We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conferencing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centurion Lake Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Recently had our confernce at thee hotel, PHIDISA, besides the actual conference being a sucssess we had a pleasent stay at the hotel. Before using the hotel we read what was said about the hotel. Was a bit nervous to be honest. However we experienced the complete oppisite.

From the minute we arrived to leaving the hotel we were looked after. The reception staff were veery welcoming. Rooms were average but perfect for our needs. Flourence in banqueting was a super star, nothing was to much to ask. Food, service as really great. She really made you feel welcome.

The mall is walking distance from the hotel hic was nice as we stayed their for a week. Great restaurants if you want to vary your meals. All in all a very pleasent stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johhn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewvH, General Manager at Centurion Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear John M

Thank you for the review on the hotel and the conference you had with us, PHIDSA has been with us for a number of years and we have really been able to form a great bond with the delegates and the organizers.

I will deifnately pass on the comment to Florence, a real gem and works with passion and great enthusasim. Hopefully we will be able to see you back again with us next year. We are in the planning stage of upgrading our internet structure which will definately be an added benefit our guests.

Regards

Andrew van Hasselt
General Manager
Centurion Lake Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 144 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

I have used the hotel before, what's nice is that the reception staff remember who you are and make an effort to greet you by names. Was upgraded to a suite which was nice. The hotel also offers free transport to the guatrain station which is around the corner. The downside to the hotel is the lake and something needs to be done about it.

The staff really go out of their way to make you feel welcome and comfortable. Love the breakfast buffet

Room Tip: Ask for a lake side facing room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dalene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewvH, General Manager at Centurion Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Dear Dalene B,

Thank you for your review on the hotel and the service we offer, it really was nice to have read your review, our staff our biggest asset and I am glad to hear that they made you feel welcome.

Hope you enjoyed your stay and do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best

Andrew van Hasselt
General Manager
Centurion Lake Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

have been staying here for many years, however the standards seem to have dropped recently along with the lake outside, and everything seems to becoming a little run down

Rooms are good, if a little bleak, but service is friendlily and everything is very clean

breakfast is excellent, and the patio area is nice to sit in the evening

Bar is good, and hotel is near to a large mall

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ascot_Flyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewvH, General Manager at Centurion Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Dear Ascot_flyer,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us, good to hear that we were able to look after you in a clean and friendly enviroment. We are in the process of up grading our conference rooms along with the public areas carpeting and internet connection.

I can assusre you that in no time at all we will be better than before with exceptional service and friendly faces.

All the best


Andrew van Hasselt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at the Centurion Lake Hotel for 3 nights and had to change rooms after the first night due to the next door room's aircon causing such a vibration on my room's wall. Needless to say, I got no sleep on the first night.The staff agreed to change the room but when I got back to the hotel on the second night, no one knew anything about it, they eventually managed to get me into another room. The restaurant closed off half of its tables to allow for a conference breakfast on the second morning and there were not enough tables to cater for the already fully booked hotel. There is not sufficient underground parking for the guests and excess vehicles have to park outside. The bathrooms are antiquated and are in dire need of an upgrade.The breakfast is pretty good and the restaurant staff are otherwise very friendly.
I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrence M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have spent almost 2 weeks at this hotel during a business trip.
The location is great if you do not have a car since you can walk to the nearby mall and the hotel has a shuttle to take you to the Gauteng train which connects to Rosebank and Sandton as well as the airport.
The rooms are comfortable and clean but the property is already in need for a renovation.
The restaurant has a buffet from Sunday till Friday in the evening, which is not bad.
The main issues I had are related to the service.
If you order room service for 6:00 AM you may get it at 6:15 AM for no good reason.
If you order a wake-up call, you may not even get it.
If you order a dish a la carte and they tell you it will take 20 minutes, don't even think about ordering an appetizer while you wait because it may take 30 minutes for the appetizer to arrive.
Other than that the place is OK and the staff is friendly.
If you get a room facing what used to be the lake, you will see beautiful sunsets, but you will also have to cope with the noise from the ducks.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob_Creek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewvH, General Manager at Centurion Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear Bob_Creek,

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us.Please accept my apologies, I just wish that you could have brought your concerns to my attention so that I could have resolved this before you departed.

Our staff is currently participating in a customer care program and one of the items we do include is actual guest role play and guest feedback, good and bad so that the staff understand and experience what a guest feels experiences. So far we have been very successful in improving our service and commitment to our guests.

I do trust that the team made you feel at home, we look forward to wleoming you back sometime soon

All the best

Andrew van Hasselt
General Manager
Centurioon Lake Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Centurion Lake Hotel; sounds idyllic. Centrally located on a lovely lake. The lake is a dried up, smelly, swamp. The outside restaurant area smells like stagnant water. The whole décor is dated and tired and the staff are in the same boat. We used the hotel for an event and the AV was terrible, the main room was poorly lit and the general feel was lacking in love and care. The whole hotel both for events and tourists needs a face lift.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewvH, General Manager at Centurion Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to view your feelings on the hotels product and service. I understand your views on the lake, however it is unfortunately out of our control as we have on serveral occasions tried along with may business communities to get the local muncipal council to get the lake to its original stay. However the hotel is very committed to get the lake back to its original state and have aproached a company Urban Genisis to assist in this.

We are currently in the process of upgrading the conference room you are referring to as this is the last venue we need to upgrade. I am not sure what room you stayed in as generally our rooms get a " rooms care programe " every year.

I appriciate your views on the staff, but I do believe what you experienced was not the norm but an exception. I would be more than happy to meet with you and invite you back to the hotel to get a new perspective on the service we offer.

All the best

Andrew van Hasselt
General Manager
Centurion Lake Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My time in the hotel was made very pleasant by all the personnel. The waitresses in Bruno's, the food and beverage Manager, Abel, the shuttle driver, the front desk personnel and the assistant manager, Melissa left me with a very positive impression of the hotel. I stayed in one of the older rooms, yet most of my friends stayed in the refurbished rooms. The new rooms are very stylish and warm, the older rooms need some TLC. The internet service is really good, except in some of the rooms on the 3rd floor. The hotel provides passes for guests to visit Virgin Active (gym) which is off-site location, nonetheless the hotel provides transportation back and forward. The hotel is near the Centurion shopping center, just keep in mind that most stores close at 7pm during the weekdays. The hotel provides rides to the near train station, which is a short walk from the main entrance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to secure a refurbished room looking at the "lake".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinae94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewvH, General Manager at Centurion Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us, I have passed on your comments to Abel, Melissa and the team and can assure you the guys really appriciate it. We are currently looking at ways we can improve on the hotels product and service by reviewing the option of having our own gym which will make life a lot easier for our guests.

We have recently increased the bandwidth of our internet and also made the logging procedure a lot easier for guests making use of this facility.

Again thank you for the time taken to to give us your views and concerns on the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Centurion hotels
1.8 mi away
African Pride Irene Country Lodge
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Centurion
1.4 mi away
Kleinkaap Boutique Hotel
Kleinkaap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in Centurion
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Leriba Hotel
Leriba Hotel
#6 of 10 in Centurion
99 reviews
1.4 mi away
Centurion Golf Suites Guest Lodge
3.8 mi away
Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centurion Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centurion Lake Hotel

Address: 1001 Lenchen Avenue, Centurion 0157, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Price Range: $156 - $203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centurion Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centurion Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing