We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customers Expect More”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
African Pride Irene Country Lodge
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

When we book for a break,what we want is peace and quiet.Was anniversary getaway.
We found neither here.First room was very nice,except there was no hot water.At all.
Not acceptable.After 1/2 hr. of trying to make it work,we requested a move.They did not pre-check this room either,industry standard.The 2nd room,2 doors away,was filthy.First,the windows were not only dusty,they were so dirty you could not see the beautiful countryside Secondly,the desks,tops of tables & lg.mirror in bedroom,dusty.We were able to write "Clean Me",but the worst was the hair on the desk,not mine. After 1 1/2 hrs. we checked out,and were refunded by the management.To be fair,manager was on leave,and replied that the problem was a naughty teen shutting off the geysers.There are plenty of other b and b's in Irene.I recommend the area for a getaway,but not this place.If you want to charge 4-5 star prices,you must equal the service.period.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattata1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 413 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2012

It's really difficult to fault this hotel on anything. They took have all the ingredients to silent the critics out there. The rooms are spacious and luxurious with views over a dam with spectacular bird life. The buildings are well-maintained and the upmarket country interior invites one to the public spaces. The restaurant serves fantastic food which is complimented by a wine list with excellent choices The rates are fair and market-related. Highly recommended.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Morne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The visit was made even more wonderful by the Camdeebo Spa which is situated on the Hotel Grounds. The most exhilarating experience and relaxing, face, foot, back and shoulder massage ever.
Went there for just a backrub but ended up getting everything!!! :-)

The rooms are spacious, very neat, clean and you can see the wooden roof trusses from the inside, which complements to the beautiful architecture that already in place.

Room Tip: We chose the rooms which are numbered from 601 onwards, that area has lots of trees and you can see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MunyaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Phoned the hotel direct to book stay and given booking ref number.

Access to hotel is controlled by boom and security staff with cones. When asked purpose of entering hotel grounds I stated "check in", security staff responded "what do you mean check in? check what? What do you want?" They were polite but that is only a snippet of what seemed at the time a bizarre circular conversation. The reminder of the stay they were absolutely great, very friendly and very prompt at opening the booms.

Check in at reception was friendly,polite and they had my booking on file. They provided vouchers for wireless Internet which are good for 100Mb per day (not 24 hour period, but actual day you start using it and for one device). When signing onto wireless there is also choice for larger data-plans but you need to purchase. Rooms are quite spacious and comfortable, the bed, pillows and linen were great. One improvement would be the addition of an adjustable reading light at the beds, as the current bedside lights are insufficient although there is a writing desk with suitable light. There are two floors to the main complex and all rooms appear to have a view of the lake. I prefer ground floor as one can immediately stroll on the grass. The room was well equipped, had a multiple plug socket, but US 2-pin plugs will still need an adapter, or even a converter if your device is not multi voltage.TV was not flat screen, selection of local and international TV channels. Rooms were immaculate and well maintained, one minor maintenance problem was fixed immediately. Bathroom had bath and a separate shower, both were immaculately clean, heated towel rack and range of consumables (but no bath salts, or conditioner). Service throughout hotel was always professional, polite, friendly, helpful and in English. Really excellent service. Room service contact number was not answered but reception took order. Food portions were generous and excellent quality. There is a bar inside hotel and also outside at garden area.

The rolling green lawns, trees and view of the small lake with waterfowl are the main feature of the hotel IMO. It is very pastoral with cows munching in the meadow and I found it to be a very relaxing atmosphere. The working dairy farm is across the road and also has a restaurant, bakery and cafe. Nearby, Centurion Mall has a diverse range of shops but I preferred Irene Village Mall, more eclectic and slightly upscale shops and atmosphere (but small).

During the week at the venue there seemed to be a quite a few off-site meetings held by corporates so parking can become scarce but at weekend parking was not an issue. The hotel is at a great location and within minutes (driving) to Centurion Business Hubs or 20 minutes to Pretoria. Gautrain Centurion station has opened so its feasible to park at the station and take the Gautrain to Johannesburg or even the ORD airport (I had no need this time but explored the possibility for next time).

Overall the Hotel was reasonable value, very relaxing, convenient for my business and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank private1_90732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We ran a corporate conference for 27 people at this hotel and were exceptionally satisfied. The staff are great and the service is excellent. The conference rooms and bedrooms gave us all we were looking for and the only slight irritation was the wireless LAN which seemed a bit unstable. All in all I would reccomend this venue.

We had been allocated rooms in the "forest"which is a short walk from the main complex. I am not sure what the other rooms were like although I heard they were fine. However, the room I had was superb. It was very spacious with a nice desk to work at a large (king size) comfortable bed. The bathroom was great with both a shower and bath. The room had a mini bar and flat screen TV.

All meals are buffet style and offer a nice selection. WHile there is not much variety from day to day, there is a large selection, including a very nice salad bar. There was a very nice selection of deserts too!

The conference venue was good and all the facilities worked fine with the staff ensuring that they always met our agenda in terms of teas.

I did not use the spa but had a quick look at it looked superb with a well equipped gym, swimming pool etc. There are also therapies on offer.

I will definitely be looking at returning to this venue.

Room Tip: The rooms in the "forest" are great and only a short walk from the main complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterGrobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Although off the commercial spaces, it is one of the good locations possible for a hotel in a city! all the rooms seem to be facing the beautiful lake and it is so relaxing. good lake view restaurant and a place to relax your nerves. Nice and warm staff, good and spacious rooms with most of the facilities, stayed for a good 05 days!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SrivatsG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irenecountrylodge, Manager at African Pride Irene Country Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear SrivatsG,

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your stay at African Pride Irene Country Lodge.

Our guest rooms are indeed double the size of your average hotel room today. Add to that the beautiful view of the lake and we believe we have created a tranquil environment that is relaxing to body, mind and soul.

We trust to see you soon in the not to distant future. Safe travels!

Kind Regards,
Amalia Boshoff
Quality Assurance Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Simply put, the lake and sunset with bird life makes the difference.
Rooms are good. Nothing special.
Restaurant is good. Buffet can get a bit monotonous.
Staff is excellent. Make you feel as part of family.
I stayed there 6 weeks straight.

Room Tip: Try and stay in the 300 series rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Centurion
3.2 mi away
Kleinkaap Boutique Hotel
Kleinkaap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in Centurion
278 reviews
2.2 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Centurion
21.5 mi away
Valverde Country Hotel
Valverde Country Hotel
#26 of 67 in Johannesburg
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#20 of 74 in Pretoria
146 reviews
18.8 mi away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
18.2 mi away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to African Pride Irene Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Pride Irene Country Lodge

Address: Nellmapius Drive | Irene Village, Centurion 0062, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Price Range: $75 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — African Pride Irene Country Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is something to be said for an oasis situated within the heart of Gauteng, South Africa’s Economic Capital. The historical village of Irene, Centurion is known for the long and winding oak-lined country lane where cows graze in green pastures, you will arrive at a haven of peace and tranquillity. With lakeside views to rival most paintings, African Pride Irene Country Lodge is a luxurious upmarket hotel, which boasts spacious opulent rooms, fine dining restaurants, conference, function and wedding venues, and also boasts an upmarket day spa called Camdeboo Day Spa. Being in a peaceful setting does not indicate a lack of activities. Venture out and visit the nearby Irene Dairy Farm, Flea market or Smuts House Museum. Take it a step further and strap on you hiking gear. Explore the Hennops River hiking trail or the variety of wildlife in the Zwartkops Nature Reserve. Come and spend your getaway with African Pride Irene Country Lodge, where world charm meets modern day convenience in a breath-taking country setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your African Pride Irene Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Pride Irene Country Hotel Irene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing