We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrendus Location and Shabby Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centurion Lake Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Centurion Lake Hotel; sounds idyllic. Centrally located on a lovely lake. The lake is a dried up, smelly, swamp. The outside restaurant area smells like stagnant water. The whole décor is dated and tired and the staff are in the same boat. We used the hotel for an event and the AV was terrible, the main room was poorly lit and the general feel was lacking in love and care. The whole hotel both for events and tourists needs a face lift.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewvH, General Manager at Centurion Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to view your feelings on the hotels product and service. I understand your views on the lake, however it is unfortunately out of our control as we have on serveral occasions tried along with may business communities to get the local muncipal council to get the lake to its original stay. However the hotel is very committed to get the lake back to its original state and have aproached a company Urban Genisis to assist in this.

We are currently in the process of upgrading the conference room you are referring to as this is the last venue we need to upgrade. I am not sure what room you stayed in as generally our rooms get a " rooms care programe " every year.

I appriciate your views on the staff, but I do believe what you experienced was not the norm but an exception. I would be more than happy to meet with you and invite you back to the hotel to get a new perspective on the service we offer.

All the best

Andrew van Hasselt
General Manager
Centurion Lake Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 143 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

My time in the hotel was made very pleasant by all the personnel. The waitresses in Bruno's, the food and beverage Manager, Abel, the shuttle driver, the front desk personnel and the assistant manager, Melissa left me with a very positive impression of the hotel. I stayed in one of the older rooms, yet most of my friends stayed in the refurbished rooms. The new rooms are very stylish and warm, the older rooms need some TLC. The internet service is really good, except in some of the rooms on the 3rd floor. The hotel provides passes for guests to visit Virgin Active (gym) which is off-site location, nonetheless the hotel provides transportation back and forward. The hotel is near the Centurion shopping center, just keep in mind that most stores close at 7pm during the weekdays. The hotel provides rides to the near train station, which is a short walk from the main entrance of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try to secure a refurbished room looking at the "lake".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martinae94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewvH, General Manager at Centurion Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us, I have passed on your comments to Abel, Melissa and the team and can assure you the guys really appriciate it. We are currently looking at ways we can improve on the hotels product and service by reviewing the option of having our own gym which will make life a lot easier for our guests.

We have recently increased the bandwidth of our internet and also made the logging procedure a lot easier for guests making use of this facility.

Again thank you for the time taken to to give us your views and concerns on the hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I spent a night there because we had been invited to attend a business function and did not want to have to drive home after the function. Checking in and out was a breeze but I felt that the price charged for the room was excessive for the quality of the establishment and the breakfast the following morning.

The rooms were clean but the shower had no pressure, The lake next to the hotel smells and does not add anything to the ambiance of the place. Breakfast was at best average and the coffee was not particularly good

Overall I think that the experience was average at best.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohannesburgBretski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewvH, General Manager at Centurion Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Please accept my apologies for the less than average stay you experienced with us, we have resolved the water pressure problem you experienced, our presure pump had balance pumps have been replaced so all going well we should not experience similiar problems.

I have spoken to about the breakfast quality and presentation as generally we get very positive feedback on the variety of dishes available on the buffet. We are in discusion with the local council and Mayor who is responsible for the maintenance of the lake to try and return the lake back to its original condition. The hotel is playing a positive role in a private capacity in that we are speaking to Eco companies that will be assit and recomend posible solutions on how to treat the lake.

I wish that we could have met prior to you check out so that we could restore confiedence in you and the product and service we offer.

All the very best

Andrew van Hasselt
General Manager
Centurion Lake Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I think at some point this hotel received a facelift, but it was only skin deep. Where to start..... Don't let the name fool you, the lake is more of a cesspool, the 4 start advertised may be short lived.

O the positive side, the rooms are big and the breakfast was surprisingly good (I had it in my room). Staff is friendly.

On the downside none of the plugs on the desk worked, after looking under the desk, I realized the significant fire and safety risk and decided that maybe it's a good thing that they don't work. The shower was a disaster, the head pointed to the wall and wouldn't actually point at me, doesn't matter what I did, and. Water was either freezing or scorching.

Not a pleasant visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joeblack_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewvH, General Manager at Centurion Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your comments on the hotels and its service, I can understand your feeling about the lake and the condition it is in, unfortunately the hotel is not directly invloved with the operation of it, however having said that we do try and play an active role in trying to get it back to its original condition.

We meet with the council on a monthly basis to see what we can do to rectify the problem and look at possibile solutions, recently we met with the Executive Mayor to express our concern on the lake and we have been promised that an action plan will be implimented to get it back to its original condition.

If you could please let me know what room you stayed in to see the problem with the plugs as we have not had any futher complaints recently. Our maintenance team has been instructed to look at the connections with all arrival room checks. The water concern has been identifyed and resolved, we have replaced the water pressure pump which stabalizes the water balance between hot and cold water.

I do apologize for the unpleasent stay you had with us and hope that we will be in a position to make it up to you and ensuring you recieve the service you deserve.

All the best

Andrew van Hasselt
General Manager
Centurion Lake Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This hotel is convenient located to the Centurion Mall and on the Centurion Lake. But don't let the picture fool you. The lake is really a sludge pit in dire need of drudging. For anyone who is a mosquito magnet, pick another location. The place is over 20 years old, and while the executive suites may be nice, the regular rooms (at least 136) needed some renovation. The windows do not seal, so the mosquitos come in at night. There are lights all over the lake side of the building, of course attracting the mosquitos from their breeding ground - Centurion Lake - directly below the windows. There are no sheer curtains, so it is either all light or all dark in the room. The bathroom makes gurgling noises off and on during the night, so I recommend sleeping w/the bathroom door closed and AC on to drown out that annoying noise. The staff are extremely great though. They are courteous and very attentive to your every need. The restaurant is pretty good - the stir fry is great - but the prices seem to have been inflated. Overall, though, not a bad price for your money. It is all you can eat. Just do your research as the conversion rate changes. For those of you who will carry the dollar with you, the staff eagerly accept U.S. money. The breakfast is quite nice. There are several choices and an omelett bar. The hotel has pick up and drop off from/to the airport. It is about a 25 minute ride, but you will get to see some very nice homes on the left hand side of the road. The room did not have a fridge or microwave, which I find to be an inconvenience. My stay was for a week. I would recommend a room in the rear though, because the view from the otherside of the hotel is a parking lot, industrial trash can, and a busy street leading to the mall.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lake side are quieter, but they have more bugs. If you get up early enough, you can se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DrBublak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewvH, General Manager at Centurion Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the hotel and your experience staying with us. Unfortunately the hotel is doing everything in its power to get the lake back up to its original condition, however we are very reliant on the local council who is responsible for maintining for the lake.
The hotel is actively involved in proposals and ideas to get the lake back up to its original state. I am pretty positive we will see an inprovement in the lake soon. The misquitos are infact a harmless " midge " which is caused by the condition of the lake, again all going well will be improved in the near future.

The hotel has an ongoing maintenance program throughout the year, we have infact replaced the window in Room 136 which was indeed faulty.

Thank you for the compliment on the staff and the buffet, we do try and change the buffet on a regular basis, our chefs are encouraged to try new dishes as it keeps them motivated and will to satisfy our guests.

I am sure that when you do return you will definately see a big improvment in our product as we are about to start with upgrades in our suites and conference areas which is due for completion end of May.

All the best and thank you for your views on the hotel and as mentioned hopefully the next time we will be able to exceed them

All the best

Andrew van Hasselt
General Manager
Centurion Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel is well located next to Centurion Mall shopping center, and several restaurants. The pool was very small, and the lake itself full of rubbish. hotel rooms were large, and well furnished.
The hotel is starting to look tired, and while we were there, one lift was out of action the whole time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vincem50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewvH, General Manager at Centurion Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us and allowing us to respond. The good news is that the lake has been cleared with the litter and we have also implimented a "green team" project which monitors the lake on a daily basis and ensures that it remains clear of litter.

We are in the final stages of implimenting the upgrade to our suites which starts on the 18th February 2013. All the other rooms have undergone a complete "rooms care " program in January so I am sure that you will see a big improvment in the look and feel of the rooms.

We are planning to make changes to the public areas towards the middle of this year with the replacement of all public and conferencing carpets.

We will continue with these small changes through out the year so that our guests cna feel the value for there money spent.

All the best and look forward to welcomeing you back soon.

Regards


Andrew van Hasselt
General Manager
Centurion Lake Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The lake is in dire need of significant civil work - more a swamp and smells bad quite often. The rooms are very dated but clean and come with a comfortable bed. The restaurant serves good food but service is very slow and prices are elevated but still cheap if you compare internationally. For same price I would walk over to O'Galitos in the mall

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gunlbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewvH, General Manager at Centurion Lake Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Dear Gunlbum,

Thank you for for feedback on your recent stay with us, the hotel management along with the local business communities are doing everything possible to get the lake back to its former glory, we are in continious discussions with council on ways we can improve the condition.

Please accept our aplogies about the service in the restaurant, our F & B Team wil be looking at ways to improve the levels of service and make sure that guests leave our establishment with a real wow feel.

All the best

Andrew van Hasselt
General Manager
Centurion Lake Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Centurion hotels
1.8 mi away
African Pride Irene Country Lodge
1.4 mi away
Kleinkaap Boutique Hotel
Kleinkaap Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in Centurion
278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Centurion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Leriba Hotel
Leriba Hotel
#6 of 10 in Centurion
99 reviews
3.8 mi away
Royal Elephant Hotel & Conference Centre
1.4 mi away
Centurion Golf Suites Guest Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centurion Lake Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centurion Lake Hotel

Address: 1001 Lenchen Avenue, Centurion 0157, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Gauteng > Centurion
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Centurion
Price Range: $124 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Centurion Lake Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centurion Lake Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing