meetings and staff meetings.

You will be happy to hear that a complete lightning protection system has been installed, including lightning rods and surge protection units at all incoming power points, the excitment from our side is growing as we are busy with a complete technology overhaul that includes servers, point of sale systems, satelite dishes and PABX systems...

We are confident that we now have the correct stable platforms to ensure a flawless guest experience.

Warm regards,

Velmore Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Had the misfortune to stay at this 'hotel' - Service was amateurish as waitrons were absolutely clueless as to what service protocol and presentation is (and they also looked grubby). Food at the restaurant was no better than boarding school fare and the serving area looked very unhygenic. The rooms, while spacious had seen better days and were tatty - broken lights, damaged walls, ran out of hot water in the shower (seriously!), and the balcony needed some serious attention for safety sake. TV channel selection was limited (3 public channels and 3 sports channels) and signal was fuzzy. Spa was also odd - had to sit in a public waiting area while waiting for a massage (which was good). Grounds also appeared unkept, with weeds growing through the paving etc etc. For the stars it proclaims to have, this hotel is in some serious need of attention, starting with hotel management !

Room Tip: Choose another hotel !!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gastragnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Velmore, Manager at Velmore Hotel Estate, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your review, we have reviewed your comments and will be looking carefully at ways to improve our service to our valued customers.

Sincerely,

Velmore Staff and Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Pros:
It was a very pleasant stay, comfortable bed, clean room and excellent conference venue. The area is picturesque, pool area and bonfire fantastic. The staff was very pleasant and accommodating. The Golf courses nearby look fantastic, and there is attention to detail.

Cons:
The load balancing wrt to water pressure needs to be addressed. We were not given a key card for the duration of the stay. The channels available varied from Room to Room. there was no lock on the bathroom door.The gym treadmill was broken, however most is made out of a small gym.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank umvahed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hote1Management, Manager at Velmore Hotel Estate, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews